The Drunkard, The Martyr, And The Rebel

16 31
Avatar for Ayane-chan
2 years ago

I read previously the article of @OfficialGamboaLikeUs, and she shares about her toxic parents. I have also something to share about that. They are always toxic ever since we were kids. Always just giving us low self-esteem, anxiety, frustration, and always taking away our motivations.


My father is a drunkard who prioritizes alcohol over everything. He would purchase a bottle of alcohol instead of rice or fish. The budget that was supposedly be used on the farm was deducted so he can buy a bottle of alcohol. Every time that there is a fiesta going on nearby places which he has a lot of friends living there, he would go there immediately and drink with his friends. They would drink with him from the whole day until morning, then take a nap, eat, and then back to their drinking session again. This habit lasts until 5 days at most on occasions. Then he will come home in the morning being smelly, drunk, wobbling, and carrying a plastic bag with a kilo of rotten fish he bought from the last night.

It is said that he was always like that ever since before he got married to Mum. So that's why I can't understand why my Mum still likes him and agreed to get married to him. We were supposed to be the ones who will get angry with him coming home in that state but he will find faults in us first then argue with my Mum over and over again about something trivial. All these years he was like that and we can do nothing about it. He always feel that he was right and we can't argue about it. If you try to reason with a drunk, then prepare for an endless fight.

My Mum is such a martyr for enduring all of that every day all through these years. She was the owner of the land wherein our house stands. She is the owner of the land that we were cultivating for a living. The trees, the fruits, the vegetables, and even the house that we were living in is hers. It was all in her name in a land title that she inherited from her father. She got all the rights to kick out that drunkard but all she can do is shout back at him until she cries. Now she looks like a skeleton wrapped in thin skin from the stress that she has gone through.

If that's my husband, he wouldn't last a day with me and I will kick him out of my house instantly if he tried to bully me. I know my rights, and I don't like to be bullied. I work my ass off every day just to get through. I can live without a man in my life. I don't want to endure that kind of treatment just to say I have a complete family. My Mum is my complete opposite, though. One time, I had asked her why she still enduring all of that and letting him stay.

She just replied,

"Because I want you and your siblings to have a complete family."

Complete family, my ass. Having this kind of family is like having a broken family, just to be honest. A family with no unity, no cooperation, each one has pride that can't be humbled down, arguing is the main hobby and no love with each other at all. I think my Mum is the only one who can still love all of us despite all of that.

Growing up seeing the two of them fight every day, I got fed up. Whenever that drunkard finds faults in me so he can vent out his anger at me, I learned to talk back at him every time. I know that we should honor our parents and respect them no matter what but growing up in that kind of situation where our future is always uncertain because of their ununited minds, makes me gather more courage to stand up to them for me and my siblings. As soon as I did that, my second brother stood up, too. My other siblings also did, leaving them no choice of how to handle us.

Whenever they fight, we are on guard if ever he hurt our Mum. If he will, we will beat the hell out of him but fortunately, he didn't even dare to touch a strand of my Mum's hair. He was just all talk. I caused rebellion among the family and it added more chaos into our chaotic lives. That's why my father branded me as the "Black Sheep" in our family and we are never been on good terms ever since then. He even spread words about me to his friends whenever he drinks with them, badmouthing me with all he got. He thinks he can fool them, but he just didn't know that he is just making a fool out of himself by saying those words. The whole barangay knows what kind of a person he is, so they never side with him. They even confide it to me and just laughed it off.

The last time that we fought was when I was about to fly here in Manila. He was so drunk and keeps on blabbering nonsense things when it was already midnight, not letting us have a good sleep. He was badmouthing each one of us saying that we are like a "fattening pig on the stable". He always thought of us like that as if he was the one who is feeding us. Whose father on their right mind would call their children like that? I guess it's just my father, he is the only one. He is not even ashamed to say that even if it is Mum who provides our food every day because he always buys alcohol over food.

Hearing that makes my blood boil, then when I hear him badmouthing me again, I shouted at him. He got angry then, saying that I should get out of the house and I shouldn't ever come back. I sarcastically laugh harder in front of him.

I clearly said,

"You're the one to get lost. You don't have any property here. I'm one of the heirs of my grandfather's land. So why would I?! Get lost, you à$$ho£e!"

I think his pride as a father or his ego as a man got hurt by hearing what I said. Then he tried to punch me but I kicked him hard first. If my Mum wasn't catching her breath and had collapsed at the edge of the room, I wouldn't stop beating him. It's like I was pouring all my anger on him that I was holding back since then. The more I kick him, the happier I got. I feel like I have been avenging my Mum and my siblings from all those ill-treatments we got from him. We never spoke a word to each other since that incident. If ever our eyes meet, we can only glare at each other and then look away, only a "Tch!" sound can be heard. Indeed, we can't choose our parents but I guess it's not that wrong to stand up to a toxic parent sometimes.


I'm a bad kid, so don't be like me. I'm just writing it to vent out these heavy feelings that I have been holding back for a long time.

Anyway, thanks for reading!

  • Images edited from Canva

  • You can also find me at;

Twitter|Instagram|Telegram|Torum|LinkedIn

10
$ 10.71
$ 10.46 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Ruffa
$ 0.05 from @OfficialGamboaLikeUs
+ 4
Sponsors of Ayane-chan
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Ayane-chan
2 years ago

Comments

Good thing my father is just a drunkard sis, though he slapped me once. Simple because milkfish,.mali pagkahiwa ko. What he expect? Grade six lng ako noon. Iyan din reason ng nanay ko bakit ayaw nita iwanan si tatay, COMplete family🙄

$ 0.00
2 years ago

May tatay ka nga parang hindi naman tatay. Anong complete family diyan? Mawawalan ka talaga ng respeto minsan kahit anong pagtitimpi mo.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

magulang

Hayy, iba2 kasi talaga.pananaw natin. Kung ako din ganyan asawa ko iwanan ko na agad

$ 0.00
2 years ago

If it's me baka nga ganyan lang din talaga ang magawa ko. Di lahat ng magulang ee karapat dapat igalang. May magulang na kala mo ay sila lang ang may karapatang mabuhay sa mundo aanak anak tapos di naman pala kayang magpaka ama. Anak ng tinapa! Anyways, so Papa ko naman ee hindi ganyan. Lasenggo un uuwi mg bahay na di na makagulapay, plakda na un sa higaan pero tahimik laang sya. After nya din kasi mag work baka naman ee naisip nya siguro ee deserve nya mag happy happy ba. And di palasalita si papa ee, di nya kaya si Mama kalaki non ee hahaha. Skl din tehee.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ahahaha. Maganda sana kung ganyan lang. Yung tahimik lang pa pag-umuwi kahit lasing na. Tatay ko hindi eh, siya na may kasalanan, kami pa pagagalitan.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Barumbado tatay mo? I mean Trntdo ganern. Hahaha. Pag ganyan ang tatay sasauli ko na sa magulang yan nya aba. I can live without a man kn lifr naman. Pero si mudrabels mo. Mahal din siguro talaga nya kasi

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Tarantado talaga. Wala na nga siyang pagmamay-ari eh, kami pa palalayasin. Natiis naman ng nanay ko, siguro nga mahal na mahal niya talaga. Hay naku, nakakainis sila pakinggan at panuorin araw-araw.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I experienced some of kind of situation too. Pero, I am not a kind of daughter na na.vo.voice out ko yung feelings ko sa kanila. Nasasaktan din ako kalaunan pag may nasabi ako'ng hindi maganda, lalo na't alam ko'ng parents ko sila. May mga times na iniiyak ko nalang sa sulok yung sama nang loob ko kasi ayaw ko na humantong pa sa mas malalang away. Tatatlo na nga lang kami sa bahay tas mag-aaway pa. Kaya kahit ganun pa man, still, they are my parents and thankful pa din ako na kahit papano, yung respect ko sa kanila ang mas nangingibabaw..

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Okay lang kapag paminsan minsan lang na away, makakapagtimpi kanpa dun. Pero yung araw gabi, minsan may madaling araw pa. Mauubos po talaga pasensiya mo. Nakakakonsensiya nga naman patulan kasi magulang mo, pero kasi sumusobra na eh. Wala na ngang nagawang tama, tapos siya pa galit.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

That's also the reason why I don't like to be my father' that's what inside me every time since I was young, so I never attempted to try cigar because I saw how he was addicted to that like every time it's better to have cigar rather than anything, so I never attempted to drank too much because I saw how he was looked like when I was young. I am not a good child too I was also scolded every time when I was young, I was a rebel too lol. But we don't have a choice but to look upon it and never do that to our future child, let them be but don't be like them.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yeah, I would never allow my child to be like that. I drink too but not that much. 3 shots, 1 can of beer, or a bottle of rum shared with friends is enough but not to point that I'll be wasted. I never tried walking home drunk and wobbling. 🤣

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hanga ako sa katatagan mo e, samantalang ako diko alam san ko kukunin lakas nb loob ko para labanan sila. Mukhanh dingako matutuloy sa march kasi nagiba nanaman isio nila. Pero if eve nandi matuloy gagawin ko parin part ko, sobra na..dikona kaya dito.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Sayang naman yung Baguio. Wag mo na lang pansinin, kapag may trabaho ka na, bqbait lang yan sila sayo.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You just defend yourself from that toxic father, I can't believe that parents like that exist, your mother is easy to fool in belief that your family is still complete, she didn't realize that everything is not okay yet believing that everything will be fixed. You've done nothing wrong, sometimes you need to kick a person's button in order to make them realize their mistake but in case eof your father he needs a deep counseling about his behavior.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Deep counseling doesn't work on him. A lot of people already tried to talk to him but he just nods and then he is still the same afterward. What he needs I guess is a rehab program in a mental hospital.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I kind of agree, Rehab will do!

$ 0.00
2 years ago