The Death Of A Bachelor

28 47
Avatar for Ayane-chan
2 years ago

You have read "Death" in the title of this article, right?

Well, there was a death that happened indeed. I am not making a fictional short story here today because there was death indeed. My Gramp's younger brother just died this morning. He was rushed to the hospital due to breathing complications but he didn't make it. His body was still there for the Covid-19 test and we are still waiting for the results. If the results will come out positive, then his body would immediately be cremated. But if the results will come out negative, we can claim his body at the hospital's Morgue and set for the wake, then the proper burial ceremonies.

Just when I had finished reading @meitanteikudo's short story, "Murder At The Record Store", and was about to leave a comment, that was when my Aunt sent me a text message telling me about the news. What a perfect timing, right? Just when I have read a story about death, that was when I receive news where there was also death. It was so sudden that I can't bring myself to react accordingly to the situation. It was as if my mind and heart still can't believe what I have known.

But then, later on, there was a sudden chill that pierced through my heart and it was gradually spreading until it reached my soul. Though we were not that close, nor did we have happy memories to reminisce about him, I guess it was kinship and the rush of having related blood that drives me to feel blue. My chest is heavy and is about to break down. I badly wanted to let the rainfall from these gray skies above my head. It is just that, I can't cry but I feel like I'm about to.

"The Death Of A Bachelor," my title said.

He was, indeed.

I don't know the love stories he had at the prime of his youth but all I know was the stories that were told to me by my Gramp. My Gramp said that when he was younger, he had a lot of mischievous adventures which lead him to the brink of death all was because of a woman. According to my grandfather, he was a proud man and a self-proclaimed womanizer. So he happened to find a beautiful woman when he was in Mindanao and asked her out. The woman refused because she had a boyfriend, or was even married, not sure about the details. He was so fascinated by the woman and continued to pursue her. Just until the boyfriend got irritated by him and shot him in the head.

He was rushed to a private hospital and has been taken care of by the best doctors, so luckily he survived. My Gramp was the one who took him back home here in Negros from his miseries there at Mindanao. Since then, half of his body got paralyzed. We can even see the hole where the bullet did enter and closed by a scar. It was near his forehead beside his right eye. Other people find it creepy, so they avoid him. Also because of his attitude because sometimes he was acting like a mad person.

What a pitiful and lonely death it is, right? He never got a chance to redeem himself as a gentleman. He never got the chance to married and have his own family. He never felt the warmth and support from a family that he established. Well, I think it is indeed his time to go and to be with his parents and other siblings at the promised paradise by the God above. For all those years that he was suffering from having a disabled body, then enduring solitude, he had now rested in peace.


How Are You, People?

I was so disappointed with myself. I have finished writing this already earlier but when I'm selecting all the words in my Notepad to transfer it here, I have clicked "paste" instead of "copy" first, so yeah, it was all gone. I have to write this again. I feel like punching the wall for my stupidity.

Anyway, I derived the title from Panic! At the Disco's song, Death Of A Batchelor. It's one of my favorite songs of them. The song comes into my mind later after hearing the news.

Today wasn't really my day, I guess. I'll just pray for my Gramp's younger brother that he will be happy and resting in peace wherever he is now. I'll pray for your safety, too guys. Take care of yourselves, always. Life is short. Don't waste it on mischiefs. Then, I'll be signing off now.

Your broke Farm Girl,

@Ayane-chan

10
$ 7.22
$ 6.87 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.13 from @meitanteikudo
$ 0.05 from @Alther
+ 5
Sponsors of Ayane-chan
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Ayane-chan
2 years ago

Comments

I feel sorry for your loss @Ayane-chan. 😔 Indeed, his life has ended in a not so nice way. May his soul rest in peace. 💗

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Condolence po. Masakit talaga yan, kawawa naman ... Sorry for your lost friend

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oo, nga po. Importante nakapagpahinga na siya ngayon.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ang lungkot naman ng naging buhay nya 😣 sorry for your lost 😞. Pero at least di na sya makakaramdan ng kalungkutan diba no more sadness.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oo, mas okay na rin yu. Oras na nga talaga niya eh.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Condolences po. Ganyan talaga kapag sa Mindanao uncle ko nga tinaga dahil sa babae di naman niya binastis Ang babae umupo lang malapit sa kanya akala ng asawa kabit sya nito Buti nalang di sya napuruhan. Napakamainitin mga ulo ng tao rito.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oo, nga. Ganiyan din kinukuwento ng lolo ko sakin. Lalo na daw kapag may tribu, naku pagkakaisahan ka daw.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hala katakot naman sa Mindanao if ganyan. Haha.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Awww that's sad indeed. Death is really sad for us who stay behind. Maybe it's best that it was his time to go... Now he's at peace. RIP to him and my condolences.

Anyway long time no hear ko yang song n yan. Hehe. Love ko rin ang Panic! At the Disco.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yung nga sabi ng mga matatanda di to eh, "Kapag oras mo na, swerte mo." Importante tapos na yung paghihirap niya.

Naalala ko lang bigla yung song dahil matandang binata yung lolo ko. Namimiss ko na nga din makig ng P!ATD. Wala pa naman silang bago sa ngayon.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Condolences... Ganyan talaga daw sa probinsya sabi ng lolo ko kapag kinulit mo ang babaeng may asawa na o boyfriend papatayin ka daw talaga

$ 0.00
User's avatar EJ
2 years ago

Oo, saka mindanao pa naman yun. Halos lahat ng tao dun may baril.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Di uso baranggay doon patayan agad katakot

$ 0.00
User's avatar EJ
2 years ago

Condolences beb,,,na shock ako dun sa binril talaga xia kasi nagiging sobra na yung pangungulit niya sa girl..pwede naman xia takutin pero yung barilin talaga? that's worst

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Eh syempre Mindanao kasi. Mga ganiyan talaga tao dun.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

ang brutal pala nila...

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oo, halos lahata ata ng tao diyan may baril. Normal na sa kanila yan kasi madami rebelde diyan.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

aigoooo katakot naman jaan...buti sa Cebu lang ako hahaah...

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Kawawa talaga sila dun nuh, palagi na lang may gyera at karahasan sa kanila. Hayst, mas payapa talaga Visayas. Maynila delikado din eh.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

kaya nga eh..swerte na rin ako na dito ako nakatira

$ 0.00
2 years ago

For you to get the title from a song then I guess you must be a big-time fan of music. Well, regardless of what happens, life goes on. Your article reminds me of the late brother of my friend that passed on last year. 🤔

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yeah, right. P!ATD is one of my favorite bands. Life goes on, anyway no matter what happens.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You must draw a lot of inspiration from P!ATD then! I'm also a music fan too.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Condolences... I just got home from my grandfather's wake.. he was a bachelor too.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ooohh. Condolences, too. What a coincidence.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yep... world, am I right?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

pag kabasa ko ng title alam ko agad na kanta ng panic eh hahahhaha. kakamiss makinig ng kanta ng panic at the disco..

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Nirelate ko lang, pero namatay talag lolo kong walang asawa.

$ 0.00
2 years ago