Sand, water and salt

12 34
Avatar for ArteFM
Written by
2 years ago

Warm place, hot sand, salt mountains, big castle and super icy beaches, all this is Araya. A small place somewhere in sucre, where all things are close. You can stay to sleep in a place close to the beach. You can hear the waves even if you are not so close to the beach, or so I felt when I was a little girl....

Welcome my dear friends, I hope you are excellent and that your day has been of much love and profit.

Wednesday, November 17th

I haven't been to Araya for many years, I miss that place very much. There my grandmother has a small house where we used to go on vacation. My grandmother and my mother are from Araya, so we have many relatives there. I don't know when was the last time I went, I only know that suddenly one vacation we didn't go, and the next year we didn't go either, nor the following year, nor the one after that... And so it happened, I stopped going to Araya and I don't remember when was the last time I went or the reason why we don't go anymore....

Remembering the past when we used to go to Araya...

I manage to remember some things...

When I was traveling alone with my grandmother

My grandmother is one of those people who get up at 5am even if they have nothing to do. So to travel we would get up early and my father would take us to the maritime terminal in Cumaná. We would watch the lines of people and see which one was the best. There were two lines, one for small boats that went fast, but did not take you directly to Araya, but took you to Manicuare and a big boat, where you could go with your car. This boat takes you directly to Araya, but it takes a long time.

Tapaitos

So we decided... To go fast in the boats that we called "tapaitos" or to go slow in the boat called "La palita"? In the "tapaitos" we would go seated, with 30 or 40 people and the fare was cheap. In the "palita", if you were lucky, you were seated. Normally we would stand and admire the scenery. The palita takes 1 hour to get to the Araya dock.

Tapaitos

If it was early in the morning we would go on the "tapaitos". These little boats take about 15 to 20 minutes to take you to Manicuare, which is a small town that is more or less near Araya.

Transportation used to go from Manicuare to Araya

In Manicuare we took a vehicle, which is not safe at all, to go to Araya. It seemed to take forever.... I always had to keep an eye on my cap, because it could fly off in the breeze. It really takes 20 minutes, but for me, in those moments, time passed very slowly. Apart from the fact that the vehicles were not safe, the whole road was made of mountains, so it is really very dangerous.

La Palita

If we went very late, we would go on the boat "La Palita", many times I got to see dolphins, it was fun to see them jump and listen to them. But even though I was distracted by the scenery, getting to Araya seemed like an eternity. I always took a book with me and started reading to distract myself, but it seemed uncomfortable when I was standing up, I felt that I could drop the book and it would fall into the water.

_________________________________________________

When we arrived in Araya, the first thing we did was to visit my uncles and cousins, sometimes we had lunch there. Then we would walk to my grandmother's house, to clean and fix what we had brought, we always brought food. There used to be a big guava tree at her house, so I would go and look for guavas with my grandmother to make a delicious juice or we would eat the guavas as a snack. My grandmother has a very funny neighbor, we call her "Morocha". When we would arrive at my grandmother's house she would come over and welcome us. We would stay a long time talking to her, that lady is much older than my grandmother, but she is quite funny, she always had a story to tell.

Araya 2014

In the afternoons we would go for a walk to the beach, I liked it very much, but sometimes the breeze was very strong and you felt the sand prickling your skin, I didn't like that, but I do like to watch the sunset on the beach.

Araya 2014

After walking we would go to my grandmother's friend's house who sold ice cream and malts, she always gave me an ice cream. We would stay at Mrs. Matilde's house until nightfall, she had a dog and I loved to play with him. She lives very close to the beach, so to go to my grandmother's house we had to walk back along the beach. My grandmother lives a 20-minute walk from the beach.

Araya 2014

Sometimes we would stay at my aunt's house. I loved to stay, because I loved it when my cousin would make me sandwiches and give me coffee with milk, we really made the food between the two of us, but there was something in her coffee, that I have never had in another coffee before, it was delicious, I still don't know what her secret is. I also watched a lot of TV with her or we would play together. My cousin is 5 years older than me. I also had other cousins who live very close, but I didn't go to their house much, because they were always busy, so I didn't like to bother them. I preferred to be with my cousin Genesis, she was always busy too but she made time for me.

_________________________________________________

That's enough from Araya for today! Tomorrow I will continue hahaha I hope to post very early... I still have many things to tell you about Araya and about Manicuare, I also have many photos I have taken or my father has taken about these two wonderful places....

I am talking about my point of view of the times I traveled to Araya when I was a little girl... But here are some articles of my father where he talks about Araya from his point of view. My father's articles:

Thank you for making it to the end of my article, I hope you liked it. There is still more Araya to show you, stay tuned for my next articles. ❤️

Remember you can follow my wonderful sponsors, read their posts and support them with nice comments. ❤️

Sponsors of ArteFM
empty
empty
empty

See you in the next article! ❤️

All content is original

Information obtained from the web is indicated.

The photos were taken by me or my father, I have permission to use them.

Greetings from Venezuela❤️😊

9
$ 3.41
$ 3.03 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @Frankmart
$ 0.10 from @daring-celt
+ 5
Avatar for ArteFM
Written by
2 years ago

Comments

excelente publicación, se ve como un hermoso lugar para visitar

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Esas fotos son del 2014, tengo otras del 2015, en la segunda parte de este artículo. Espero que ese lugar siga siendo hermoso y mágico como era en aquel momento. Gracias por comentar

$ 0.00
2 years ago

That looks beautiful! Look forward to part two!

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Thank you very much friend, the second part is ready.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

How beautiful are your memories. I like all the beaches in the east. And I will be happy to read your next post.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Thank you very much, I have a lot of memories of Araya, I spent a lot of my childhood there. Thank you always for your comments and support.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Very good memories of the Araya Peninsula, we stopped going on vacation because the trip became more and more complicated, transportation rates increased a lot, the houses where we stayed are occupied.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Also because from one moment to another the lines of people were getting longer or better said, there was less transportation, so we took longer to go by tapaito. In the next article I will talk about those reasons that I think are the reason why we don't go anymore.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

So your lots of relatives lives in Araya, and I enjoyed reading your whole journey towards it. I loved to see the sunset on beach.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Yes, I have many relatives there, thanks for reading, supporting me and commenting. Yes, the sunset on the beach is wonderful, soon I will upload the next part of this article, with many more photos, hope you like them.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I remember when I was little, I have been to Araya once. So beautiful scenery.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I have many good memories of Araya, soon I will upload the next part of this article and many more photos.

$ 0.00
2 years ago