Traditional Venezuelan Sweets

4 35
Avatar for ArteFM
Written by
2 years ago

Hello hello, beautiful people of read.cash. How are you? I hope you are feeling great, I hope you have had a great day. I really love being here at read.cash sharing with each one of you, learning about your food, your walks, travels, musical tastes or culture.

I wanted to upload my article earlier, but something always happens hahaha. No matter, you have to keep going no matter what, with lots of energy and joy.

Monday, November 8th

Today is a special day, I came up with the brilliant idea to make a whole week of sweets. It starts today, Monday, November 8 and ends on Sunday, November 14.

I will be doing these events throughout the month, each week will be a new event, you can participate whenever you like and in the event you want. The idea of this week is to share about the desserts you like, desserts made by you or traditional desserts from your country. I hope you like my idea and you are encouraged to participate in it.

As you know, I am still very new to read.cash, but I wanted to share and interact a little more with you. To start this event I would love to talk about the traditional sweets of my country. In Venezuela there are many typical foods with a lot of flavor, but there are also exquisite desserts which began to be elaborated by the different mixtures of races that the country had, such as indigenous, African and European influences.

These traditional sweets are made in many parts of Venezuela according to the time of the year or they can be made all year round. It depends on each person or family. I can prepare a Christmas dish even though it is not Christmas and I will still enjoy it hahaha.

Coconut rice

The beloved arroz con coco... In Venezuela, the regions where arroz con coco is most commonly eaten are on the coasts, since coconut palms abound. This dessert is not only typical in Venezuela, but can be found in many Latin American countries. There are many desserts prepared with coconut, such as majarete, coconut preserves or bienmesabe, but of all, my favorite is the rice with coconut that my grandmother makes. I have never seen her prepare it, but I know it is delicious. Rice, coconut and a touch of cinnamon, yummi, the most delicious dessert. Maybe some people think that eating rice and coconut is something strange, but if they try this dessert they will think the opposite hahaha. Its texture is very smooth and creamy.

The ingredients used are rice, spice cloves, coconut milk, condensed milk and cinnamon.

The rice must be washed very well, then it is cooked over high heat for 8 minutes. Add the coconut milk, the cinnamon and the cloves. Mix very well over low heat for 10 minutes. Add the condensed milk and mix very well. Let it cook for 3 minutes stirring constantly and then add the grated coconut. Powdered cinnamon can be added when it is served. This dessert can be eaten warm or cold.

Bocadillo

The bocadillo is a sweet prepared by mixing the pulp of a ripe fruit with papelón or sugar. The way the sweet is cooked gives it a hard texture and a bright red color. This delicious sweet is wrapped in banana or corn leaves, these leaves preserve the product and give it a characteristic aroma. Normally this sweet comes chopped in the shape of rectangles. In Venezuela, the ripe fruits normally used to prepare this sweet are guava and plantain. The snack is also prepared in several Latin American countries, such as Colombia, Ecuador and Panama. In Colombia this sweet is usually combined with cheeses. To prepare this sweet, the fruit is first washed and peeled well, then crushed. The cloves are boiled with enough water until the water acquires its essence. Remove the cloves from the water and add the powdered cinnamon and the fruit. Add sugar and mix over low heat. When it is finished cooking, add sugar on top and put it in the refrigerator until it hardens and then.... Enjoy hahaha

Catalina

It is said that this delicious dessert, which are cookies with a very soft texture, come from the union of a Spanish and Indian sweet. This dessert was prepared with honey, but in America the honey was replaced by papelón, giving it its characteristic dark brown color. This recipe is very popular in Venezuelan and Colombian pastries.

Melt the papelón until it is like a thick honeydew. In a bowl, combine wheat flour, butter and the melted papelón, mixing all the ingredients well until the dough is well united. Cut into round or flower shapes, then bake in the oven for 30 minutes.

From what I have read you can also fill them with dulce de lechosa or dulce de leche, I wouldn't do it, I have never eaten them that way. I think they are perfect as they are, they just need a good cup of coffee.

Papaya Sweet

It's almost December and Christmas, our kitchen smells like papaya sweet! I'll be honest, I don't really like papaya juice, but I love papaya sweet! This traditional sweet is usually eaten in December, but it is so irresistible that it is prepared at any time of the year hahaha.

For this sweet, the papaya must be green or pintona, we must have sugar or papelón, cloves and cinnamon. Yummi. The pulp of the papaya is cut into slices and then all the ingredients are mixed very well in a pot, it is cooked slowly until a crystalline sweet is obtained. The final appearance of the sweet will depend a lot on the fruit. If the fruit is green, the sweet will be crystalline, if the fruit is pintona, the sweet will be dark.

Thank you very much for having reached the end of my article, remember that your comments are very important to me, you can leave some.

Thank you very much to my beautiful sponsors for following me, reading and commenting on each article. Remember that you can follow them, support them and comment. They also deserve love in their articles, I know their articles will fascinate you.

Sponsors of ArteFM
empty
empty
empty

What are the traditional sweets of your country?

Have you tasted any of these sweets or a sweet similar to these?

Success to all, remember that you can participate in this #SweetWeek ❤️

The rules are simple

1 Have fun

2 Participate whenever you want

3 Post #SweetWeek to be able to read them better.

4 You can tag me in your posts

Information obtained from:

https://www.recetasgratis.net/receta-de-arroz-con-coco-venezolano-53221.html

https://www.quericavida.com/recetas/arroz-con-coco-venezolano/f1ad81ac-f927-4491-b5d1-c0d9ff2a8474

https://www.recetavenezolana.com/bocadillo-de-platanos/

https://www.recetasgratis.net/receta-de-catalinas-venezolanas-70710.html

https://comidasvenezolanas.net/catalina/

https://www.recetasgratis.net/receta-de-dulce-de-lechosa-venezolano-60564.html

https://www.directoalpaladar.com/postres/dulce-de-lechosa

See you in the next article! ❤️

I love you guys so much ❤️

All content is original

Information obtained from the web is indicated.

Greetings from Venezuela❤️😊

5
$ 1.81
$ 1.45 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.20 from @Frankmart
$ 0.10 from @daring-celt
+ 2
Avatar for ArteFM
Written by
2 years ago

Comments

Very good article, I like all those sweets 😋, the catalina is also called "cuca", I don't know what the reason is, they also make it without papelón, so it is lighter in color. 😁

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes, there is a catalina that is white in color.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Of those, the one I like the most is the papaya sweet :)

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Anyway, as I said, I don't like papaya juice, but I do like the sweet stuff, thanks for commenting :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago