Is it normal to talk to ourselves?

4 109
Avatar for Argent
Written by
2 years ago

Perhaps most of us will definitely laugh out loud when we happen to encounter a person who talks to himself. Majority of us probably think that this person is crazy or experiencing a mental disturbance or it can be a mental illness in its worst. However, lots of us or probably majority of the whole population of human beings tend to execute a “self-talk”, the question is, is it normal? or is it a sign a growing mental disturbance or illness in one person? This article aims to discuss about talking to our own self often referred as “self-talk” in our society.

Technically and scientifically speaking, “self-talk” according to our experts are normal activity of a human being. In reality, we often talk to ourselves when we encountered a lot of difficulties in life and we want to resolve these issues alone by means of talking deep within ourselves. Additionally, self-talk is somehow beneficial in some circumstances according to a lot of researchers and experts all around the globe.

Self-talk may occur at any age level, for example, a child playing on his own often talks to himself, sometimes you’ll hear them saying some words portraying the character of their toys as if the toys were talking to them and we don’t have to worry about that because its really normal, actually children are giving you a sign that they are developing their language and their communicative skills so, there’s nothing to worry about your child talking in his/her own.

Is self-talk healthy?

The answer is yes, its definitely normal. However, if a person is showing other symptoms of mental illnesses then self-talk isn’t normal.

There was a study in 2012 about self-talk, this study was specifically intended for examining how self-talk affects visual search task. The result suggests that a person performing a self-talk while searching for something else has a greater chance of finding the said objects sooner.

Types of Self-talk

Although we can just generalize self-talk as it is, classifying it would be very much interesting for this topic. There are 3 classification or types of self-talk according to the internet;

1.      Positive self-talk: from the word itself, it simply boosts your confidence by means of telling yourself positive encouragement so that you can improve yourself

2.      Negative Self-talk: this is the complete opposite of number one, this usually occurs when we have struggles and failures in life.

3.      Neutral self-talk: there is no positive nor negative in here, just neutral we tend to use this so that we can avoid other errors which may result to another struggle.

Aside from the types of self-talk mentioned above, we can also classify it in two different types these are: Overt which means that we are executing self-talk loudly that other people can hear it, and the other one is; Covert in which we tend to talk within ourselves or just talking within our minds.

What causes a person to self-talk?

Well it simply all about emotions, try to think about it thoroughly, we often self-talk when we have big problems, we experience stress or depress and so on.

Have you ever experience talking to yourselves in front of the mirror and then when someone is approaching towards your direction you act as if you’re just trying to appreciate your looks in front of the mirror? Funny isn’t it? Actually, I am a person of that kind as well hahahah! I hate to admit it but it’s the truth. I’m a kind of person who thinks a lot and try to give meaning even from the smallest things I knew. I tried to formulate a lot of questions and scenarios in my minds most specially when I’m a lone and when I experience sad moments in my life, sometimes I over think of a specific event in which I think will happen or that was already happened. I tried to put myself in each and every scenario that I mentally imagined and created up to the point that I didn’t even notice that I’m already executing self-talk and my mind were just floating around somewhere. I also did this thing every time a find it hard to sleep. By the way, I’m also self-talking every time I find movies or anime that caught my interest a lot, I don’t know but it comes to me naturally that my mind will think of a certain part of the movie or anime in which I imagine that I am the main character in that scene and slowly turning it into my whole own world with my own script which I played in my mind until such time that I’ll find my mind floating again somewhere else, I don’t know if its normal but at least it helps to calm my mind and escape the reality for just a few moments and help me to maintain my sanity, by the way, I’m also self-talking while writing this article.

So, that’s all for this article I hope It kills your haggard time!

 

Please note that this article is not proofreaded..

Sponsors of Argent
empty
empty
empty

 

5
$ 13.74
$ 13.71 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.02 from @zolabundance2
$ 0.01 from @forieya
Avatar for Argent
Written by
2 years ago

Comments

There's nothing wrong about talking to yourself po.. ahahhaha ako din madalas nakikipagusap sa sarili ko... We are sane po as long as we can question kung sane pa ba tayo hahah...

Healthy pong kausapin Ang sarili it means nagrereflect ka ng actions mo

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Kinakausap ko din minsan ang sarili ko lalo na pag stress ako at maraming problema na alam ako lang makakapag bigay solusyon. Sa pakikipag usap minsan sa sarili dun tayo nakakalma. Kaya para sa akin hindi yun masama.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Nothing wrong with talking to yourself because we sometimes need to give ourselves a pep talk, or like you said, run ideas or solutions in our head aloud and even vent. There is a line, though, when others may think we're going out of our mind, but when we have things under control self-talk isn't bad.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

yes , Its just normal to talk ourselves . I also talk to myself .Its just seems crazy but when you don't want to others talk at some issue you chose talk to your self. good topic👏👏👏👌.

$ 0.00
2 years ago