Perks of Working Alone

12 45
Avatar for Amy05
Written by
1 year ago

No man is an island, and no one is bound to work alone all the time. However, we can't deny the fact that working alone has many benefits as well especially on developing our mindset and skills.

We can't always rely on other people to improve and make progress in our life, so trying our best to work on something with just ourselves, without someone's help, can be of a great help as well.

Source: Unsplash

Honestly, this topic popped up on my mind earlier while reflecting on my past activities especially in terms of my academic journey. Since we are still into distance learning modality, most of our learning tasks are invidually given, though we also have some group activities that we accomplished collaboratively.

With my experiences of working alone on several outputs (which I successfully submitted) I realized that despite cramming on some of them, I still finished everything successfully with just by myself. I don't know if it's a good things or what, but I prefer working alone rather than engaging myself in a group activity with lazy groupmates.

Going back to the main topic, working alone may not be the best option to do all the time, but if you're that kind of person who is not fond of working with other people, you might be realizing these benefits I'll list down here. Here are:

1. WE CAN WORK FREELY

Have you ever experienced working with other people but it seems like you are too pressured on doing good all the time because you are afraid about what your groupmates would say about your performance?

Me, I experienced it all the time especially when I'm surrounded with intellectual people. I am afraid to commit mistakes because I don't want anyone to judge my ability to work on something. I feel uncomfortable to suggest something because what if my ideas are not that good and my groupmates would laugh at me?

On that note, when working alone, we are free to do whatever we want to. We can freely think and execute ideas we think would best fit the said task.

2. WE CAN WORK ANYTIME AND ANYWHERE

Being alone means we can work conveniently anytime and anywhere we want to. We won't be having problems about what could be our groupmates' free time because we only have ourselves to work on something. We will be free from any arguments about when will we start doing the task and where could be the place.

As for me, I can start whenever I want to and that usually happens at night since my mind works best on that time. But if it will be a group activity, I don't think I can work at night since based on my experience, my groupmates will keep on bugging me at daytime even if I am busy with other things. And as expected, since I am a shy person, I'll let them choose on when and where we will do the task.

On that note, it's better to work alone because we are free to choose what time and place are we going to work on something.

3. WE HAVE THE FULL RESPONSIBILITY AND ACCOUNTABILITY ON OUR WORK

I consider this one as one of the perks of working alone because no matter what the result will be, no one will blame us for doing so because we're the only one who did it. Unlike when we worked as a group, if there's a problem with the result, someone might blame us for that.

Aside from that, we can also improve our ability/skills for having a full responsibility on something. We can be more motivated to work because we are not relying on anyone. That moment when we have to work already because no one will do it for us, but ourselves.


CLOSING THOUGHTS

This article was written in a point of view of a student like me, but it could also be applicable to those working in a particular field of job. It's not my intention to speak against one of the 21st century skills which is "collaboration". What I am trying to drive at is that, sometimes working alone works best than having other people around. It's more comfortable especially to those who used to work alone, or those who have an introverted side that are uncomfortable with the presence of other people around them.

However, it's not always applicable all the time. Of course, there are things we can't do alone because in the first place, we are not perfect and there are things we don't know that others might know.


Author's Note:

As a sign of gratitude, I want to express how thankful I am to you, my readers. Thank you very much for those who keeps on supporting me with my articles, and I hope that even though my writing skill was not yet pro enough, you are still learning from it. I am very thankful also to my sponsors, I am hoping that you are all doing fine and for you to be showered with more blessings from above.ย 

May the good Lord bless you more with love and grace! ๐Ÿ˜‡โค๏ธ

Thank you so much for reading! ๐Ÿ’•


Date Published: May 29, 2022

Lead Image and Gif: Originally edited by me using Canva

10
$ 6.74
$ 6.59 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Lucifer01
$ 0.04 from @foryoubtc09
+ 3
Sponsors of Amy05
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Amy05
Written by
1 year ago

Comments

More on working solo din ako. If I will be picking projects more often than not pag group work talaga it ends up me doing the task for everyone kasi I can't rely on them that much. More procrastination kasi madalas ang naging mindset.

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Tsaka mahirap din pag group work then ikaw yung leader. Mostly, the groupmates will just rely on their leader and you as a leader will lift them up alone. Though, hindi ko naman nilalahat, but yun lang napapansin ko mostly pag group activity.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

This is so legit sis, I also prefer working alone specially when it comes to academicsl stuff, I hate groupings haha minsan kasi pag ganun kailangan makisama and minsan may nga tamad na nakakaasar talaga, kaya pag individual you are free to work on everything and naka depende sayo lahat ng bet mo.

$ 0.02
1 year ago

True yan, mahirap kasi talaga ang groupings lalo na kapag maraming pabigat. Kaya mas bet ko talaga pag individual kasi magagawa mo yung gusto mo.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

One thing I like about working alone is that I will be accountable for everything that happens in my business. It won't make me feel like someone is cheating me and if I make any mistake, I can take all the blame. And it also makes me work at my own pace. I'll be able to work during my free time without anyone telling me to start at a particular time

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Yep, those benefits are very relatable. We can work in our own convenience whenever and wherever we want to, without getting pressured.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I always prefer working alone. It's so much better and productive.

$ 0.02
1 year ago

That's right, and it's more comfortable.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I love to work alone because I hate waiting. I hate asking people where is their job so I can start with mine. I want a job that I can do independently.

$ 0.02
1 year ago

That's what I like as well. I don't have enough patience in waiting someone to work with me (especially if they don't want to and just forced to be with me, in the first place) so I prefer working alone as long as I can.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I am also much more comfortable doing alone, hehe, but sometimes not really in the mood, so I need a backup. I always tell them I could do it if I knew, yet I am also honestly telling them I can't because I don't know. Hehe, sometimes working alone is beneficial, yet not all the time.

$ 0.02
1 year ago

That's right po. And sometimes, it's more convenient to do so since we don't have to deal with pressure from other people. But yeah, it's not applicable all the time, and sometimes we still need a helping hand.

$ 0.00
1 year ago