A penny saved is a penny gained.

27 66

Lead image:edited using canva.

This phrase instruct(advices) us to have savings and be careful of our spending habit as there would be a time when we would be in need of money urgently,it's only our savings that would save us then as we don't have anywhere to run to.

I have come to realise that saving money is a good thing to do as most times we might need money badly and there's no one to run to or nobody to ask for help as everybody are facing different problems in their life,we ought to save money at least 25% of the money you get.

In order to be able to save we need to be determined and separate our wants from our needs,that's the first step we need to curve out so we can be able to save money.

  • Identify your needs from your wants.

  • Make a list of your spending.

  • Save more than you spend.

  • Make a budget on how you want to spend your money.

Identify your needs from your wants.

The first and foremost thing we need to do is to identify our needs for our wants as it is necessary to avoid over spending so we can save,make a list of things that are important to you like for instance;house rent,food and clothes those are the basic necessities of life which a human needs as they are important to us,you can satisfy your wants some other time but make sure your needs come first on your list.

Make a list of your spending.

Track your spending and learn how to manage resources wisely as it's hard to get money but it's easy to spend.

This reminds me of my school days,there was a young boy back then who used to save often and often,he saved money for upto 9 months and decided to check how much his money was,could you believed he saved upto 1 million naira equivalent to ($2,406) in dollars, he was surprised seeing what he saved for 9 months but he didn't make plans on how he wanted to spend the money instead he called for a party to be held and invited many people to his house to celebrate with him...within the period of 12 hours the money he saved for 9 months was gone.

You might wonder why I brought this story??its easier to spend money then to save,it might take many months to save but spending it would be in a twinkle of an eye and all your savings is gone so make the right plan and spend wisely.

Save more than you spend.

Don't let your spending rate be higher than your saving,try to minimise it and save more often then your spend so that when you are in need of money you won't be stranded.

Make a budget on how you want to spend your money.

As a salary earner who gets his money at the end of the month we need to make a good budget on how to spend our money till the next month before we get paid again, make your needs come first and sort out your wants later when you have enough but always save all the time.

Closing thought.

There would always be a time we would need money urgently and our savings would save us from those times,let's try to save more and spend little.

Let your needs come first before your wants as you can always find time to sort out your wants some other time to focus on your needs and things that are more important to you,which includes food,clothing and shelter those are the basic necessities of life.

BCH skyrocket from $276 to $318 at the time of writing,let's hope it crosses his ATH very soon.

It's another weekend once again to have fun with our friends and loved ones,this is the only period and holiday we have from work to spend with them,let's have fun with them either in the cinema or take them out.

Sponsors of Amazing-grace
empty
empty

Meet my awesome sponsors,they are the best I've had to far,thanks for believing in me,I love you all💙.

It's weekend once again, let's have fun with our loved ones and enjoy the best moment with them,I hope you all enjoy this weekend with your loved ones.

18
$ 3.60
$ 3.12 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Alther
$ 0.05 from @Xakia
+ 14
Sponsors of Amazing-grace
empty
empty

Comments

As I get older I find that much of what I have spent money on is mere wants and not needs. I still spend a decent amount on wants but not near as much and cut back more every day. Now that I am entering retirement, I am sure my wants and needs will change and decrease significantly.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Just try to sort out your needs first as they are the first to take care of before using any extra you have for your wants but still try to save up.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I figured that out long ago. I am a little long in the tooth and learned from experience not to be frivilous.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Lol.. this was my mom's favorite advice to me when I was in primary school.. by the way, she could save ! Lol

$ 0.00
2 years ago

These days I am finding it very hard to save and I have ended up spending most of the money I have saved up for a while. It's truly not easy to save sha 😩

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I am a housewife and trying my best to save from my husband's earnings.There were times when we are really in need we are left with no choice but to spend our savings.And yes savings can save us from unexpected urgents expenses. That is why we also train our kids to save instead of buying candies on stores hihi.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

That's right savings helps us when we have unexpected bills and expenses to clear,it's advisable we teach our kids how to save in their young age.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

He saved that much as a secondary school student you sure he wasn’t stealing though… I never even crossed a 100k back then.. there are lessons to be learnt from this and truly we must be able to save no matter how little it forms an ocean after.. great write up Vic and very helpful

$ 0.03
2 years ago

He was saving much as visitors do come to their house times without number so any money he gets he do save all.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

We shouldn't eat with all our ten fingers this simply means we must learn how to save up in case of emergency need

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I think I need to write down my daily expenses. Maybe I'm wasting some.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Try to write them down and separate your needs from your want,you should always sort out your needs first of all.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It's difficult to save when there is financial shortage in the family. But I like how you point out how to save and becoming wise in handling our finances.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

We need to be wise in handling the way we spend our money,it's not easy to get money so handle it with care and save more then you spend.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

yes saving little amount can make one day a lot of money which leads a good future. good points

$ 0.01
2 years ago

That's true buddy....saving money can help us achieve our goals and dreams.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Saving is always good for us.Because in our life money can be need anytime. If we can saving then we can use it in that moment.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Few months ago I was not saving a single penny and later I regret about it. Now I am saving every single penny and using it with a care. Enjoy your weekend, mate.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

That's good to hear...we have so many benefits from saving,try to save more often and spend wisely.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Spend less, save more. Spend less for our wants and we can save more savings. I don't even apply those techniques what you have mentioned. I only separate little amount for my savings.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Try to apply the techniques and save more for the future or in times of need.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Make a list of your spending ,I waa doing it but I spend those nothing in my list😅

$ 0.01
2 years ago

You just need to stick to your list and sort out your needs first before your wants.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

That's why even it's a one peso, I will not waste it especially if kulang yung sukli hahahah.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

That's good always try to save more than you spend.

$ 0.00
2 years ago