What is Success to You?

24 71
Avatar for Aimure
Written by
1 year ago

In life, while some people were born with different sort of precious spoons — silver, diamond, gold — not in the literal sense of course, what that simply means is that some people were born into wealth; born lucky some might say. Others on the other hand are not so fortunate, in fact, they may say that they are lucky to be born. But, no matter, being successful is much more than luck, sometimes, sheer hard work and consistency can get the job done. By no means am I under playing the power of luck too.

I remember sometime ago, I went to the ATM to make a withdrawal, I met an older man there, but since there were two machines, I decided to use one while he used the other. Halfway through, there was a network glitch and our debit cards ejected automatically from the machine. We looked at each other as though we could see how thoughts and recognised that it was the same. Generally, when things like this happen, we are usually skeptical about putting the card back in even if the card slot is blinking green.

I asked the guy if he wanted to try again, but he said he doesn’t want to lose his card since the machine is acting up. I decided to take a risk and — if you must say — try my luck. Lo and behold, I withdrew the amount I wanted to and left. While walking home, I couldn’t help but think about the situation that played out back at the ATM booth. I thought to myself:

  • How many times have people been skeptical about taking a risk and just trying their luck only for someone else to try theirs and be successful?

  • Is look specific to an individual or is it non-specific, just there for the taking, for whomever is willing to try at that moment?

  • What if there was no luck involved, and it was just a matter of first come, first serve. In this case, first try, first get?

  • Did the man have any regret about not trying when I asked him? If I was in his shoes, what would I make of it?

There are many ways you can look at the events that transpired, but perhaps I was just bored and was looking for something to think about and said: “why not my luck back there?”

Success is more than taking the first step, it is also the second step and the many steps you take after that first step, after that first push. It is CONSISTENCY.

Success is much more than being lucky when you try, it is about knowing when to try and when to not try. It is DISCERNMENT.

Success is much more than sweating off every liquid in your body and even giving your blood to the cause, it is about TIMING.

Surely, different people have different ways with which they describe or measure success, so I ask you dear readers: WHAT IS SUCCESS TO YOU?

Thank You For Reading 🖤🖤

Thanks to @Mictorrani for the sponsorship renewal, really appreciate your unwavering support.

17
$ 3.89
$ 3.48 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.06 from @Bloghound
$ 0.05 from @TheGuy
+ 13
Sponsors of Aimure
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Aimure
Written by
1 year ago

Comments

Success for me is all about satisfaction, contentment, and happiness. But of course, in order for us to do is to do our best part to achieve it. Our discipline, consistency, and commitment matter.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I agree with you on that. Absolutely!

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I couldn't agree more. I am one of the skeptic ones that's why I didn't have much success I guess.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Hehe. I suppose you have to look within yourself and find what is Success to you. Let's not judge one person's success based on another person's definition.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

In order to succeed, first try will never be enough. You are right about consistency, discernment, and timing. It's a true success for me if someone succeeded in a right way.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I agree with you. Thanks so much.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

That's a nice little story. I remember writing about success some months ago as a part Jonica's prompt and when I was feeling low my friend sent it to me to read 😊

$ 0.00
1 year ago

That's nice. I have never partook in Jonica's prompt. Perhaps, I can check them out for something to write about when there is none.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

You should look up her community

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Nice sayings about success. To me success is when i dont look back or repent for what I did. Being just happy

$ 0.00
1 year ago

That's a good resolve too Sasha. Anything that works for you goes.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Success comes to those who are prepared for it. Not all lucky people are successful as some do not know the right thing to do with their good luck charm.

It's good to read your article after a long while. Is it safe to assume that you are back?

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I agree with the first part of your comment. As for the second, I don't think it is ever safe to assume, but you can say that I will be active more that I have been in the past 8 weeks or so.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Success to me is when I have all I need in all aspects of life and I'm contented with it.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Great! This is indeed to secret to leading a happy life, CONTENTMENT.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Success to me is about bettering myself in all aspects I am interested in: financially, intellectually, spiritually, and socially, Never to remain stagnant.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Financial does come first doesn't it. Hahaha. I would take you for a spiritual person though.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

In no particular order 😒...and while would you assume financial wouldn't come first? 🙄 Spiritual? I don't know about that 🤷‍♀️

$ 0.00
1 year ago

TO me, it is doing what you love and loving what you do. The rest will follow :)

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Hehehe. I agree. Hopefully, what one love to do is what makes them money to live a comfortable life.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Even me, I believe that success is much more than luck, though for some people, they seem to get lucky with success but even at that, to maintain success, a lot of things has to be put in place so you won't go back to poverty

$ 0.00
1 year ago

That is right. It is why successful people are constantly looking for new ways to be more successful. Keep the flow of money and all.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Success to me is when my skills are improving in whichever sector I am involved along with the value of rewards from it.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

That is a good concept too. What is the point of getting better at something but it isn't making your life better.

$ 0.00
1 year ago