Rules Are Not to be Broken

26 48
Avatar for Aimure
Written by
1 year ago

Hello beautiful people. I am feeling quite tired so much so that I can't find the strength to think of a reason I am tired. Even though there are so many drafts I could have completed or prompts I could have responded to, I decided to write a new article from scratch, lets save those for the real dry days.

This article I was supposed to have written days ago, but only remembered today. So, I said: Why not? It was inspired by an event that happened last Tuesday. I had to wake early to see off my young cousin to her tutorial and one of our neighbour's son who also attended the same tutorial as my cousin accompanied us. Getting to the gate, the security personnel had sent him back because he was wearing knicker, which was against the rules.

He had no choice but to go back home and change into a long trouser before he can be allowed in. As we walked back home, I was lost in my own thoughts as he was complaining and whining about the extra stress he has to go through just because... As I found my way back to reality, he was talking about how he used to see others wear the knicker shorts he had worn and they were not sent back. That the first time he decided to wear the knicker shorts was when they decided to send him back.

As he spoke, I couldn't help but think of the lessons in his story. I asked him if he wore the knickers because he had seen others wear it and got away with the consequences and he answered NO. Since it has been established that he knew wearing Knicker was against the rules, I wanted to know why he still decided to do what is against the rules. Aren't humans all kind of funny? I supposed he just wanted to be the teenager he is.

Personally, I have always liked rules. Although, I have always felt the impulsive desire to break them, my belief that rules is the fence that separates our path from animalistic savagery. I remember when I joined read.cash, I had spent the most of the first week reading old articles of the admin, and of course the one by @TheRandomRewarder Have I tipped you? over and over again. This is because I wanted to familiarize myself with all or most of the rules, so I don't break any out of ignorance - Which as we all know, is not an excuse. You see, sometimes we may be tempted to break the rule simply because other people are breaking them and getting away with it. Even though others are escaping punishment, it doesn't mean we will escape the consequences too. We just might be the scapegoat needed to show everyone what happens when we break the rules.

Truth be told, it takes discipline to adhere strictly to rules, especially when you don't agree with them. Many a time, I have found myself fallen for the impulse to dare the rules. Bend it almost to its breaking point. But , when you sit and think about it, you will find that bending the rule is not the same as breaking it. You can make yourself feel better by thinking you have found a way around the rule,the shocker is that you are still within the limits of the rule.

The life can be summarised to be one of cause and effect. Every action has its consequences, if you want to go against the rule you should be ready to bear the consequences of your action.

I had asked the young boy if he would ever wear knickers again and he said he wouldn't. Then I asked what if they had let him in, would he had never wear the knicker again? This time, he wasn't sure which answer to give this time around. Then I casually asked if he had learned from his ordeal and he answered YES.

I smiled and said: DON'T DO WHAT OTHERS ARE DOING BECAUSE THEY ARE DOING IT

Thank You For Reading 🖤🖤

Special thanks to my newest sponsor @Lara888 I really appreciate the support Doc

20
$ 2.74
$ 2.12 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @gertu13
$ 0.05 from @TheGuy
+ 18
Sponsors of Aimure
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Aimure
Written by
1 year ago

Comments

It is better to know the rules and not be a victim by breaking it because you feel others are breaking it and getting away it. The day they will be caught will be an unexpected moment and surely, such a person would be a scapegoat to others.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Indeed, not because other's are breaking the rules any one can follow. What rule's is rules and it should be considered in our daily lives. As we all know, to have a great living we must be responsible with our actions. We have rules to make things work out well and accordingly. We have rules to know our limitations and responsibilities. Rules are meant to be followed and not meant to be broken.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Rules are meant to be broken 🌚 if it's certain that nobody will break it, then there wouldn't be a need for rules in the first place

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Rules are meant to keep order and sanity. If there is no rule, nothing will be broken then

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I guess there is that rebelliousness that we have in us. We like to challenge things even authority and rules. We just have to be ready to deal with the consequences.

$ 0.02
1 year ago

It is our nature. We should be ready to face the consequences of our actions should we decide to rebel

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Back in high school we used to say "Rules are meant to be broken" but we later got to know that some rules are not meant to be. If one do, it has great repercussion.

$ 0.02
1 year ago

That's one thing about breaking rules. Because other people are doing it and getting away with it does not mean you would get away with it too. That's why I don't engaged in exams malpractice. I have a strong feeling that I would definitely get caught even though others are getting away with it

$ 0.03
1 year ago

Bilqess I don't always like to maintain rules. Because sometimes i feel to get freedom and enjoy life as own wish.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I agree. But have you considered the fact that you could be a scholar too who doesn't need to indulge in malpractice, unlike the rest of us

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Laws are made to be obeyed, breaking the rules because someone did it, like stealing because we saw someone stealing. Despite this, the guard could have let the young man pass this time, as long as he did not repeat it the next time. No need to thank me for this I'm glad to do it, and thank you for teaching me 😁❤️

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Well, I suppose without enforcers of the rule, rules will mean nothing. My pleasure Lara

$ 0.00
1 year ago

It's funny that the very exact opposite of the title is what people hold in mind: 'laws are to be broken'. But you have said it all; 'rules is the fence that separates our path from animalistic savagery'

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Hahaha, I know right. We are often slaves to our impulses

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I like to live life with full of freedom and with few rules.

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Hahaha. I suppose we could do that

$ 0.00
1 year ago

If you like to invite me one day I can come in your country. If not in real life then come to in dream. hahaha

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Hahaha. You are free to come anytime you want. I'll give you a tour 😁😁

$ 0.00
1 year ago

To all organizations, there are rules to be followed, your bro shouldn't have copied the rule breakers. Others might escape punishment when they break them, but if we do we might face huge consequences of our action.

$ 0.02
1 year ago

That's what I told him too Ayo. Thank you

$ 0.00
1 year ago

This is absolutely true, my friend, ignorance of the law is no excuse. Of course, in life, we all err, but I think when one falls on the wrong side of a rule or law, the best thing to do is accept the humility of the moment, to learn and to follow the rules to ensure and maintain order in the future.

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Apt as always. Thanks for this Trifecta

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Well said. We should abide by the rules and be careful about not breaking it.

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Thank you Luci, we should eh

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Rules are meant to be followed. Yeah, sometimes it's good to break some rules too because there will be a time when you have to against it. Hehe.

$ 0.02
1 year ago

I suppose in times were breaking the rule is the lesser evil

$ 0.00
1 year ago