Is There More?

24 64
Avatar for Aimure
Written by
1 year ago

Earlier, I was shuffling through my music playlist as it has been a while I listened to music playlist and I was feeling a bit nostalgic about my playlist. So many different genre make up my playlist, from country music to indie to dance to pop to RnB to Rap to alternative music. Really one h*ll of a playlist.

I remember when I had my first internet-enabled phone many years ago (2011) I used to download songs one at a time, master every lyrics and after playing it over a thousand times over, I delete,download another and repeat again. Not until I got my first phone with expandable memory did I stop deleting songs. Over the years, My playlist have grown in numbers as it has diversified in genre.

I can say that I am a music lover, and I can say that I have a song for any mood you can think of. I remember years back I had just come out of the bathroom and getting ready for my morning exam and singing to the lyrics of a song blaring from the speaker of my phone I said to my roommate about how easy it is to remember the lyrics of songs and not what you have read in preparation for exams. I suppose it is usually so because of how many times you hear a song play over and over.

Music has been therapeutic for me over the years, whenever I feel down, I'd just go to my playlist and look for Passenger's album (All The Little Lights specifically) and just bask in the poetry that is his music. It has helped lift my moods many times before and has served as a bonding agent between me and friends. I am the kind of guy to download a full album if I like just one track in it. This is mainly because I like my playlist organised and my music with album art cover. Feel free to call me weird.

The nostalgia I felt scrolling through my playlist today came with the perplexed thought of how little I have listened to music in recent times, I think perhaps since I am writing more now, I have become less inclined to seek music for therapeutic purpose. At least, not as I used to, could the constant writing of thoughts and emotions be the reason for this or is it that I have had no need for music therapy in recent times?

I would like to hear from my readers how they feel about music, and what it means to them.

Screenshot from my music player

I came across Drake's Is There More and decided to play it for the first time in a long time. This song was often a reminder for me about what more is to life. An excerpt from the song lyrics goes:

"...What you got? Time on your hands or time on your side?
Is there more to life than going on trips to Dubai?
Yachts on the 4th of July, G5 soaring the skies
Is there more to life than all of these corporate ties?
And all of these fortunate times?...

Am I missing something that's more important to find?
Like healing my soul, like family time
Is there more to life than just when I'm feeling alive?
Is there more?"

My initial intention had been actually to write about the excerpt above, taking one line at a time so I can talk about the questions and ask questions of my own too. But I got carried away in the first paragraph and started writing about music and my playlist generally. I would like you read the excerpt above and tell me if it sparks any thought or question in your mind.

Thank You For Reading πŸ–€πŸ–€

17
$ 1.78
$ 1.03 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @Tomi-Ajax
$ 0.05 from @Alther
+ 16
Sponsors of Aimure
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Aimure
Written by
1 year ago

Comments

indeed music has a huge impact to us. Sometimes it brings healing, sometimes it uplifts our mood, and sometimes it also bring back memories to us. Music indeed is good for our soul.

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Absolutely correct Scrivener. Thanks for stopping by.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

This just reminded that a lot of the songs I have on my phone now were downloaded back in 2016, I just dey transfer them anytime I buy a new phone now I have around 2k songs πŸ˜†

$ 0.02
1 year ago

LMAO. Think sey na only me do that thing.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

You and music...not would have been alot better If you knew how to sing and had a nice voice.

$ 0.02
1 year ago

LoL. That is not to say I don't have a compelling voice.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

The lyrics were nice but guess what these celebrity gimmicks do, all the advices are for normal folk while they go out of their way to love such luxurious life.. am not nit picking but just pointing out the hypocrisy lol.. and I do understand your nostalgia.. whenever I hear old songs, I immediately remember me sitting in car on the way to my office and what a time was that!!!

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Music can hold a strong memory for us isn't it.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I knowwww, I've barely had time to listen to good songs lately, all his questions are valid but if we keep asking ourselves these questions, we'll not enjoy lifeπŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚, Life's too short to be looking for more everytime.

$ 0.02
1 year ago

I think what he meant was that he's so focused on making money and travelling that he might be missing the things that are more important like family and inner peace. I do understand you though questioning everything make doubt and uncertainty creep in even when you have it all.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I can only answer him yes there's more, lol. There's a lot more we miss, even when you are having a family time you are missing something. Haha, tricky lyrics the thirst to experience everything of our human nature will always search for is there more.

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Exactly! We can never be truly happy as we will always feel something is missing. I feel real happiness will come from contentment.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

The moment we ask ourselves for more, that's when we don't get contentment. It's going to be an unending search for more, need for more.

Like you, music has been therapeutic for me. I do remember downloading music too especially music videos but now we can stream all we want :D

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Hahaha, Not really a fan of streaming, I am still old school because I prefer to download my music.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Music is really a good therapy, specially if you felt bored. Music also makes me nostalgic in some ways.

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Hehe. I can relate to that GG.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I'm not really familiar with Drake's music, I know I belong to a minority, lol! Be that as it may, I find music can be very therapeutic and nostalgic as well. Usually I remember major life events based on the music of that era.

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Believe, there are a lot of people who don't listen to Drake. I also attach memories to songs too, I remember some represent certain things that happened to me in certain times of my life. And I could relate to a song because of that event that happened.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I like the lyrics. And it's something that'll make you think whether you arw doing good in life or IS THERE MORE LEFT BEHIND?

$ 0.02
1 year ago

That is a way to look at it. Haven't actually thought of it that way. Thanks.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I'm also a very good music lover and I can tell that we are alike, in every situations I find myself, music is always my go to. Anyways, I haven't heard about "is there more" cause I'm not really a fan of Drake.

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Oh, May I ask who you're a fan of?

$ 0.00
1 year ago

American gospel not their pop music

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Ohhh. I see, that is good to know

$ 0.00
1 year ago