Day 3 - A Memory

18 49
Avatar for Aimure
Written by
1 year ago

The past two days has been a cold with dark clouds and rain chasing the sun from the sky. I have been sleeping a lot these past couple of days as there isn't much things to do and the weather is just conducive for it. Today, I would be writing about one of the fond memories I had years ago. Looking back to that moment always puts a smile on my face.

I remember I had to take a 3-day casual leave from work so that I could travel all the way to the university where I would take their entrance exam. I had made arrangements with my former secondary school (high school) classmate who was now a student of the university. When I arrived, I was greeted by my friend at the entrance of the school hostel, after which he took me to his hostel hall, and then to his block and finally his room. I remember his room was at the top floor of the block and I had to climb about 3 flights of stairs to get there.

When I entered the hall, I had seen some of the boys playing football at the football field, and the spectators hanging around at different spots enjoying the game going on. It was a mini-community of boys. I must admit it was the first time I have been in such an environment. It felt odd and safe at the same time. When I got to his room, I had met two of his roommates. He had introduced me to them, and them to me. Though, they were welcoming, there was something urgent about the way they had greeted me. I sat a bit and that was when it dawned on me that there are 8 beds in the room, all of which belonged to someone. Then I asked how many people shared the room, and he said eight. I was dumbfounded for a moment and wondered how eight people shared a room.

After a while, my friend took me on a little tour round the school and when I came back, I met a full room; all 7 other roommates were around. It was a jolly and fun, with the occasional jokes being cracked, laughter and different activities all going on all at the same time. Most of these jokes was funnier when I finally became a student of the university an would always laugh really hard when I remember them. It was a jolly environment, but I didn't fail to also think of this environment with an un-jolly atmosphere.

This experience in the school hostel will go on to be the deal breaker for me in my ardent decision never to stay in the school hostel. I have rented an apartment outside the school campus since my first year. This is because I like my space as well as my privacy. Though, I have not stayed alone since I got admitted into the university, but it has been relatively more private compared to the school's hostel.

I am not sure exactly why I wrote about the memory in particular, but I do know that I think about it a lot. Also, I often caught myself wondering if I'd have a different opinion about the school hostel if it was a bit more private. But to think of the fact that we have to clear out the hostel at the end of every session, I think I'd likely not want to go through that every now and then. But, again, the thing about humans is that, we always find a way to overcome whatever difficulty life or circumstances throws at us.

I remember my roommate telling me about how one of his course mate who would pay a hefty amount to buy a hostel space as for some reason she was always unlucky getting one. The money she paid at that time was even more expensive than the one we pay for our own accommodation that offers more privacy. Well, I guess that goes to say that one man's food is another man's poison.

I want to use this opportunity to say a big thanks to @Theblackdoll and @Talecharm for the sponsorship renewal, I appreciate the unending support from you super ladies. Thanks so much.

Thank You For Reading 🖤🖤


14
$ 0.77
$ 0.34 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @TheGuy
$ 0.05 from @ARTicLEE
+ 11
Sponsors of Aimure
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Aimure
Written by
1 year ago

Comments

I studied in the same city that I lived, hence I do not know hostel life until I started working.. but the friends who lived in hostel used to tell me a lot of stories like this... what a nostalgia!!

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Haha. There are a lot of stories to tell when it comes to hotel life. Thanks ma'am.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

This takes me back to my days when I was studying. I would have wanted then to stay outside the school campus but my mom wanted me to stay in a dorm inside the campus which is safer anyway.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Parents always want that haha. Puts their mind at ease that you're safe.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I always wonder why people love staying in school hostels even when they have the money for off campus hostels, you go see girls dey fight for hall one and two space like say na one hostel for havard university

$ 0.01
1 year ago

LMAO. For one, many of them are scared of Ekosodin and need the security staying in school offers. For some, it is relatively cheaper. The fear is the major reason though.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

When e be say some of them dey spend most of their time for ekosodin 😂 I don't think fear is a factor for some of them, it's like na curse

$ 0.00
1 year ago

LoL. Lower your voice comrade

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I've never stayed in a hostel in my life. Staying there, I believe, was a bad idea, especially if you dislike meeting new people. However, it will be required if your school is far from your home.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Yeah, it would be required in that case. And it happens to be my case too, and that is why I rented an apartment outside the campus.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

From 2005 for study and job purpose I live outside city from my family. I enjoyed to live in another city .

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Yeah. It does have a different feeling to it.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

My house is close to the university. I go and come back on the same day, so I did not have the experience of living in the girls’ dormitory or even living alone, I think it is a responsibility that I do not want to bear lol. But there were definitely a lot of things that I missed and that would have left beautiful memories for me

$ 0.01
1 year ago

😅😅 it has its peculiar fun too. But coming from home, at least you get to eat good food and to your satisfaction too.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I never experienced staying in a hostel but I think just like you, I would also choose to stay outside as I can't live a place with a lot of strangers 😅. I'm an introvert and for sure if I'll be going to live in a hostel adjusting will be too hard for me and it would be stressful.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

That is true. Living with people from different home and with different characters and upbringing can be daunting.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I haven't been to hostel life but it will make you become a mature person as most of the chores would be done you from what I have seen my friends. Absolutely some have change in personality as in a total boys group all the time isn't a good thing if the other Bois aren't study orienting. You may learn some dark things of world there, haha.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

😂😂😂😂 you know this.

$ 0.00
1 year ago