Chase Perfection, Catch Excellence

32 80
Avatar for Aimure
Written by
1 year ago

Activities here on read.cash have been somewhat low since the start of the new month, and it seems to be decelerating at an increasing rate as the day goes by. Myself, I have not been so active so far this month too because I am having some challenges too with my phone and power supply too.

It is a common saying that perfect doesn't exist. Well, I'd say it depends on which lens you are looking at things from. One can argue that the human body is a work of perfection, as is planet earth and nature itself. 'Perfect' is a man made concept meaning without flaw. What if perfection is what exists now, all the good and bad in a delicate balance that can be easily disrupted?

Permit me to use perfect interchangeably with excellence

I have always been one who likes perfect. and I am quite attentive to details too. I believe that whatever is worth doing is worth doing well, and of course, all of this is relative simply because what may be perfect to me may not be perfect to someone else. I remember a time I had to measure all the dimensions of a cardboard because I wanted what I want to do with it to be a perfectly fit to size with the cardboard. Everything I had to do that day was measured, and even though I got the result I wanted according to my friend who was with me all through the process, I still felt it wasn't perfect.

Which brings me to one of my favourite words and the topic of this article. In chasing the illusion of what perfect should be, I caught excellence even if I didn't catch the perfect I so desperately wanted. As humans, there are a lot of things we want to do or that we want to be good at, dare I say perfect at. Even when I set a goal last month for a perfect month wherein I publish one article every day, even though I didn't meet the goal, I managed to publish 30 articles in the 31 days, and that bis excellence. Maybe it is speaking a foreign language, or dancing, or singing, or cooking, or solving complex Mathematical problems. Whatever it is, you can become excellent at it trying to perfect it.

I am a thorough person, and I often push myself to the highest level I can reach by trying to do things the best way they can be done. Of course, time is an important factor in this. Two months ago, my uncle wanted to repaint the interior of his house simply because he didn't like how I looked at that time. Truth is: it didn't look bad even though it was an all-white coloured painting, you can hardly see any stains on the wall, but I did lack that sparkly white of a newly painted wall.

He called the painter who happened to be the son of a family friend, and he had done the job for about 8 hours, which was practically all day. I was there all through, watching him do his work and learning a thing or two in the process. My uncle had complained about the time taken to get the job done as that was his only complaint, considering everything else was perfectly done. As I watched him paint, I could see the care and attention he's paying to the job at hand so everything could be done perfectly. It was as though I was watching myself paint as that's definitely how I'd do the job. He could have done it faster if he wasn't concerned about perfection, and because I was the one with him all through, I understood why he took longer.

What if he had done it shabbily and faster, would my uncle have been satisfied about it? Perhaps. But the point there is, he has done a good job, and many would see what he's done and say or think: "This painter did well" and I guess that is what matters in the end isn't it? A job well done.

So, I ask you my readers Longer time and a job well done or Shorter time and a shabby work?

Thank You For Reading ๐Ÿ–ค๐Ÿ–ค

22
$ 2.13
$ 1.45 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @gertu13
$ 0.05 from @TheGuy
+ 18
Sponsors of Aimure
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Aimure
Written by
1 year ago

Comments

Some says that there is nothing perfect. But for me, something could be a fruit of an excellence. :)

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I am still waiting for a perfect job for me. I wish I will get it after go to abroad.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I would rather choose a job well done finished within a long period of time with perfection. Than a a shabby work done with just a short span of time.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Great choice, that is my preference too.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Why not short time but thorough? :D However, I would still go for job well done rather than not for in the long run I don't have to worry that much because the job was done well unlike when it is not where I get to spend more in the future.

$ 0.02
1 year ago

That is true. Thorough in a short time is always most preferred.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Food for thought, I'll actually prefer a longer time and a job well done. I'm guessing one can actually relate this to life and following the process, not being bothered about those who decided to take a fast route to success

$ 0.02
1 year ago

That is true. But I really don't think there is a fast route to success.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

what may be perfect to me may not be perfect to someone else

Exactly what I am thinking, perfection is subjective and it depends on how you look at things. Some might say the human body is a work of perfection, but me I no gree ๐ŸŒš

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Why you no gree sey the human body is perfect?

How you take quote that excerpt?

$ 0.00
1 year ago

If it's a perfect system we for no dey die ๐ŸŒš

To do that quote, just add "-" (without the quotation marks) before you start writing, then copy and paste wetin you wan quote. After that, give double line before you start typing your comment

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Have you thought of the repercussions of being able to procreate but not dying?

You could have said hyphen. Thanks I will try it.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Earth will be overpopulated ๐Ÿคง na just that one

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Imagine how Lagos is on a more chaotic scale.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

There's nothing wrong about wanting things near to perfection, you're right we have different perspectives about perfection, but sometimes it's good to be like that because you are setting boundaries and good standards for everything,

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Exactly TeacherJen. You said it so aptly. Thanks ma'am.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I feel you. It's just like saying aim for the moon...even if you fall, you won't find yourself on the ground. It's always nice when we aim for the best of things...even if we don't achieve it, we won't be too far off.

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Exactly! That's just another way to put it. Thank you Sir.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Anytime. ๐Ÿค—๐Ÿค—๐Ÿค—

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Oh! I cherish this words; and that's what matters at the end, a job well done!

Chase perfection, catch immortality๐Ÿคฉ

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Hahaha. I guess perfection stands the test of time.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Hahaha. I guess perfection stands the test of time.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Hahaha. I guess perfection stands the test of time.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Yes it did, yes it did!

$ 0.00
1 year ago

If you put in all efforts to be the best in a particular thing, even if you are not later the best, you will still be good

$ 0.02
1 year ago

You are right about that Oyin.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Perfection is not a result that we get quickly or instantaneously, if we do work quickly and we feel our work is perfect, not necessarily other people judge the job as perfect, so perfection is a result that we get carefully and a long time, if we can get perfect results in a short time or quickly, maybe that's our advantage/advantage. I definitely choose to do work for a long time, because the work can be maximized and get satisfactory results.

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Well said, and I also prefer a long time work. Thanks for stopping by.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Take as much as time but give me a well done work as a result that's all I expect in majority of cases.

$ 0.02
1 year ago

That's what I expect in all cases. Well said.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I like to arrive at a perfect job or at least a near perfect one so it's definitely longer time and a good job for me...shabby is nowhere in my dictionary ๐Ÿ˜ except I hate you and think you don't deserve a good job of course.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Don't I know this, hahaha.

$ 0.00
1 year ago