A Little About The Major Ethnic Groups in Nigeria

44 59
Avatar for Aimure
Written by
1 year ago

I was born in Western Nigeria, Lagos state to be precise. I have often caught myself wonder if my life would have been different had I been born in any other part of the country. Bearing in mind the effect of the environment in one's development. Lagos state is not my state of origin, but I have spent most of my life in Lagos, so you can practically call me a Lagosian; since I can contest for The Lagos State House of Assembly according to the law 😂😂. Don't mind all that talk about politics, I am not a politician.

There are three major ethnic groups in Nigeria, they are:

  • Hausa

  • Yoruba

  • Igbo

Even though I have spent most of my life in Lagos - a Yoruba state - I have heard stories and observed people from different ethnic groups as Lagos is a land for all.

HAUSA

They are the most populous ethnic tribe in Nigeria. Also, their states occupies most of Nigeria, extending from west to east of northern Nigeria. They are known for their simple life, they are hard working, and most of all often dark in complexion. Arguably the tribe with the highest number of wealthy people. Well, that is no surprise considering their population, you'd expect them to have a lot of people on both sides. It is worthy of mention that most of the food consumed in the country is produced in the north. Also, there is a common belief that to win election in the country, have the northerners vote for you. Islam is the predominant region of the Hausas. Although, there are many tribes and cultures in the north, southerners tend to see them as one and the same. This sentiment is shared by then too, it is a common thing here in the country. Haha. Food such as Tuwo shinkafa, suya, Kilishi, among others belong to the northerners. I have always considered the Hausas to be honest people, and always take their word for it. But, times are changing, it would seem one can only trust themselves these days.

It is popular to hear people say that they are the brutal, and their sense of communism is like no other. If you can speak the common tongue, you may get cheap beef when buying from an Hausa man. I would liken them to the Chinese people become a similarity they have in creating mini villages for themselves. Think of Chinatowns in different cities in the worId, that is how we have Hausa communities in different parts of the country. Although, I must say that I often see then like the Nigerian Indians because of the similarities in their cultures.

IGBO

Mostly known for their eyes and keen sense for business and love for money. In their defence, I don't think anyone hates money. Their states occupy the eastern part of the country and they are considered the smallest of the three major ethnic groups. Well, one can argue that the civil war which took place between 1967—1970 wasn't kind to the Igbos. Some people have described it as genocide, but that is not the topic for today. I had mentioned them in my article We Rise By Lifting Others and how their strong sense of community has been one of their biggest strength. They are known for food like African salad, okpa, fufu among others.

There is a common joke that to identify an Igbo woman, just look at her children for beards or the size of her leg. LoL.

YORUBA

Arguably the most educated tribe in the country, there are known for their love of party. Believe me, I don't think any of the other ethnic groups party like the Yorubas. Known for their respect of the elderly, their states span across the western part of the country, from the Northwest down to the Southwest. It is said that the tribe spreads across West Africa, from Nigeria down to the far away Ghana. Their most popular food is Amala, and ewedu with gbegiri. Even though I don't find it appetising or even appealing to my senses, people from different cultural backgrounds have confessed to the magical taste of it.

They are considered the lazy tribe and the loudest too. They say the strongest Yoruba person is the one with the loudest voice. There is often a common joke in Lagos that if you want an elaborate wedding ceremony without spending a dime, just get a Yoruba girl pregnant and watch her family members sponsor your wedding.

One may wonder which of the tribes I belong, well, my tribe is one of the minor ethnic groups and found in the southern part of the country. There have been different stories about which of the major ethnic groups we can identify with, but I am not here to bore you with the details.

I will put my pen down at this point and call on my fellow countrymen and women to add or subtract a thing or two from all I have said.

DISCLAIMER: This article was merely for entertainment and learning purposes, aimed at tickling your sense of humour, particularly my fellow compatriots as well as sharing a thing or two in the process.

Thank You For Reading 🖤🖤

20
$ 4.18
$ 3.37 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.06 from @Tomi-Ajax
$ 0.06 from @Ellawrites
+ 19
Sponsors of Aimure
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Aimure
Written by
1 year ago

Comments

Ah.. it isn't fair o.. I'm a Yoruba and I can boldly say I'm very hard-working.. anyways it's nice meeting you

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Nice meeting you too. I know some Yorubas are hardworking.lol that was supposed to be the joke part.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Well I know.. just joking too

$ 0.00
1 year ago

The most educated but lazy? Doesn't sound right. I don't think it's about the tribe but about the person. Some people are naturally laid back. Nigerians are known to be hustlers but that doesn't mean everyone is. You can fault them for parties but lazy is what doesn't fit in... Not as industrious as the Igbos but never lazy as a tribe...even some Igbos are laid back and that doesn't mean it's a general phenomenon.

$ 0.02
1 year ago

That entire paragraph was supposed to be a joke, Just as I did for the Igbo too. Hence, the disclaimer.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

I took it personal small o ah. 🙈

$ 0.00
1 year ago

LoL. You are not the only one, but it isn't personal.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Go and sin no more 😂🤣

$ 0.00
1 year ago

You call my tribe "Lazy?" 😔😔😔 Where are you from? 😂😂

There is often a common joke in Lagos that if you want an elaborate wedding ceremony without spending a dime, just get a Yoruba girl pregnant and watch her family members sponsor your wedding.

The Yorubas are known for parties and they are freaking going from one party to another and they spend too but we know what we are doing oo 😅😅

$ 0.02
1 year ago

😅😅 😅😅 😅😅 It is a common joke. You people know what you are doing with the elaborate parties eh?

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Yorubas are not lazy o, well I think sone part of the yorubas are but not every part so don't say we are all lazy. Even if I don't know of anybody, I know if myself and my family 😂 . And also if you get me pregnant, nah OYO you dey cause my parents no go even me again talk more of you😂

$ 0.02
1 year ago

LMAO😂😂😂. Should we test you theory?? I would love to say I am right and have a beautiful girl for a wife too. It is a win-win for me

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Father please forgive him because he doesn't know what he is saying😂

$ 0.00
1 year ago

LMAOOO. Really?

$ 0.00
1 year ago

"lazy tribe"? No worry they are coming for you 🤣 truth is bitter sha, but I concur to what you wrote there, their strength lies in who has the loudest voice 😂

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Hahaha. I go let them shout wella. No worry.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

We are not lazy o, abeg warn Aimure 😅

$ 0.00
1 year ago

😂😂😂 I can give you guys his address in Lagos make una gather go beat am

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Send me his address, let me arrange some area boys to beat him.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

LWKMD.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Which one is lazy tribe, don't get us angry o (lol). Before we deport you from Lagos

$ 0.02
1 year ago

LMAO. You wan deport indigene

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Who dash you indigeneship?

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Indigene by birth. My birth certificate says so

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Feeling happy to know new things from it.

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Glad you learnt a thing or two.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Yorubas and Parties are 5 & 6🤣

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Hahaha. Nothing like a Yoruba party abeg lol

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Interesting to learn about the different states in your country and their "personalities" hehe

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Hahaha. Thanks FarmGirl. Although, some was just me kidding about.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I made some Nigerian friends here on read cash and before on noise cash so it was good to get to know a little bit about your ethnic backgrounds through your article. To be honest, I am a person who does not look at a person's ethnic or religious background because he did not choose it. Rather, I prefer to overlook these matters and deal with the person as he is and based on his behavior

$ 0.02
1 year ago

That is the best way to go about it, one should only look at the person and not their religion or ethnicity.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Lol, Yoruba and their love for parties, you're very right Aimure, no other ethnic group loves partying like the Yoruba's, and oh yes, you've said it all, igbo people are business minded, some even value their business more than their life. Lol.

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Hahaha. No go play with Igbo man business o. He no dey use am play.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Thought u lived in be in city. In fact I thought you and kushyzee are from the same extended family

$ 0.02
1 year ago

LOL. I had told you before that I am from Edo state, Kushy isn't. We are course mates though, and we stay in the same hostel too. In fact, his room is directly opposite ours.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

aha! So kushyzee isn't edo? I thought he was more edo than me sef

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Haha. No he isn't. But he lives in the state though.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Different countries have different cultures. People in different parts of the country live different lives. After reading your article, I came to know about the ethnic group of Nigeria.

$ 0.02
1 year ago

I am happy to know that you found it educative, thank you for reading.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

This is very interesting topic to discuss. Perhaps I learned a lot about the different tribes in your country because of your article.

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Oh, I am glad to hear that, thank you for reading GG.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Hey, @Aimure, this is quite good and very informative too. I'd like to know more about your tribe as well. By the way, are you on Blurt? There's a competition there for people to tell about their tribes and why they're proud of them. It might be good to participate.

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Perhaps another time, I will talk about my tribe. I am not on blurt, that does sound like an interesting competition.

$ 0.00
1 year ago