Oriental Winter Wonderland

20 67
Avatar for ARTicLEE
1 year ago

This photo was taken yesterday when me, @Bloghound and friends visited one of the Christmas villages here in the city, in particular Baguio Country Club. It was my first time to partake in this yearly event I think. I'm trying to remember if I was there before but I'm coming up blank.

Why was it called Oriented Winter Wonderland? There are Chinese and Japanese pagodas and also some Korean inspired set up as well.

You can check more photos here in my page. I hope you check it and give me a follow if you are not there yet. Tell me which photo is your favorite?

Unfortunately, it was not as what I expected it to be. It's still a good experience but I'm not sure I'll be doing it again.

Here in the Philippines, as early as late part of August, anything Christmas is already evident. As the days and months leading to December approaches, more and more decorations and lights are being set up.

Once All Saints/Souls Day is over, Christmas season is in full blast until the early parts of January.

When @Bloghound and family finally decided to move back down to the lowlands after staying here in the city for a long time, every December they would come up to the city for a visit. Because yesterday was a holiday, we then planned on meeting with them again. It has become a thing for us, a tradition if you will. Whenever we go down to the beach, we would meet with them too.

At the ticketing booth of the Christmas village, there are guidelines and also someone reminding the public about them over a speaker. They require you to have mask and a vaccination card. We bought mask from vendors outside the village. However, once we are inside, most people are not wearing mask.

Anyway, inside the village are shops where food and drinks and other non-consumable goods are sold. There are varieties of different colored trees all around us.

Because the village was not yet lit, my friends hunted for food to eat while I waited with them. We didn't wait long before the program of Nativity started then the lights were lit.

What got everyone excited was the bubble machines spewing soap suds in the air. There were four of them and the machine runs for about 5 minutes then stops and then it will be turned on again after 20-25 minutes. I didn't have something to protect my head from getting wet so when the machines are on, I'd rather stay under a shade or away from them to keep myself dry. My shoes weren't spared though for the suds covered the ground. Every so often, a personnel would sweep those to the side.

It was a wet, colorful and crowded experience. However, without the bubble machines, the place would not be that interesting. There were those in costumes like anime, Santa, Korean attire that you can have photos with. There were also pagodas and nativity scene. There were also a stall for the club's pastries which is one of the bests in the city.

Again, without the soap suds in the air mimicking snow, it was just an ordinary Christmas village. Comparing it to what they did at the Botanical Garden, I'd rather go there even if there is no bubble machine. The entrance to the club is expensive as compared to the Botanical Garden.

There is one more Christmas village that we plan to go to but maybe before the month ends. It's a busy month for everyone now and setting up schedules and planning things can be challenging.

In the background above you can see the stage where a program was ongoing and also the bubble machines were turned on. You can also see the crowd which was continued to come and go. I'm pretty sure many are wet if not everyone from the suds. I quickly took photos and videos before walking away from these machines and once they stopped, I'd go about taking more photos and videos.

This village is open from 10 am to 10 pm and will run until January 8, 2023.

I like visiting Christmas villages or should I say Christmas lights' villages because I admire those colorful lights and whatever theme they have.

How about your Christmas village in your area? Have you visited one?

@Coolmidwestguy is running a Christmas/New Year-theme writing challenge. Read more about that here A "ber" Author Competition Challenge. This is my entry.

Thank you so much for reading. Have a good one!

22
$ 4.44
$ 2.08 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 2.00 from @Coolmidwestguy
$ 0.05 from @esmeesmith
+ 10
Sponsors of ARTicLEE
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for ARTicLEE
1 year ago

Comments

Looks like a great time. We don't have Christmas Villages here due to the cold weather. There are town lighting events though. We have mini villages inside malls. We can see what appears to be a villages in our neighborhoods because many decorate the exteriors if there homes. A nice view riding in the warm car not so much walking unless you like cold, haha.

May you have a Merry Christmas and Happy New Year!! May next year be better and brighter for you and your family. I miss seeing your articles bud. Take care always :)

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Beautiful photos and post! We do have a Christmas village but it is far away. I think I ll go during morning time

$ 0.00
1 year ago

May pasnow tlga at sabi pa ni sis bloghound sa akin knina, ui sabon yan hahaha. Dalhin nya kamo labahin para mkalibre🤣...

All in all is I loved watching the photos/videos.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

There is always something about Christmas...the atmosphere is always exciting to see. It's definitely going to be a white Christmas here with the weather going to minus already.

I love these pictures too... And yes, I heard Philippines celebrates the longest Christmas in history... I love the festivity.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Oh you have there a real Christmas village, the atmosphere is lovely! I think in this time those walks around nice charming places ad the Oriental Winter Wonderland is a must! If you can find someone jajaja I should have to travel a bit, at least some hours far away to colder areas!

$ 0.00
1 year ago

This is a great experience. this is what I really loved about the month of December :) I really want to visit this kind of place with friends and family.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Akala ko nasa fantasy land kayo sir clee the way you captured a photo,napakaganda tingnan

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Your photo is amazing. The picture looks like a picture taken by a perfect photographer.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Wow, breathtaking images; thanks for sharing them.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Nakita ko nga sa TikTok yung Baguio sir lee grabe ang ganda. Nakakatamad. Daming tao pumunta. Ang ganda ng mga photos mo sir lee.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

wow astig naman, dami talagang mapupuntahan diyan no kuys, sana oll hehe. Very soon just to read and look to your photos muna and comes the day ako naman uwuu, enjoy the christmas vibe.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Christmas village, I wish there's one here because I'd love to visit. I love how the Philippines take Christmas preparation so serious. Over here, we've not really gotten the vibe of Christmas... it's still far😂

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Hays kailan pa kaya magkaka initiative dito sa amin na mag effort for Christmas, buti nalang marami padin pwede bilhan hahha

$ 0.00
1 year ago

sana all kami walang ganyan dito

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I miss those moments when I was once in a city. I can feel Christmas in your place already. Thanks for sharing.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

You really had great entry! This really amazing place I hope you had good time with bloghound

$ 0.00
1 year ago

i watch in the news and televise in the TV that in the place of Baguio there is a area wherein you can feel the raining of snow and so much cold, maybe one day and i hope in the coming years my family will try to visit the Baguio to feel wonderlnd

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Thank you for participating:) That was quick, hehe. I have saved your article:) Best of luck

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Suds flakes a garud instead of snowflakes jeje...

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Ay wow ,feel na feel na talaga ang christmas,ang ganda naman diyan.😍 Perfect pasyalan with family and friends

$ 0.00
1 year ago