Getting lost in The Lost Symbol

24 48
Avatar for ARTicLEE
1 year ago

It was a whole day of power interruption for us today. It started early too, a few minutes past 5:00 a.m. and was restored around 4:00 p.m.

I did plan on going for a walk but the weather just didn't agree so what better way to spend the day but to read a book.

Luckily, there is a book in my brother's room that he left. I mean a novel, a fiction by Dan Brown. There are other books about engineering but that is beyond my mental grasp lol!

Have you read The Lost Symbol? If you are not familiar with Dan Brown, he is the author of The Da Vinci Code - a controversial take surrounding religion. I remember when the film came out, it was banned in some of the cinemas because of how controversial it is. Some felt like it is an attack to the Catholic Church. Then came Angels & Demons. It also touched on religion but more of The Illuminati.

The Lost Symbol while it did touch on religion like the others, it is more about The Masons.

>Freemasons are focused on building themselves as people of integrity, and membership provides the structure to help achieve that goal. Being a Freemason gives members a sense of purpose, supporting and guiding them on their journey through life. Source

A lot of controversy, secrecy and conspiracy are build around The Masons or Freemasons. One of which includes power and wealth.

Dan Brown's novels are centered on power, wealth, conspiracy, adventure, a lot of detective work.

Also, the hero is always involved with a woman, I mean he ends up working with a woman in solving puzzles and mystery.

Because of the novels involve religion, it also involves history and the books I have mentioned above is heavily laden with history.

In the book it mentioned about how we find other religion, culture/tradition to be absurd but when we look at our own practices the church we belong to, we are almost the same.

It is also interesting to note that in the book it mentioned that we are discovering things or new ideas and theories but in reality it was already done in history we just forgot all about it so what is happening now is that we are just re-discovering them. Also, new ideas or studies would disprove previous studies making it confusing for us to know what is real or not.

There is more than meets the eye as what was mentioned in the book. What we know may not be enough.

Just because we have an opinion or belief about something, it does not mean it is the absolute truth disregarding the other beliefs or ideas.

I am reminded again of what somebody said that goes "your experience is your truth."

There are so many things to say about this book. It also tells about a man's pursuit of truth and to protect that truth because as humans, knowledge can be a dangerous thing if it is on the wrong hands. It could either destroy us which happens often because it is in the nature of human to use whatever knowledge we have to our advantage.

We are greedy. We are hungry for power, for wealth, for whatever itch that we just want to scratch. We are insatiable.

Anyway, that's just about it. I haven't finished the book yet. It does grip you as the story progressed that you don't want to put it down. There is that thrill of wanting to know what happened in the end.

Good thing I am in the mood to read and my mind was conditioned to do so. Coffee in one hand and book in the other.

When the power came back, we decided to go out for dinner. At first we thought the rain would not stop but good thing that it did.

I noticed in my social media account that most of the my friends there are celebrating birthdays this month. I also saw one or two here in read. Happy birthday to all celebrants!

17
$ 3.13
$ 2.29 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.20 from @Coolmidwestguy
$ 0.06 from @Bibijani01
+ 15
Sponsors of ARTicLEE
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for ARTicLEE
1 year ago

Comments

Good for you you still read books. Lol. Haven't read books in a loooong time. Only online articles and such na lang madalas. Haha.

I did read Angels & Demons years ago and wow it's amazing that I can't even think of watching the movie. Tried to watch it but can't finish haha.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Lol! Rare occasions na lang din sa akin.

Watch mo na ulit hehe.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Di ko naman matapos nabo-bore ako. Haha

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Yun lang hehe.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Thank you for sharing this book. I really want to read a book like this, if ever I have time.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I hope so too that you can find time to read :)

$ 0.00
1 year ago

A great book to read next! It's amazing and totally meaningful.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Lots of intriguing things :)

$ 0.00
1 year ago

For the first time there was no powercut in my place for the whole day and night, haha.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

That's great news. I hope it stays that way :)

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I am not a bookish person but I love to read some good and informative books. Thanks for mentioning about it, I hope when I have found time, then will read it.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

There are lots of information in this book but not sure how true for it is just a work of fiction.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Seems to be the next book I will look for. Im interested in freemason as I have a close family member who is one. Thanks for the share!!

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Interesting. Maybe he/she can confirm or deny what were stated in the book :)

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I have heard about Dan Brown alot but I have never read any of it books. I believed he mostly write in the thriller genre. I have only read James Hadley Chase works and I found them very thrilling too. I have watched the movie "angels and demons" and I think it's an adaptation of Dan Brown's work

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I'm not sure I have read Chase yet. That's sounds interesting too. Yes, the movie was controversial which made me read the book :D

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Mukhang maganda ung book at magking din ang writer dahil lahat ng nirereleased is pinag-uusapan tlga

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Oo din. Nakakaengganyo basahin.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

🤩

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Bihira lang talaga yung mga taong nagbabasa ng libro, dahil ngayon dependent na sa social media dun lahat nakababad pag walang ginagawa.pero kadalasan mahilig mag basa yung mga taong matatalino hahaha.mahilig sa history.ingat po sir may bagyo pa naman

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Oo in puro selpon na ngayon. Napupuyat nga ako kakapanood ng kung ano sa facebook madalas e lol!

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Sir lee di talaga mawala yung coffee sayo. 😊 Sarap din kasi ng coffee. Daming nagcocoffee. Palabasa ka pala sir lee.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Ou un talaga ang marami dito sa Baguio at mga kainan haha! Kunti lang kasi activities dito at pasyalan e. Siguro pag nagstay ka ng one week dito mapapasyalan mo na lahat na nandito sa city at ibang lugar outside ng city hehe. The rest puro cafe at restaurants na.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Ah kaya pala sir lee. Ganda naman pumunta sa Baguio. One of my bucketlist yan.

$ 0.00
1 year ago