Daguitan Kan Tangkib Eco-Village

38 76
Avatar for ARTicLEE
1 year ago
Topics: Travel, Trip, Culture, Museum, Ecovillage, ...

There is one museum that we went to during our road trip to the province of Kalinga. This is located in Patiking, Tabuk City.

According to what I can search about it online, this used to be a residential but now turned into agri-farm with mini museum especially for coffee and cacao. Here's an article I found published in SunStar. From what I understand, this belongs to Froilan Albert and family.

This was along the way going to our cousins who also live in Patiking. From Bulanao, we dropped by this place and checked out the little museum that they have.

Two swimming pools on both sides of the driveway can immediately be seen. When we were there, only the pool for kids is filled. The other deeper pool is still being filled with water. There is another pool higher up but that too is still being filled. All pools are supplied by spring water. Surely that is cool and refreshing. Perfect for a hot weather if you fancy it. The place is shaded with trees and other vegetation. They do have a few rooms that you can stay overnight if you want to.

From what little I could find online, the place offers free coffee but while we were there, we weren't offered any. I didn't know they do that. I'm sure they'll willing serve us then if we have asked. There are fees for entrance, day swim and/or overnight stay. Luckily for us, we were not charged for anything when we visited the museum. I guess just by visiting the museum there is no fee.

Aside from the traditional wooden houses in the property, what I noticed right away are the masks.

Some of these were part of the walls but most were displayed in the reception and the museum on walls and posts. They are dominant influenced by Chinese I think or maybe Japanese. There are more masks but I haven't photographed them all. Mostly are scary or mean. I guess to ward off the devil. I'm just assuming here. Whatever the purpose of these are, I still do like them. I like the dark crimson or mahogany hue the one on the top right.

The mini-museum is at the center of the property it seems.

Gongs of different sizes are hung. My brothers and cousins who know how to play did try them. I believe most of the handles are from animal bones.

These more traditional houses have nipa or anahaw as roofing. These are somewhat modernized because GI sheets have been used. Notice the mortar on the ground by the steps on the second photo. If my guess is right, that was carved out from a rock. I haven't noticed a pestle though. It must have been stored somewhere.

The most interesting things are those that are inside the museum. Some of these porcelains and potteries dates back to as far as 13th century. I really didn't expect to find such inside an unassuming house like this. You more commonly find them in houses of the rich.

These were passed on from generation to generation according to the family. Read here. This is in exchange for the woven fabric of the Kalingas. Back then, barter exchange is still the widely practiced form of trade.

Surely these porcelain costs a fortune.

These are housed at the ground floor of one of the houses. Upstairs are bare rooms. I'm guessing they are turned into guest rooms if need be.

Visiting the eco-village left me in awe of the treasures it holds - natural and man made. It's amazing that in the midst of the mountains, Chinese porcelains can be seen there stored intact for others to admire.

Whenever I'll be going back to Kalinga, I'll visit this place again. I felt there are more about this place that one needs to know.

25
$ 10.47
$ 9.50 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @emily2u
$ 0.05 from @Jane
+ 24
Sponsors of ARTicLEE
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for ARTicLEE
1 year ago
Topics: Travel, Trip, Culture, Museum, Ecovillage, ...

Comments

In my childhood I used to believe ghosts are nothing but after watching a lot of horror movies I am afraid of go to bathroom 😂 in night

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Lol! You and your imagination :D

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Ohhh I was amazed by the sizes of the gongs kuya Lee. Oarang ang ganda pasyalan dyan. Puro sanaol nalang ako nito lagi eh.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Maliliit un iba actually. Un Pinakauna ang malaki at mabigat.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

In my childhood time I bought mask to show afraid to others. hahaha But now I feel afraid about ghost.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Lol! I like masks but not statues or idols or clowns lol!

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I like those masks. My brother brought a mask like it to display it on door but my mom didn't allow him to display. And second thing you have write about gongs of different sizes you know what we call it we call it duff.... in our village it's tradition to play it on marriages and sing songs with it. House is just like a tree house and if you have watch Charlie Chaplin cartoon he has house like this hehehe i really like your museum trip.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I'll try to remember duff :D

I believe houses were like this in some places at some point :)

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Never visited any museum in my country before.but right now, I pray I visit a popular one outside my country one day

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I hope you get to visit the museums in your country too :)

$ 0.00
1 year ago

This is a good and lovely trip. I like visiting such places but the ones we have in our locality here have carved real idols🧖

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I hope you get to visit and share it here :)

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Di na nalalanta yung mga buto nang hayop pre?

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Di naman hehe.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Ang cocool nong Mask kaso scary aguyy 🤔

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Hehe panggulat tlaga.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I like the guitar 😁

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Me too! :D

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Nagmayat metten. I've never been to Kalinga, hoping to see the place one day. Manu oras byahe from LTB? thanks

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Mga 10 hours siguro or less depende jay ag drive hehe. 4-5 LTB to Bontoc, bontoc to buscalan 1 to 2 hrs, buscalan to tabuk 2 to 3 hrs,

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I see. Adayo gayam. Kasla kayat ko agbulakbol idiay hehe

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Wen ngay adu mapananan ngem agaadayo lang gamin hehe.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Wow, I love visiting museums. This place is really spectacular because it has several tourist attractions at the same time. And it is very good that to attract more tourists, visiting the museum and having coffee is free. I love its pools, because is shaded with trees and vegetation.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Maybe next time we will try their pools :D

$ 0.00
1 year ago

This place is not just for leisure time but also showcase different kinds of arts and natural handmade artwork.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

That indeed is true :)

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Such traditional houses are so good and refreshing. Sa mga province ka nalang talaga makaka experience ng ganyan eh.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Oo din at mga cultural villages gaya ng nandito sa city.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Makamiss tuloy manirahan sa bukid kuya kasi ganya yung vibes.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Ganda nga e. Kahit ganto lang ang property ko okay na hehe.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Wow so beautiful photos and art work. Sounds you’ve visited a nice area.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

It really is :)

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Perfect sa hot weather dyan, tapos overnight stay.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Kung may time pa kami, baka nag overnight na kami jan hehe.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Ang cute nung swimming pool.. nakaka relax naman dyan, simple lang pero relaxing ang vibes.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Ou tas spring water un tubig kaya refreshing :D

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I suddenly missed my old grandpa's home, ganyan ang style niya and ang presko lalo na kapag summer, just lay down in the wooden floor and have a good rest, then I could still smell in my head the Sampaguita from the altar they made inside the house.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Ganyan un house ang grandparents namin sa province kaso wala nakatira kaya ayun unti unti nasisira.

$ 0.00
1 year ago