Careful what you wish for

26 65
Avatar for ARTicLEE
1 year ago

Writing this as I listen to the rain outside falling hard. I planned on going out for a walk, a night walk for a change but the weather didn't agree it seems. So here I am drinking coffee, nay gulping cup by cup.

I browsed movies online trying to find something to watch and I came upon Hellraiser. According to Google:

A second adaptation of the 1986 novella The Hellbound Heart by Clive Barker, which served as the basis for his 1987 film Hellraiser, it is a reboot of the titular franchise and the eleventh installment overall.

Growing up, I have heard about this movie and have seen posters of it or trailers perhaps or I have watched a film or two even. I just can't remember. However, to me, just looking at the photos of the Pinhead made me think evil or the Devil itself. There is something very sinister about it.

Source

I mean, look at that.

I just found out that Jamie Clayton played the Pinhead. I first saw her in the series Sense8. She was transformed and I didn't recognize her in the movie.

As I was watching the film, it started slow building upon the character of the main lead. I like how the film make you want to keep watching and find out what will happen next. The actors played their part well and are convincing.

The pacing of the movie from start to finish had me glued to my seat.

I also like the Lament Configuration or the puzzle box that was used in the movie. I wonder if those sold online is legit such that it can be transformed into different forms.

Anyway, I am fascinated with the artistry that was put into the film from the box to the costume and make up. Grotesque, gory or sick they may seem but I still admire the creativity put into it.

Once again this movie reminds us that greed will only be our downfall.

One character has it all - wealth and power. He doesn't need anything else but he wanted more. Another character was an ordinary man just wanting to make more money. They teamed up together but because both don't know when to stop, they put themselves in harm's way.

It boils down to choices. What do you desire most in life? Knowledge? Power? Wealth? Free from suffering and pain? What are you willing to sacrifice to obtain those and at what cost? Would you sacrifice the lives of others or even yourself?

We don't know when to say no sometimes. Someone call it the itch that you would love to scratch it is so hard to ignore. Once you scratched you almost don't want to stop.

We are curious creatures which is a good thing but it can also be our end.

So the choice is ours. Make better choices. We all make mistakes but we are given the chance to start again.

Things don't seem what they are and dealing with the Devil is tricky. Be careful what you wish for. What you want will not be what you expected it to be.

What is your pain? your pleasure? Your pleasure can be your pain and vice versa.

Now the rain began anew. I thought it will stop already so here I am continually gulping my coffee cup by cup.

How is your weekend going so far?

27
$ 5.39
$ 4.38 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @rezoanulvibes
$ 0.05 from @gertu13
+ 23
Sponsors of ARTicLEE
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for ARTicLEE
1 year ago

Comments

Hmmm seems like another thing to add on my to watch list.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

It's good in a creepy kind of way :D

$ 0.00
1 year ago

For me it is quite dificult to choose between knowledge, power and wealth. As everything has its own functions and benefits. Inspired from this article I have started an article, discussing these three , I hope you will read it too

$ 0.00
1 year ago

We can choose all and hopefully use them properly well :)

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Naalala ko yung hellbound, parang napanuod ko na dati, bata pa yata ako non. Haha. Now ko lang nalaman yung hellraiser.

And yes, let's always make better choices!

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Oo nga e bata pa lang ako nakikita ko na yang Hellraiser.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

There is always opposite and equal results to what we are doing. If we done good we receive also good in return

$ 0.00
1 year ago

That's right. So keep doing good and spreading kindness :D

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I also like to drink freshly brewed coffee when it rains.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Definitely a good choice :D

$ 0.00
1 year ago

we are indeed free to choose but not free with the consequences...

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I agree. We should be ready for whatever consequences :D

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Greed leads to destruction at some point. If you know where to stop, you can prevent yourself from going too far and hold yourself accountable for your action. The thing is, we have a choice. And that can change our life. Thank you for sharing this.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

That's pretty insightful and you said it better than I did :D

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Hopefully the rain will stop, so you can go for a walk. It’s sunny here, so I’m considering going to the forest to pick some mushrooms 🍄

$ 0.00
1 year ago

So much rain but glad that today it stopped. I wish I could go mushroom hunting too :D

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Those words are said by mom, "careful what you wish... you might get it" (and maybe later if not as good as you thought or it's something bad for you or just you changed your mind...) so we have to have clear what we really want and wish. In the meantime we can enjoy watching the rain, here we were waiting for some rainy days but it's sunny as usual...

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Wise words from your mom and it's true. It applies to everyone and to every generation.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

That name and poster smells wicked, haha. Not for weak hearted people I guess.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Maybe but still depends on preference :D

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Familiar yong ilang poster. I think may pirated na cd nito ang mama kaso diko napanood, lol. Sounds interesting ha.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Familiar din ako sa mga pix pero hindi sa mga movies hehe.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Not all deserve a second chance kaya dapat careful tayo sa mga bagay na ating hinahangad at dapat andoon parin yung contentment dahil pag subra na nakakasama.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

True. Un iba talaga dahil sa previous experience ayaw na magbigay ng chance.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

What are desire most in life is good health, I believe with it every other things would work out for my own good. I so much dread all those age related ailments like hypertension, diabetes,stroke , arthritis etc, hence I'm afraid of old age. Lol

$ 0.00
1 year ago

We can be old without having to suffer such. Those are the accumulated effects from what we have done to our body. So take care of yourself better now :)

$ 0.00
1 year ago