Cafe Orilla at Camp Riverside

22 62
Avatar for ARTicLEE
2 years ago

This is another one of those unplanned plans that is surprisingly good experience. Earlier today we had a power outage so what better way to spend the day than to go outside.

The plan was to check an apartment and then meet an insurance agent as my partner is now interested in applying for an insurance. You can read more about that report here and some photos too. We really like the apartment unit. The environment is what we really wanted for it is quiet and there were lots of trees all around but transportation is a concern. We have until next month to decide. Our neighbors are becoming a nuisance where we stay now so we wanted a quieter place.

We passed by this cafe on our way to the apartment that we checked. We have been passing by this cafe on our walks before for this is one of the routes that we have been to. The last time we passed by this area, there is a road connecting from our place to this area. I'm not sure if that road is finished as we haven't revisited. If we had no plans next, we would have hiked that road.

Since it is nearing lunchtime anyway, we then checked Cafe Orilla and decided to eat there before heading back to the city center.

I didn't know that there is a cafe here. I am aware that there is Camp Riverside where it offers accommodation. We even planned checking in one of their units before, have a staycation one weekend. I thought these were the only units they have but there were also other units and huts available at the back of the property but we are here for the cafe.

The rooms for accommodation and the cafe reminds me of the tiny houses community. I was a bit hesitant as we approached the cafe thinking it is already full. I can see that the gazebo beside the main cafe is full. No staff approached us right away. I can see through the window inside the cafe that someone is sitting there. I can't see any other possible tables but I was wrong.

As we got closer, one of the staff assisted us and lead us to the back of the main cafe. I was surprised there was a dining area there. There were three tables and one is occupied.

We were seated and then given the menu with one of those things that has button which you press when you needed to call the attention of the staff. Once we have decided what to eat, we pressed a button and you can hear somewhere a ring and then a staff came out and took our orders.

While waiting, I took some photos. That's when I noticed another table below the gazebo. One has to go down a few steps to get there. Then I noticed a pathway that goes to the back of the property alongside the river and it goes up to the other huts and cabins.

If you notice the license plates above, those dates back as far as the 60s. That's the oldest that I noticed. Some are from our city and some from other countries.

Thai Chicken Satay with Peanut Sauce
Apple Pie ala Mode

We ordered chicken satay (bbq) which costs Php165.00 (about USD3.00). It has three sticks of skewered chicken breasts with peanut sauce, a cup of white rice and some sliced veggies. The chicken was delicious and flavorful. I have never had chicken as tasty as this. The creamy peanut sauce takes your taste to another level. The meat is tender too. Every bite is pleasurable.

I haven't had apple pie in a long time. There is only one cafe that I frequent before that I love their apple pie and I haven't been back there since pandemic. Cafe Orilla's apple pie has a vanilla ice cream on top with caramel sauce to top it off. The sweetness is just right. Everything about is just perfect for my taste that I ordered a second one.

A slice of this heaven costs Php110.00 (about USD2.00). It was all worth it. If their apple pie is this good, I wonder what their cakes taste like. That is something to try next time.

For drinks, I had pineapple juice and my partner had root beer. Usually, it would be the other way around but there are times like this.

It was a perfect meal and we are glad that we did try it. The sound of the river adds more to the senses making the dining experience enjoyable.

There was an avocado tree full of fruits which I was delighted by. I'm sure those will be served once they are ripe.

Aside from the license plates that I mentioned above, there were also wooden carvings placed around the cafe but what got my attention were the recycled lpg tanks. They were cut and/or painted and displayed around the property some even painted as minions.

There was also a vine growing on the arch at the gate which has flowers of an interesting color. It is my first time seeing such vine.

We went there not expecting much but came out fulfilled and wanting for more.

The cafe is of distance from the city center, about more or less 20 minutes travel. But for good food, we travel anywhere and everywhere just to eat the best.

I'm not sure if they accept cards or other method of payment other than cash for I forgot to ask.

They do have wifi so your stay there will surely be worthwhile. You can check their facebook page too.

Come and visit Cafe Orilla.

28
$ 14.84
$ 13.97 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.06 from @TheGuy
$ 0.06 from @Ling01
+ 22
Sponsors of ARTicLEE
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for ARTicLEE
2 years ago

Comments

Inggit much ako sa views at nagutom ako sa mga pa foods mo Lee ah.. bat ang pula ng kamay mo?

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Effect ng Snapseed un hehe.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

mukhang masarap nga yung food ah... nakapagblog ka naba about sa partner mo sir.heheh mukhang hindi pa noh?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Asideg kami idi dita hehe

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ang ganda nga po dyan mag unwind, nakakawala ng stress.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You have enjoyed good dishes here. I didn't expect this place so much beautiful. The idea of calling staff with pressing rings is really amazing

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yay, gusto ko dyan๐Ÿ˜ sa Irisan pala. Mkapunta nga minsan๐Ÿ˜

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You've succeded in making me to salivate as I was reading this. I think it's a good signal for me to give myself a good treat.

You mentioned avocado fruit, I love that fruit so much ๐Ÿ˜‹๐Ÿ˜‹

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Sounds like a place to visit if I was in the Philippines. Hehehe. But I am miles aways. I have this affinity for old places

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Wow! Those meals looks sumptuous to my eyes and I feel like taking a bite. These are amazing photos you took and the Cafe is really beautiful too. You can take a weekend to enjoy yourself with your partner and it would surely worth it which I believe.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Man I'm teased by those close-up shots, how will I sleep peacefully tonight? Also searching for a quieter place make sure there are other houses nearby, sometimes a bit of noise would be a good company. But that's completely your choice. Just my opinion.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

In the middle of the night ko palaga nabasa kuya kung asa ginising nito ang natutulog kong tyan hahaha. Miss ko yan mga trip mo kuya kasi feel ko nakapunta nako pagnagbabasa ako.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Uyy sarap naman magpunta jan Sir.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It's good to know that you and your partner enjoyed your visit at the cafe. Kami rin nag enjoy sa virtual tour.๐Ÿ˜Š

I think the name of that flower is jade vine. I saw one is Tagaytay and it is the the first time I saw flower like that. I think it only grows in a place with colder weather.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

OmG Mr potbelly really felt hungry seeing that chicken . I really wish to be there but it far from my destination I hope to be there in the future I will actually check their Facebook page out

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Haven't tried apple pie and even buko pie before. This is the first time I have read about how you love and approved of the main dish.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

That was a beautiful cafe, and that flower, OMG. I haven't seen a flower like that! One thing I miss being in Baguio is that crazy flowers just bloom everywhere while I was trying hard to keep my Korean chili alive lol.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It is an excellent article on your eating out. It reminds me of a long-ago eating pizza in a hill station called Sugadaira, far from Tokyo, in March 2002! We had watched how they cooked the pizza on a traditional woven with burning woods. With a long metal spade, the cook had put the pizza inside the woven.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

looks like an exciting cafe to visit... wonder when will i visit Baguio again hehehe

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oh to live in Baguio City. ๐Ÿฅบ I can imagine how nice your experienced was with the sound of the river. Hays. Kuya, your blogs about Baguio makes me wanna go there with someone in the future and explore the place more. ๐Ÿฅบโค๏ธ

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ang ganda ng place pati ung ambiance nya very relaxing,parang pang maharlika hehe at pati foods nakakatakam

$ 0.00
2 years ago

The place look so nice and I like the homey ambience. I visit cafe rarely, but if I have the money, I will explore more.

$ 0.00
2 years ago