The Sunbird That Pushed Me off a Cliff

42 283
Avatar for AA-Admiral
3 years ago

Can one tiny, little bird🐤 cause something big to happen?😲

Yes. Yes, it can.🔥

Here's how a small Sunbird pushed me off a cliff🤸‍♂️⛰️.

Image Captured and edited by: AA-Admiral

Me The Cliff, and the Sunbird

There I was, sitting on the edge of a cliff, wondering and worrying, torn between visions of dreams and future, my mind plagued by the monsters of indecision, worry, fear, and doubt.

Then seemingly from nowhere, I heard a sound.

A chirp.

A song.

Despite those awful creatures of trouble bothering me, I raised my head.

Photo of a male Sunbird. Credits: Wikipedia

I looked for the chirping song.

There I saw it.

The Sunbird.

It proceeded to chase those awful creatures of trouble away.

Then it landed next to me, on the set of mechanical wings that I have crafted.

The reason I was sitting on the cliff was I had a set of wings that I created.

It was paid for by a tiny, tiny amount of my blood, sweat, and tears, held in a bottle forged from both joy and pain.

But I am straying from the topic, and maybe I'll tell you about it some other time because for now, the little bird seems to be telling me something.

The Sunbird chirped... and cocked its head to one side, to stare at me with its black beady eye.

I don't know how exactly, but the bird told me to pick up my wings and wear it.

Its voice... I hear it in my thoughts somehow.

I said to the bird, "Will it be alright?" despite all the data telling me that my wings would work fine, I was still unsure.

The bird then flew from the top of my mechanical wings to the ground on the other side of me.

It then told me, "It's fine, you know this yourself, don't you? The only thing stopping yourself IS yourself."

I paused, seemingly provoked by the Sunbird's words, then I let out a sigh.

I said then to myself and to the Sunbird, "Ok, fine. Let's do this thing."

I stood up, picked up my wings, wore it, then secured it.

Then I turned to the Sunbird and asked, "Does it look good?"

It told me, "Well it does, but that's not what's important. The flying part is."

I chuckled, this bird has such dry humor.

The Sunbird flew from the ground to land on my shoulder, it then told me, "Go on, test it, spread it... good, now flap. Ok, now fold it again, and step to the edge."

I followed the Sunbird's instructions well enough as if it were my own thoughts, then I stepped forward to the edge of the cliff.

I peered over the edge, seeing nothing but endless fog.

The Sunbird said, "Now, let me tell you, flying is a wonderful thing, you can go places, experience and see things. You just have to step off the ledge, spread your wings and flap, feel the wind, experience life itself. Don't worry I'll guide you, but I can't carry you."

I smiled at the thought of such a small creature trying to carry a human. I said, "don't worry, you won't need to carry me."

So I stepped forward, and at the moment before I leaped, I suddenly turned my head and said "But what if..."

Suddenly, a creature of fear and doubt popped up a distance away and shot a black arrow from a bow, which buried into my chest, then the creature disappeared as fast as it appeared, turning into smoky shadows.

Alarmed the Sunbird flew up to chase it, but it was too late.

Already, the poison of fear and doubt was slowly spreading throughout my body.

I was frozen to the spot, my heart was seizing up, despite that, I could still understand the Sunbird talking to me.

The Sunbird flew in front of me and pecked once at the arrow lodged in my chest.

It broke off and turned into wispy black smoke when it landed on the ground.

The Sunbird calmly spoke to me, its calmness spreading through my mind. It was sort of soothing too.

"It's not too late, the arrowhead is still lodged inside you, but the only way to stop the poison from spreading, is a bit of my power which I can only use once we're both in the air... I'll have to push you, but it's now or never."

Just barely understanding​, frozen, teetering on the edge of a cliff.

The Sunbird pushed.

It was just such a light tap, barely noticeable but it was enough to send me toppling, wings folded, headfirst into the depths below.

With the wind screaming in my ears, I descended at a frightening rate, then I heard the Sunbird's voice in my head, "Spread it, flap your wings NOW!"

I shook my head, thoughts made clear by the single voice in my head. I unsteadily opened up my wings, the force of the wind tossing me this way and that, thankfully my wings didn't break.

I slowly got the hang of flying and began flapping and gliding, I smiled.

And as I flew more the coldness spreading through my chest slowly faded.

Laughing and gliding I turned to the Sunbird flying alongside me and said "Thank you, for helping me."

The Sunbird said, "I just helped you, look, now you can fly on your own."

While flying and feeling the wind on my face, I said, "Yes but, if you didn't push me I wouldn't have flown myself." I replied.

"You're wrong." The Sunbird stated.

Shocked and perplexed, I turned to look at the tiny creature flying alongside me. "What?" That was all I could manage to say.

It continued talking "you might have not noticed, with all that was happening a while ago, but I just told you that I would push you, when you heard that it was now or never, you stepped forward on your own just as I landed on your back."

As the Sunbird told me that, I slowly realized that what the Sunbird said was in fact true. I started to remember.

I looked as the Sunbird suddenly started flying in front of me, it said to me, "Did you really think that I would be able to push you? You had it in you all along... you knew you could, but just didn't have enough courage to leap."

The Sunbird pulled out a tiny gold feather from its chest with its beak. "Reach out your hand," it said to me.

Not knowing what would happen, I reached out with my right hand, and the Sunbird flew over the back of my hand and pecked at it.

"Ow, that hurt!" I said softly and looked at my hand, there was a tiny gold feather-looking mark on it. I looked at the Sunbird, now flying again alongside me for an explanation.

The Sunbird said to me while bobbing up and down. "The arrowhead of fear and doubt is still embedded in your chest, it will always be present, it will never go away. What you have to do is dig up the courage to suppress it. My feather will help you with that, anytime doubt might strike, just flap your wings, take action, and fear will cease to affect you."

The Sunbird continued talking, "I said I would push you, but I didn't. You stepped forward with your own feet, but always remember that others can continue to support you with their words. Friends, family, just remember and focus on the words that help."

I stayed silent while focusing on the words the Sunbird was telling me.

We flew across the sky as I remembered, thought more, and remembered some more.

Where this journey will take me, I cannot say for sure.

But what's important is that I have started to fly.

FIN.

What Did I Just Read?!

This is a mini-story inspired by an event that happened to me this year.📆

A metaphor, a symbol, an analogy of real life.💡

This is where I tell you about the series of events, which finally caused me to start writing and blogging on this website.📑

There have been many factors to consider in why I started just now. Others have been here long before me.👣

I have been watching from the sidelines for some time. I couldn't commit, not just yet.🔭

Many insecurities and doubts about my abilities might have been holding me back, among other things.🚧

But I must learn to brave the storm, to hold steady. To fly, to run, to continue forward.🏃‍♂️

And before writing this up, while getting lost as usual on the internet, I found myself reading an article that said: "Do. It. Now." So I did. I started writing what you are reading right now.✒️

This is important for me, putting my work out in public, despite my doubts. 🏙️

So I hope to start here and continue tomorrow, and the day after, and the week after, and so on.🌤️📅

This is the writing on the wall.📝

I hope you, dear reader, can see this and understand.🙇‍♂️

I wrote this for myself, and also for you.✍️

If there's something you want to do that would change something, for the better, do it. Because lost time can never be returned to you.⏳

I hope. I pray. and I believe.🙏

It's not too late.🌇

Do something today.💪

Inspirations?

This short story was inspired by a book I personally own:

The Birds Who Flew Beyond Time

[Goodreads Link]

and also by the writing style of Erin Morgenstern, Bestselling author of The Midnight Circus and The Starless Sea. These books are both wonderful and magical, go and check them out!

The 1st Monument. Kilometer Zero.

This article is my Kilometer Zero.🗽

This is where my journey starts and will do everything I can to not stop improving myself. 🛣️

This article is a monument and a testimony of this.

This website was a part of making it happen.

Join Me on My Journey!

If this story has reached you in any way, feel free to like it. 👍

And I also invite you to come and journey together with me to discover treasures, wonders, and awesome. Subscribe Now, and hop aboard on my space vessel 🚀anytime with @AA-Admiral ! ⚓

Any thoughts or reactions? Feel free to share them in the comment question, and I'll reply the best I can.

37
$ 13.71
$ 13.21 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.06 from @Grammarian
$ 0.05 from @Jane
+ 14
Sponsors of AA-Admiral
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for AA-Admiral
3 years ago

Comments

Wow. I like this so much. It's so inspiring! :)

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I love how you write. I will be waiting for more.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You're a good writer bro and with a vast imagination, I love the story, create more with it

$ 0.00
User's avatar Oz_
2 years ago

Omg! You are amazing! Seriously! I like the way the bird had told you about the things that simply mean we all had it in ourselves we just need to push put out the fear! Keep on writing more! ;)

$ 0.00
3 years ago

You have such us cool imagination and great writing skills bro.. My some friend able to write like you but a thing is i do not understand Everytime the deep meaning of some deep words

$ 0.00
2 years ago

very very important airticle. thank you

$ 0.00
3 years ago

This is very impressive brah... you really took your first time seriously. Keep it up.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Create more content. This is one great article to start :)

$ 0.00
3 years ago

many thanks 👍

i do intend to create more articles and focus on my writing skills📑

$ 0.00
3 years ago

This is great kababayan. Amazing content 👏🏼

$ 0.00
3 years ago

thanks for the compliment 😀

$ 0.00
3 years ago

You asked for feedback and oh my you are going to get it, ...... This is an amazing story, i was really engrossed into it and had such a lovely strong message that we could all listen to now every now and again, I think its one of those stories you have either had that moment or still need it to push you on for it.

Simply cant wait for more !!!

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I don't know what to say but that is a damn good story, my guy! proud kababayan here, I never thought that you my fellow Pinoy will create such a good story, I subscribe to you and looking forward to your soonest poems (cause its more likely a poem) and yeah goodluck to your journey here.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Good story, the bird has given you incredible inspiration for something a little deeper in our soul

$ 0.00
3 years ago

thanks dude. i hope others can be inspired from this short story 😉📖

$ 0.00
3 years ago

this is a great first post...and the bot likes it too!

the best measure is the number of comments you receive...well done!

$ 0.00
3 years ago

thanks to you too, as you have decided to stop by and read it too 🤓😅

$ 0.00
3 years ago

When life becomes gray and tasteless ,we all need something at that point of life.It works as an internal force.If I tell a glimpse of my story, when I failed some attempt in my life and lost my every hope than I found my mother beside me just like the bird in your story.

She kept me going. If I didn't find anyone beside me at that time, I wouldn't learn to fly with new aspirations just like you in the story. Loved the main theme of your story.

Maybe I didn't understand it properly, pardon my mistakes if guessed it wrong. Waiting to see more writing from you.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Guyyrfvhtrdsxhhyf crayll

$ 0.00
3 years ago

i once wrote a story based on a movie I watched. 😊 sometimes based on personal experiences. But I never tried something based on what I've read. oh wait, I think I've tried. But it was about 'The law of attraction' and I don't think I justified it. haha You did great.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

so, doubtful ka pa sa lagay na yan? I love the story, bagay yan sa mga taong walang kumpiyansa sa sarili, sa mga taong madameng gustong gawin pero takot sumugal.

san mo nabili,?heheheh

$ 0.00
3 years ago

thanks for the compliment po 😅

matagal na kasi akong parang tambay na walang magawa sa buhay, di alam kung saan patungo. 😢


anyway, yung libro po ba? yung inspiration ng kuwento na sinulat ko?

matagal na po binili ng nanay ko para sakin yan, galing pa yan ng malaysia eh haha. 😅

$ 0.00
3 years ago

May rson kung bakit binili sayo ni mother yan,hehehehe

yap, yun book, alangan naman yun bird,hahahaha, chos!

Wala pala yan dito sa Pinas, ganda pa naman ng kwento. continue mo yun kwento ha,aabangan ko...

$ 0.00
3 years ago

15 years na sakin tong librong ito hehe, may nakita ako sa amazon, kaso mahal pag shipping haha.

pero di bale baka sakaling may makitang ganyan kayo na libro dito sa pilipinas by chance 😅

https://www.amazon.com/Birds-Who-Flew-Beyond-Time/dp/1569579075

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thanks admiral! ❤

$ 0.00
3 years ago

This is absolutely beautiful story. If I'll be honest here, I thought the story would be a lot darker when I saw the title but I'm glad that it had a happy conclusion!

$ 0.00
3 years ago

yeah, many thanks, I read stories with tragic endings but i wouldn't want to go that route too often if i manage to write my own fiction book📖🤓

this was inspired actually by me spotting that bird near our house recently. 😀

this bird is sort of special for me and my family because we have a history of sunbirds building nests close to our house.

i will create an article about our past experiences later 👍

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Wow! That's amazing. You wrote it so good and I'm already a fan. I'm in! :)

$ 0.00
3 years ago

many many thanks po ateh @tired_momma 🤩

actually 3 days ko ginawa toh haha, on and off ang gawa kasi mejo busy.

pero sana mas maging efficient ako sa future💪

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Bravo, I haven't read a good story in a long time. The article is aesthetically well done.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

many many thanks to you. 😇 i plan to keep improving my skills as i continue forward.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Woaaah ang ganda ng kwento👏 motivational. The plot and order of your article is well-organized. Goodluck in chasing your dreams! Wanna join in chasing your dream hehe.


You have your own book? Published? Awesome bro!

$ 0.00
3 years ago

lol bro I didn't think you read it properly, i said:

"a book that i own"

not i book that i created or made lol😆

anyway thanks for reading and let's reach our dreams yeah! 🚀

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Oh sorry maybe I didn't understand it well. Lol. Mahina ako sa English😆

You are welcome. Hoping na tumagal pa si read.cash😄 Goodluck!

$ 0.00
3 years ago

bro keep reading english, matututo ka din.

also watch english movies. and PAY ATTENTION TO THE WAY THEY TALK, what words they use, and how they say it.

may nakilala nga ako dati sabi natuto daw ng english kakapanood lang ng anime na may subtitles lol 😆

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Hahaha yeah that's why I am speaking in English here even though I am talking on Filipinos, you know I'm practicing😆


Yeah bro my cousin is just 3years old and love watching Peppa pig, now she's speaking some English words with British accent😆

$ 0.00
3 years ago

BWAHAHA, i remember that news on TV, uhm was it jessica soho? i think?😆

a lot of kids here in PH🇵🇭 if they watch peppa pig they learn english with a hard british accent lol 😆

Mom-may, may I puh-lease, have some WAH-TAH? 💧 al-so may i have some MOH-re RAI-CE. hahahaha 😅

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Haha yes bro that's the advantage of technology but don't let children abused it. It can affect their health.


My cousin said "Mommeee" and then number "chriii" that is actually number 3 but she's pronouncing it as chriii hahaha (tsrii) you get it?😆

$ 0.00
3 years ago

the proper word is "abuse" not "abused" because that is a past tense.

also technology📺 is good, just with the right balance⚖️.


lol "chree" i thought what she would say is "chwee" lol, i must be mistaken. i guessed wrong. 😆

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Yes bro haha I told you I'm sucks in English😆 but I know that past tense. Maybe the keyboard is wrong lol hahaha. Yes keep balance.


Almost the same bro chwee and chree😆

$ 0.00
3 years ago

hahaha, yes, blame the keyboard lol. just kidding. that happens when the auto suggest is what you click. 👇

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Haha that's what always Filipino says when they are wrong. "That is because of keyboard"

$ 0.00
3 years ago