Order! Order in the brain

17 31
Avatar for zolabundance2
2 years ago

My head is wired in that it always seeks order around me. No, I wouldn't describe myself as obsessive-compulsive (OC).

For example, when I wash dishes, the spoons have to go in one utensil rack, the forks in another, and all others like knives and cooking utensils in another rack.

I'm really after efficiency.

It's so much easier to keep them after drying when they're already grouped together instead of things clattering as you sort them out while putting them in their proper places.

Organization = efficiency

I like systems that make it easier to complete a task. When I go to a shop to reproduce tons of printed material, the guys there are often embarrassed (but secretly glad) because I join them in collating all the sheets.

Doing that serves two purposes: I help them out since they're usually swamped with work, and I finish my errand faster. See? Efficiency.

It's very easy for me to step in where there's a ton of work that needs to be done when I can see a system in my head.

My brain always seeks how to make a production line for tasks that entail several steps. Whether I'm doing it alone or with others, a production line is usually efficient and time-saving.

Baptism of fire

I was 12 when I first organized our subdivision Christmas program. That means coming up with a line-up of activities, thinking of the games, asking neighbors for participation, conducting the games, and hosting the program.

It took about a week to put that all together. Was I nervous being assigned to do it? You bet! But I took it as a challenge, and swore I'd do my best to make it enjoyable for everyone.

Surprise everyone I did, especially the moms and dads. They probably thought I'd bungle my way through, but no... it was a roaring success. So pleased were they with the outcome that I ended up doing that for many, many more years.

It was a job no one wanted, or didn't know how to do. So why not assign it to me when I could do it myself?

And the only way I managed to organize such stuff was because of my ordered brain.

Going at it alone

In college, I recall one group project that required a presentation. Unlike today when there are videos and slides, this was to be a live presentation in front of the class.

I remember there were at least three of us in the group. But I ended up doing everything - from research, to making costumes and props, selecting appropriate music, and writing the script. And come presentation day, there was only two of us!

In truth I was ready to do the entire presentation myself, because I knew it like the back of my hand. I was so relieved that one of my group mates accepted one segment. The rest, though, I did myself.

As nerve-wracking as it was doing most everything alone, sweat trickling down my back and beading my forehead, it was a lot of fun and one of the most wildly applauded presentations.

Again, if I wasn't a stickler for order, I'd probably be bawling my eyes out because of a poor grade considering how uncooperative the other group members were.

Going pro

With exams just behind me on my final semester in college, one professor drafted me to serve in an international convention the Philippines was hosting that was happening in two weeks.

And there I was greeted by organized chaos. To survive in such situations, you need to be a fast learner, quick to pick up how things are done, resourceful, and ready to pick up slack any time.

My kind of workplace...

I did another international convention, so my training for organizing events was further honed. Then I progressed to organizing an international exhibition. That was an even bigger headache because of logistics.

But I thrived in such occasions. In my head, and with guidance from experts, I could streamline several steps to put things in order and come out with a successful event.

So other than writing, I knew I would be an effective organizer or administrator, and worked jobs that put these skills to good use.

So worth it

It helped that I am usually cool under pressure. Even when I crack, it's momentary and I can regroup quickly and figure out how to resolve issues and problems.

Heck, I've even organized and coordinated surprise birthday parties, weddings, reunions and seminars, where I had to deal with a hundred guests or more. As stressful as these can be, especially during the run-up to the actual event, the sense of fulfillment when you pull everything off successfully is so worth it.

As much as I can do a lot of things myself, I do need help and support for big events and know how to work well with a group of people, even with those I don't particularly like.

Needless to say, being around people who don't know how to organize things, schedules and themselves frustrates me, big time. I'd rather just do everything myself.

While I haven't done any big organizing in the recent past (except host a reunion), I know if ever there was a need or occasion for me to help out or step up, I think I'm still up to the challenge.

So grateful for my weird brain...

Images: Unsplash

12
$ 0.63
$ 0.10 from @FarmGirl
$ 0.10 from @carolinacardoza
$ 0.07 from @TheRandomRewarder
+ 7
Sponsors of zolabundance2
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for zolabundance2
2 years ago

Comments

Congratulations on that gift of being a good and disciplined event organizer.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Thank you. It truly is a gift...

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I'm organized and sometimes I'm not. Lol! How to be consistent in organizing po? Haha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I love order. I have taught my children a phrase from my grandmother that says: "Order is the main rule of heaven". In my life I think that if everything is in order, things go very well, they flow very fast, I love to work in clean and tidy places.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

My kind of gal!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Its awesome to have such a great mind for organizing . Its a big asset when it comes to finding work .Cause just like what you mentioned , you have already organized various events.๐Ÿ˜ŠGreat job there.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Thanks for the visit! Yes, it's something to sell myself with when looking for a job. hehe

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I like people who have magic just like you. I'm one who is very slow in organizing things especially when there are a lot of things to be done and there are a lot of people involved!

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Yes, that's where the challenge lies... It might help if you take some time to write things down - what needs doing, what needs to be prioritized, identify people and their strengths or skills and assign them where, or something like that.

I don't really know how my brain ended up this way, a lot of it is just instinctive. Maybe I could help if I knew what needs to be done...๐Ÿ˜‰

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It's your gift! Thanks for the tips you mentioned! I need those. I have to practice the basics at least. But I console myself that I have my own talent so I won't feel frustrated. Haha. My table right now is a mess!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes, I mess that up, too. But I give myself a mental slap and put things in order! hahaha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I like the aura your article brings! Your brain is weird in the good sense :) Not many people can pull off those that you do, myself included, except for that organization thing. I like everything in order too.

The very challenge an 'efficient' person needs to work out is the urge to do everything just because the others are kind of disorganized :) I kind of know that feeling too :)

$ 0.02
2 years ago

First, thanks for the read and upvote!

Second, yes there is that urge... and I sometimes want to just ignore the disorder around me. But when it comes to things that need to be worked out because it could affect so many other stuff, I can't help myself. hihihi

$ 0.00
2 years ago

My pleasure :) Haha, it's understandable, especially when things are urgent. I feel itchy and anxious when things or work are not in order or messy :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I feel yah!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

What a blessing it is to have an ordered brain. I do like systems, but I'm not sure if I can do large scale ones.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Yes, it can be quite overwhelming to handle situations or events on a big scale, and terrifying. But I am just truly grateful to have been blessed with the ability, and that I've been able to use it for good, and to help out.

Thanks for the upvote, as always!

$ 0.00
2 years ago