A little hair story

18 52
Avatar for zolabundance2
2 years ago
Topics: Home, Experiences

For several years, I was getting my haircut from a barber. Yes, a barber at a barbershop. On a few occasions, we had him over at the house to do home service for three guys and myself.

See, I have mostly worn my hair short. As in almost guy short and I prefer a barber's cut, which means cleaning my nape, including some shaving, and leaving my ears exposed.

I prefer this kind of haircut for practical reasons. First, it saves time washing my hair, and using a lot of shampoo. With short hair, I can use a sachet of shampoo for two to three washes. If my hair were up to my shoulders or even longer, I'd use a whole sachet or even more.

Second, I've previously mentioned that I sweat a lot. And it usually forms along my hairline just above the nape. With long hair, it's almost like I have wet hair all the time since my hair type is oily. If I wore my hair long, I constantly have to wipe it dry when I am working on an extremely hot day, or when I'm puttering in the kitchen.

Third, with very short hair, I simply need to run my fingers and voila, I look neat even after getting out of bed. Or, I just need a stroke or two of a brush and I'm good to go. Besides, it's way easier to dry short hair - just rub it with a towel, brush it with your fingers beside a fan and you're done.

And fourth, it was way, way cheaper to get a haircut from a barber than at a salon. For a while, I was paying less than a hundred pesos ($2) to get a trim from the barber. It would cost me twice that at a salon. Besides, I didn't really need my hair blown dry after because I will still take a bath when I get home.

Customers at the barbershop were a bit weirded out seeing me seated there and Barber Gerry snipping away with his huge pair of scissors. It doesn't take long for them to figure out I was not a guy. Although it is more common for men to get their haircut at a salon, that's not the case for women and barbershops.

I mostly went in right after the shop opened so I would either be first or among the first. A nephew or my Dad would be with me for their turn. This way, there would be less clients to be taken aback by my presence.

Besides, I loved the feel of snipping with a seven or eight-inch scissor running through my scalp to clean out any small hair sticking out. And even the feel of the razor as it slides through my nape and near my ears.

I know, I am weird.

There was a time when I didn't get my haircut for three or more months, so when I stepped inside the barbershop, it was quite long. Boy was there a lot of hair to sweep after my turn. And of course, it took my barber a bit longer to clean me up. Once he was done, I felt so refreshed because my nape was exposed and I could feel cool wind brush against it.

And one other thing I liked about barbershops? I could get a haircut in peace. As in no chitchat with the barber, unlike in a salon where a gay or lady hairdresser would engage in small talk. And with my premature graying hair, they loved to convince me to dye my hair. Heavens, no!

Unfortunately, even pre-pandemic, the barbershop had to close. The area where it was located burned down. And they were displaced. Neither could we contact Barber Gerry to have him come by the house for home service.

So now, I get my haircut from a gay hairdresser, who has always done my mother's hair. She comes by the house, even before the pandemic, and to make it worth her while, two or more of us would get a haircut.

She knows how I like my hair cut, and since she also does men's hair in the salon it's almost like having a barber do it. And she knows me well enough to not offer coloring my hair.

Yeah, we chat. Being friendly with her is the least I can do to show my appreciation. I don't have to head to their parlor, and besides, it's helping her because instead of splitting the cost of haircut with the parlor, she can pocket the whole amount we pay.

I like haircuts in general because having someone comb my hair or run scissors through it is very relaxing for me. Too bad it can't be done longer because my hair is short. A haircut for me is like getting a massage, so I thoroughly enjoy it.

And unlike when I was younger and would end up with a bad or unsatisfying haircut because different hairdressers handled my hair, I've found people I can trust, who know exactly what I want.

Cheapest haircuts

So, how did I end up writing about haircuts? I caught an FB post saying the Philippines was among the countries with the cheapest haircuts. It's the third cheapest in the world, with Argentina and Zambia in first and second place, respectively.

Even relatives from America would get their haircut here when they visited because it is exactly that - cheap! Even if you have to give a tip.

In fact, I end up paying more because of the tip. But it doesn't matter, especially at the barbershop, because the service was already inexpensive.

And just for reference, Denmark offers the most expensive haircuts at $75, with Norway coming in second ($72) and USA at third, with a haircut costing $69.

So, I think I have a pretty good deal, yeah? And home service, too!

Images from Unsplash

13
$ 5.62
$ 5.49 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @gertu13
$ 0.05 from @ZehraSky
+ 1
Sponsors of zolabundance2
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for zolabundance2
2 years ago
Topics: Home, Experiences

Comments

Me encantaría mi hijo se cortara el cabello tiene 18 años y desde los 16 no se lo corta lo tiene largo a media espalda. Dise que ha echo promesa ufff en fin espero que la termine pronto así se corta esa melena

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Dise que ha echo promesa ufff en fin espero que la termine pronto así se corta esa melena

Wow! A two-year-old hair... that must be quite long already. I don't know if it is easier to cut long hair by yourself, or have someone do it so the cut hair can be preserved. Whatever he decides, I hope it will turn out the best to make him look good. Thank you for visiting me, and for sharing this.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I also like having short hair. But since 4 years ago I cut it myself. My hair is very straight and it's easy to cut and any way I do it they always don't notice I do it myself. lol.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

How ever do you do that? I envy you! My hair grows wavy when it gets long, and I usually have it layered. I would love to learn to cut someone's hair but am afraid I'd do a really bad job and they get mad at me. HAHAHA!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I don't know how I do it. I think I got annoyed with the hairdressers who never do the haircut I ask them to do. So one day I decided to just cut my hair and that's it, that's it. Now I do it all the time. lol.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Amazing! It was channeling the negative into something very positive.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It is good that we can find good service and economy. I congratulate you because you found both. And I also congratulate you for not dyeing your hair. There is nothing better than being natural. Greetings friend.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes, it took a while to find the perfect fit, so to speak, when it comes to hairdressers. I pray it will be a long relationship. A good day to you!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I agree with you.. having short hair is convenient for me as well. Dyeing short hair is cheaper too.

I remember I bought my own razor so I can trim my undercut hair.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Wow, working the razor yourself! That is awesome.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

hahaha... Here in some cities in Venezuela we could have a haircut for 2$. I had to change barber after the pandemic because of the restrictions. It was the best thing. My new barber lives two blocks from my house and for an extra dollar he also shaves my beard. So with the 3$ I pay I guess we are among the cheapest in the world. Good post. Thank you.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes, always good when we find service that gives us value for our money. Thank you for the visit.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hehhe, Here in the Philippines we almost Pay 1$, I was shocked reading that the most expensive haircut is cost 75$

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes, it's mind-boggling how expensive it is when you can go to a corner barberya and pay 40 o 50 pesos for a haircut.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Heheh i also dont like being chatted up by salon folks. But you kinda know when they are up for short convo just to have a talk and not sell you some service or product. Ah my hair grows slowly .. unlike before that i have different hair cuts every 3 moths. I think thats part of getting old. I don't think i can have my hair cut really short though I envy all the hassle-free points you mentioned above ahha.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

My hair grows kinda fast because of the sweating. So, a month and a half or even a month is okay, especially during the summer. I don't think I can live with long hair now, even when I'm growing older.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I get that feeling of getting a bad haircut and you just cant say anything because you are shy lol, its not like complaining will get the hair back!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yeah, so true!!! hahaha

$ 0.00
2 years ago