Grow As A Writer

8 56
Avatar for zheanders
1 year ago
Topics: Grow, Writer, Write, Growth, Passion, ...
Image from Wallpaperaccess

If you're like me, you love to write. You've got a fantastic story in your head and you want to get it out there so everyone can read it and be inspired by your words.

But at the same time, you're wondering: "How do I start? What should I write about? How do I get started?"

Is there a magic formula that gets things off the ground? Are there shortcuts for writers? Is there some secret way to make writing effortless, fun, and easy? For many people, writing comes pretty naturally. That's great! If you're in that camp, you're lucky. But for many others, writing can feel like a slog—something you have to do because it's necessary, not because it's fun.

You may have heard people say "she's a natural" or "I just don't have the knack for it." But what if I told you that writing is not like being born a natural singer or dancer? What if I told you that it's more like playing basketball, a skill that can be greatly improved over time with focused practice and an eye for detail? It's easy to think of writing as something you're either born with or not. But I'm here to tell you that writing is something you can practice, improve upon, and get better at over time.

The truth is, whether or not you were born with the ability to write does not matter. What matters is how much work you put into improving yourself and your skills. The more time you spend practicing, the better a writer you will become.

Image from DepositPhotos

When I was in middle school, I thought writing was just a box to check before I got my grade. It wasn't until high school that I started to see how important good writing really is. The best part about writing? It's an art form that anyone can practice, regardless of talent or skill level. If you're looking for ways to improve your own writing, a great place to start is by reading! It's amazing the things we can pick up from reading other writers' work: everything from sentence structure and word choice to voice and tone.

We're all born with our unique strengths and weaknesses, which is great because it means we each have our own special way of seeing the world. The thing is, though, that these strengths and weaknesses are not set in stone. In fact, we can get better at things that don't come naturally to us.

This is good news if you're not a natural writer! Maybe you get flustered or bored when you have to write something, or maybe you just can't seem to find the right words to communicate your ideas. Writing isn't something that comes easily to everyone, but I'm here to tell you it's something you CAN learn how to do with time and practice—and it's something that will make all aspects of your life easier and more enjoyable.

It's true! If you learn how to write effectively, this skill will improve every aspect of your life—from your career potential to your relationships. You'll be able to share your opinions in a thoughtful way and field other people's ideas without getting defensive. You'll be better at communicating with colleagues, clients, friends, family members, and anyone else who crosses your path. And most importantly: YOU'LL BE ABLE TO WRITE YOUR OWN STORY.

Image from Wordpress at UD

Like any skill, writing takes practice and persistence. You won't get better overnight; but if you dedicate yourself to learning and improving over time, there's no limit to what you can accomplish as a writer.

Keep writing. Keep reading. Experiment with different styles and genres until you find the niche where you feel your writings can be the most meaningful. The best writers aren't the ones that know all of the right words and styles—they're the ones that know how to use them. But perhaps most importantly, they're the ones that don't give up.


Sponsors of zheanders
empty
empty
empty

4
$ 2.84
$ 2.82 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.01 from @Mictorrani
$ 0.01 from @spok
Avatar for zheanders
1 year ago
Topics: Grow, Writer, Write, Growth, Passion, ...

Comments

Thumbs up for writing about such interesting topics. I'm enjoying your writings.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Wow! Thank you very much for appreciating my works♥️

$ 0.00
1 year ago

You're welcome!

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I love writing so much that I'm now working on a book ! Even though I'm not sure how the storyline will evolve so I'd just lie back and wait for some divine inspiration to come. Believe it or not, my best writings tend to happen during moments of profound sadness.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

You are very lucky to have such an outlet for your creativity. I wish I could write a book, but I'm too busy with school and don't have the time to do so. When I do have time off, it's usually spent with my family or friends.

I agree that sadness can be a good place to get inspired. There were many times when I was depressed that my creativity would flow freely. It was like everything around me was just waiting for me to put into words, and then it all came together so easily!

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I love writing, sometimes I encountered authors block but when I started to write, I started to get new ideas.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Thanks for sharing! I agree that when you deal with a block, it helps to just start writing. Even if whatever you're writing isn't going to make it into the final draft, getting words on the page is a great way to get your brain moving and figure out what actually works (and what doesn't).

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Yes hehe that's also what I thought ..

$ 0.00
1 year ago