Tilapia:Is it harmful more than beneficial?

28 43
Avatar for z_graeden
3 years ago

When we were little, we have our maternal grandfather who used to buy us things like biscuits,some toys, and some clothes.Since life back then was hard unlike today where one need not to go far out of the village to look for a living to provide daily necessities of the family.

Our grandfather has a monthly pension which he used to buy the little things for our priceless joy.One among the things he liked to bring home was the tilapia. Since its more cheaper than that of milk fish which he also bought sometimes, tastier and less fishy,and lesser bones which is more child friendly for a meal.

He would usually cooked it in an earthen pot over firewood or charcoal.And would fill the pot with "sabeng"-a sour liquid out from fermented sweet potato or cassava.We eat heartily everytime our grandfather would cook us fish.

However, I learned that tilapia is more harmful to our health than that of bacon. It is widely farmed all over the world over crowded fish pens,making them prone to diseases.Thus, farm owners use antibiotics and pesticides to treat them.These may be beneficial to the fish but poses danger to the human body.

Tilapia contains protein which is filled with vitamins and minerals.However,its fat content is more non beneficial. It contains omega 3 fatty acids which is beneficial to ones health as it lowers blood pressure,reduce blood cholesterol, and it boosts the immune system.It also helps prevent arthritis, depression, and even cancer.Omega 3 fatty acid is also known for its benefits in heart health.

It also contains omega 6 fatty acids which is also needed in the body.However it contains more omega 6 than that of omega 3.The normal ratio of omega 6 to omega 3 is 2:4.This clearly implies the danger of tilapia to our health as it is a trigger agent of inflammatory conditions in our body, asthma and arthritis for example..

When I have learned about this before, never did I bought and serve it to my kids unless it came from our community.But I seldomly buy this kind. If I like fish then their are other options unless it was already bought by my husband. Nevertheless, it leads me and him to argue about why it's unhealthy. I usually buy the milk fish or galunggong which is commonly delivered in our area as other sea foods are too expensive.

Tilapia is also being farmed here in our area, and it is fed by store bought fish feeds and others also feed it with some grass which makes one not to worry much. We have lots of fresh water sources that are not polluted and fish pens are not too crowded so its safe,I think to consume this locally grown ones. Unlike other areas, they say that this kind of fish is fed with chicken dung and pig manure.

Is tilapia grown in your area?How was water supply and their food source?Are you confident enough to eat this kind of fish without knowing where it was grown? Or you just love eating it?

Sponsors of z_graeden
empty
empty
empty

hit like,comment out your thoughts and subscribe

8
$ 0.00
Sponsors of z_graeden
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for z_graeden
3 years ago

Comments

Favorite ko pa naman ang tilapia!!

$ 0.00
3 years ago

ok lng as long as not frequently..

$ 0.00
3 years ago

ok lng as long as not frequently..

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I have seen it but never eaten it.what do you suggest.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I hopw you read it and know it yourself. coz I don't know also what to suggest since I already published the pros and cons of it..

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Nice But I dont Eat Tilapia

$ 0.00
3 years ago

it has harmful effect to our health din ksi

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Ahh ganun poba yun

$ 0.00
3 years ago

oh I see, you havent read it

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Ok

$ 0.00
3 years ago

nice article....💙🧡💛

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I don't like tilapia po, i prefer milkfish n gigi, tambakol or hasa-hasa or matang baka po,

$ 0.00
3 years ago

thats good.. am also not serving it to my kids since I learned about this

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Yes po, ms mabuti na po na ng iingat po sa mga kinakaing pagkain po pra maiwasan po ang sakit

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Maybe this is the reason why I got my arthritis? Because I ate tilapia before lol. Too much consumption of a certain food has side effects not unless it is veggies and fruits.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

yeah maybe so.. it has lots of omega 6 than omega 3 which makes the ratio bad..

$ 0.00
3 years ago

All of your articles are really very informative and educative. I learned a lot of things through your articles ❤

$ 0.00
3 years ago

thank you,, you also are an inspiration to others here😊

$ 0.00
3 years ago

We eat tilapia but moderately we preferred galunggung and bangus,

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I only buy when tilapia was grown in our own village.. and yes I also prefer bangus and galunggong, I just have to be patient to clean off the bones properly before serving it to my kids

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I stopped eating commercial tilapia as soon as i learned about it also.. We have farm grown in here so nothing to worry about if i crave for it somehow.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

the locally grown is free from antibiotics and pesticides.. but their Omega 6 content is still high..thats why I never really added it on my list.. maybe we consume it once in a year😁

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I just recently learned this when mama told me about it. Fishes came from fresh waters have higher chances of getting diseases than those found in seas. It's still our favorite though but we eat it in moderation 😅

$ 0.00
3 years ago

better buy those that are locally grown then😊

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I love tilapia😋

$ 0.00
3 years ago

if its locally grown in your area wherein you know that it came from a good breeding place then it is better

$ 0.00
3 years ago

If it's not?

$ 0.00
3 years ago

you never knew what they fed it.. as the article states that they sometimes feed them with chicken or pig's manure..they are treated with pesticides and antibiotics as they can survive in overly crowded pens thus, they are prone to disease and needs to be fed with antibiotics

$ 0.00
3 years ago