My Mom's Blooms

6 37
Avatar for z_graeden
2 years ago

I was so inactive the past days due to our sickness. Nonetheless, we're all better by now. As much as I wanted to write something, ideas can't just seem to pop out from my coconut shell. As a result, I ended up scrolling down Facebook and looking for something I can sell online. HT boxes are on trend and I wanted to try it. However, prices in our town are just so unimaginable, it's so expensive compared when I will be purchasing from the city.

I disregard the thought and just think of something to write but nothing really comes to mind.

I scrolled on my gallery and found pictures of my mother's flowers. She had been collecting them when the pandemic was on its peak on 2020. I took clicks on them last December though I don't have knack on taking shots.

My mother became addicted on these flowers and ornamental plants that sometimes my dad needs to remind her that it was already late morning or nearly evening for her to feeds their pigs. She spends more time on checking every leaf for aphids, and caterpillars, watering them and preparing pots with the needed soil and compose then transferring splits that needed to be transferred to another pot. It was just so time consuming. Sadly her plants weren't in an organized manner. It was because their house was still not done from construction of the outside veranda.

Every time we go at their place to visit, we can't help but admire the colorful blooms that compliment the green rice fields around. It doesn't only sooth the soul but relieves tired mind and body.

This cymbidium here is the yellow variety that has vibrant yellow flowers. There are other varities of cymbidium but this was the only one in bloom. It has a very sweet and fragrant smell that's long lasting. It's flowers doesn't also wilt easily.

Cymbidium is expensive especially when you buy those already well established. It depends on how many splits you're buying and the number of spikes it has. (A crab cactus hanging above it).

Bougainvillea is also trending that it comes with different varieties. These were just one of the common ones, I think.

Crab cacti also making their name on social media. That those rare varieties are being sold expensive. However, they don't like to be place under direct sunlight but on shady parts. ( I wasn't able to take photos of these cacti.)

These are just some of the flowers that I don't know. They're not that expensive but all in all, they're beautiful.

Actually, this one here is a wild fruit. It's like small pellets with a purplish-pink color. I don't know if the change in habitat made it light pink. My mom's chicken loved to peck on its fruit.

One of my favourites are these. I don't know what's the above one called while the lower is a vanda. It has long lasting blooms that adds life inside and out the house.

The only roses there is left when she decided to sell the other varieties with multiple colors. She thought that she will be able to purchase some more but it was the contrary when our cousin didn't send her another batch due to mishandling. There's also a maroon colored native rose which blooms many and continually. However, it doesn't have any fragrance at all.

Mother also has different varieties of caladium which she kept checking. It's because caterpillars love to munch on its leaves that make them fat and healthy and on the contrary making those caladium look haunted and ugly.

And, uhhhm. Yeah, this one I forgot the name. My mom's fave actually. She spent some good amount to buy online and outside of our province to get this. She gave me one but am so lazy on the process of how to make it bloom. Because it won't just bloom on it's own without fixing soil, small stones, compose/ manure and others accordingly in a pot. It's a lot of work.

My mother has lots of ornamental plants around the house which I am not able to take shots. It is also one of her stress reliever. One time during lockdown, together with my father, they went to hike the mountains and creeks to look for wild flowers. I again encouraged them to go for a mountain trek when they were too stressed from the conflict about the lot before. But they declined because of their arthritis. But then, they engaged themselves in cultivating and propagating their flowers.

Indeed, flowers and plants has healing factors that can cure a weary soul and mind. It doesn't only beautify our homes and surroundings, it also help in cleaning the air we breathe.

1-26-22

Z_Graeden

3
$ 15.14
$ 14.88 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @Jane
$ 0.05 from @Ruffa
+ 3
Sponsors of z_graeden
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for z_graeden
2 years ago

Comments

Wow! Ang gaganda lahat.. your mom is a green thumb sis ang lulusog mga halaman nya..

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ang gaganda lang nila 🤩🤩 yong pagkagising sa umaga itong magagandamg ito agad ang bunga nakaka ganda ng umaga for sure 🤩

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Napaka stress reliever ng mga plants talaga hihi

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Gaganda. Oi mahal ng orchid dto haha..

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ahhh ang gaganda ng flowers sobrang kaka gaan ng loob😊❤️

Ano pong HT box?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thanks charl...Hard toys sis😁...

$ 0.00
2 years ago