Breastfeeding and Formula

27 49
Avatar for z_graeden
3 years ago

This brings up discussion sometimes among mothers when it comes to how or what is best to feed their little ones.Whichever among the two,its mommy's choice and whatever it is mom's need help, for any of the two is exhausting at times.However,as a full time mother of 3 beautiful kids Im gonna share my experience on this so called journey of motherhood on childrearing.

I have breast fed all my babies after giving birth and I would say Im blessed that unlike what other new moms face is the absence of breast milk right after birthing,I have plenty.And I was able to give the mostly needed nutrient for all my babies during those time I gave to each of them,the collostrum.We all know that this thick, yellowish milk substance is full of nutrients and antibodies which is essential in boosting the newborn's low resistance against antigens.Hence,being able to give this to my babies is grace.

But unfortunately my first born was sickly not until he was more than 6 years old.On his second month,he would frequently catched colds and cough despite being provided with vitamins.Though I'm suffering from mastitis,cracked and sore nipples during the first two months I patiently breast fed my baby for I know the benefits.I did not give up despite the sleepless nights,body aches, flu like pains and bleeding,painful nipples.Still I manage to feed my baby who's always looking for his "dede" even if Im crying while feeding due to the burning pain one can't bear.Imagine your skin being slowly peeled off,thats the severity of the pain.Yet for the sole purpose of providing your lo with the most nutritious food you can offer,a mothers love and endurance would conquer all.

At more than 2 months,my cracked nipples were slowly healing.Body pains begun to subside and Im beginning to enjoy breast feeding my baby.But,still my baby's health not improving.Frequent check-ups and changes in prescribed antibiotics is what I guessed that led him to refuse to be fed.No matter how I tried,he would turn away his head everytime I feed him.This made us buy a manually pressed breast pump and a feeding bottle.At first there's an ample amount of milk I collected.I would not give it immediately to the baby,I'll try to give him my breast to encourage him to latch but everytime I do he always moved his face away.That I need to give him his bottle with pumped breast milk.

Slowly my milk supply begun to decrease,not enough to feed him 24 hours.I did not stop trying to make him latch but to no avail,we need to buy formula milk.So there, I fed him formula during the day and breast milk at night,until one day not a single drop was collected nor a drop that the baby would latch on at night.So that when he reached age 4 months he was already pure formula feeding.It was the time he was first hospitalized due to severe cough with fever,though he was on antibiotics.

Just as the doctor said he needs to be admitted I felt my body gone weak,Im going to faint but I fought the feeling.The thought of needle being injected to this tiny baby was unbearable,I tried to fight back the tears thats forcing its way out of my eyes and I did.

One morning during the doctors round she noticed the formula milk and other paraphernalias for bottle feeding are overcrowding our hospital bedside table and ask why I dont breastfeed my baby.Upon learning the reason,she encouraged me to try make him latch back as it would bring back the supply of milk from my breast.However I tried,my baby really refused to latch.

Having my baby hospitalized 2 to 4 times in a month made me not only physically drained but mentally and emetionally stressed out,depression strikes.Sleepless nights due to countless waking up to prepare milk at night and hospital stays are the worst.There was a time I thought I woke up already and making milk for I heard baby crying but it was only a thought until my husband finally woke me up.I always tell myself,I can endure this sleepless nights and expensive formula but please stay healthy,baby.Its too much to bear.This went for more than 2 years..

image from pixabay

He's improving and the number of times my son got hospitalized in a month reduced.until he was 5,the last time he was admitted to the hospital.Now that he's 7,though he's thin but at least he is healthy.

The second time I experience formula feeding was with my daughter,my first born was 3 year old when I got pregnant again..Mix emotions,the thought of having a sickly baby still lingers.But I tried to shrugged it off and tell myself that every child is different.Like my son,when i gave birth to my second baby there's plenty of milk supply from me.Not until she reached 5 months that the supply of milk began to decrease.No matter she latched on and me consuming lots of stew to be able to produce breast milk but it just dried up like that..We need to introduce formula to her.Luckily,there's no issue when we tried to give her a cheaper one..Unlike her brother,she is healthy and much bigger than her kuya when he's her age.

This time I have a 15 month old baby boy and still on pure breastfeed.There were times during his 3rd to 7th month when his milk is very little to none no matter how I drink lots of water and chocomilk,and consuming lots of sabaw,little it really was.I would sometimes bring him to our neighbor,my distant cousin and friend who has a breastfeeding baby older than mine and she would feed him on her breast.Thanks to her.

Up until now,there's generous amount of milk I need not to worry anymore.I can sleep soundly at night and no need to wake up during the wee hours to prepare milk,I would just give him his dede everytime he wakes..He's much healthier,and does not catch colds easily.I will be breastfeeding him until he turns two if milk supply would not diminish.

Im not saying that formula feeding makes babies sickly,of course not.One baby is different from the other..Thus, I must say that breastmilk is the best for babies.

Momshies,how's your breastfeeding or formula feeding journey was/is?

credits to pixabay for free images

like,comment out your thoughts

@z_graeden

9
$ 2.31
$ 2.31 from @TheRandomRewarder
Sponsors of z_graeden
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for z_graeden
3 years ago

Comments

I remember a joke I've read a long time ago. It says if a child lived on breastmilk as a baby he/she is more likely to be closer to his/her mom when he grows old, but if a child lived on formula and bottle milk as a baby, he/she is more likely to be closer to bottles when he grows old - bottle of GSM, bottle of Redhorse, bottle of Wine, bottle of emperador 😂 haha that was hilarious but it somehow makes sense a bit😅 Anyways, kudos to moms out there who gives breast milk for their babies, I know it requires patience and effort (specially the sleepless nights just to feed their babies)

$ 0.00
3 years ago

it requires more sleepless and effort that causes tiresome,restless days pala in formula feeding lalo na pag walang katulong sa pagtitimpla ng gatas..

about the joke wala aqng narinig na ganun jeje, unstead asal baka daw ang bata paglaki pag formula fed.pero nkadepende nMan ata un sa rearing

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I salute mothers who sacrificed their comforts to sleepless nights. Their well shaped body to a semi hanged over new fashion just to yake care of your babies, keep it up!

$ 0.00
3 years ago

thank you.. all mothers do nman po,

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I salute you mom for enduring the pain.I felt the pain during my first 3 days of my firstborn. I need to keep my eyes shut and my palms form a fist when she started to suck in my nipples. But after that, I feel my body relax again. That went on for 3 days. The following days are better and became normal, I even liked it when she feeds, I feel some excitement I don't understand. 2nd to the 5th child I don't feel any pain but my last child was the worst when my nipples became sensitive. It's easily hurt and a thin line of wound forms that is so painful when my baby sucks her milk. But fortunately, I managed it till her 2 years of age.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

It really feels good to have them latch and suck out the precious food.It's good that you only endured the pain of sore nipples for 3 days with your first born. Even if having sore nipples from time time due to them biting while feeding but it's worth it. I only felt,I was a little more worthy having breastfeeding my baby now than when I was formula feeding my 2 kids before

$ 0.00
3 years ago

This why i never want to have kids XD i don't want to worty this much yet

$ 0.00
3 years ago

when you have a supportive husband by your side makes it much easier,especially when one is suffering PPD

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Post partum depression? Oof it's not a matter of partner but or personal choice. I just don't want kids ;;-;;

$ 0.00
3 years ago

choice you say? because you don't want kids, makes it more likely you will have PPD when you give birth in the future..

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I've been told but i really can't see myself having kids and all. I don't enjoy their company enough. I'm more prone to adopting dogs than having kids, really

$ 0.00
3 years ago

ok lng na ganyan pa ang pananaw mo, bata k pa namn😃,magcha2nge din siguro..

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Ayaw ko na sa bata e 😅 tama nang doggo na lang, at least they won't be stressful

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I don't have milk on my breast and I'm so worried on my baby.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

yes just like xzeon said, malunggay and unriped papaya for stew can be very good.. as much as possible, add ginger on every ulam you cook and much sabaw. I also tried moringa oliefera capsules for vitamins and m3. add oats and milo on your diet, it also helps.. and if you knew someone who knows who gives massage for back and breast to induce milk flow can also be helpful.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

try malunggay and papaya stew and other vegetables.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

From my observation the two kinds of milk are good, those are the best food for babies. Of those narrated above are circumstantial event, it varies in every babies reaction on a certain milk. There are babies dependent on mother's milk until the age of two or even on their nursery stage, growing strong and healthy and those growing the same solely on formula milk, and other mix feeding. Either of the two are best food depending on the choice of the baby.

You are really a good provider mother willing to endure whatever it takes for the best of your children. God bless.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

yes you are right, even the brands of formula milk vary from baby to another. my 1st, fed on the expensive brands as the cheaper causes allergy to him while the 2nd fed with the cheaper one,and she is much healthier.breast milk,I can say is the most nutritious yet the cheapest their is, that's why their are institution encouraging mothers who have much breast milk to donate. thankyou, I think all good mothers are willing to sacrifice and do everything for their childs welfare

$ 0.00
3 years ago

My sister also cry every time she breastfeed hew new born baby, i can also see that her nipple has cracked and small wound. Still, she patiently breastfed her baby because it's a must. I really salute all mothers out there❤

$ 0.00
3 years ago

you mean,your sister who just gave birth? she needs to be patient even if it hurts that much, she also needs to check her babe's position while and in latching to avoid further cracks on her nipples. you or anyone available can give a gentle massage on her shoulders cause it also affects it.. may she get better as the days progress..

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Yesss, she's being really patient. She told me that it still painful but she can handle it❤

$ 0.00
3 years ago

yep it's normal naman lalo n kpag first timer.. ung sa akin lng is tlgang dumudugo as in pro tinitiiz ung sAkit pra lng mpakain ang be2 at tumagal xa ng 2 mos..

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I breastfeed my son by circumstances. As a first time mom I have no knowledge when it comes on breastfeeding and honestly I dont want to breastfeed my son back then but I have no choice. My former officemate introduced me to a facebook group in FB which is breast feeding pinay and through that group I change my point on view and it also encouraged me to continue my BF journey even other people said that my milkgold has no nutrients at all 😀

$ 0.00
User's avatar Yen
3 years ago

thankfully you continued to bf your baby 'cause it contains the most precious fighting agent which is immunity booster and antibodies that formulas are lacking. most new moms parang ayaw ibreastfeed c baby due to the thought na kesyo ayaw nila magsag daw ang boobs nila for breastfeeding their baby o kaya ung iba nahihiya, yet they dont know what they are loosing. formula is also financially challenging sa mga bitin bitin ang budget.. kudos momshie for continuing, its good you have someone t orient you about bf,which is also recommended for all new incoming new moms to be oriented while they are still pregnant to let them know the benefits of bf..

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Yes, I am thankful that she add me on that group. At first I take malunggay oil just to boost my milk supply but I learned there that you just need to think that you have a lot of milk so that you boobie will produce too. Basta madami ako natutunan don hehe and I also shared it to my friends that is alsova first time mom. Inaadd ko din sila don

$ 0.00
User's avatar Yen
3 years ago

mabuti nman at nagawa mo din mkatulong sa mga first time moms.. yes positive thoughts really helps..

$ 0.00
3 years ago