The Pain of Miscarriage(Part 1)

13 31
Avatar for yhanne
Written by
2 years ago

Welcoming another blessing

In the third week of March 2018, a few days after Anthony left the country for work, I am a little worried because my monthly period was delayed. A week prior to that I already took a pregnancy test and it was negative. I tried it for the second time then I saw two red lines, only that it was a little blurry. Just to make sure, I bought two more pregnancy tests for a clearer results. The next morning I took the pregnancy tests twice and this time around, I saw two red lines very clearly. Its POSITIVE. Another baby was on the way after 7 years. I shared the good news, of course with my husband and the family. Everyone was happy and wished for a healthy pregnancy.

Pregnancy Journey the 3rd time

Since we were now living in Caloocan, the first thing I did was to look for a trusted ob-gynaecologist. I asked Grace my neighbour and she recommended me her doctor. She gave me her doctor contact number and I immediately get an appointment for my first check up. On my first meeting with the doctor, she asked some questions with my past pregnancy. She also advised me to have an ultrasound and prescribed me some vitamins and medicine to take and scheduled me for the next check up. I showed my ultrasound results to my OB on my second check up and as usual she told me what to expect in the coming days. I am so excited with my pregnancy as much as I am during my first two. This time we are hoping for a baby girl. I never had a hard time during the early phase of my pregnancy. No morning sickness, and no weird cravings. I only felt sleepy as always.😅

The next two weeks has been good. Everything was fine, until I went to the restroom and saw some blood on my underwear. Of course I became worried and silently panicked. After calming down for a while I began searching the net about blood spotting during pregnancy. So many articles were written that says it’s quite normal to have spotting during the early stage of pregnancy. This was new to me too, because I had never encountered it in my last pregnancies, though I have a friend that experience it a lot during her pregnancy before. I calmed down a little and waited for my next appointment with the OB-Gyne.

The spotting stopped for a while and came back the next week. I informed my OB about that and instructed me to have another transvaginal ultrasound and given me an earlier appointment. When I had the result of my ultrasound I went to my OB and gave it to her. The moment she checked the result of my ultrasound and looked at me, I know there was something wrong. She honestly told me that my pregnancy is considered as blighted ovum.

Blighted Ovum

What is blighted ovum the definition is below.

“A blighted ovum, also called an anembryonic pregnancy, occurs when an early embryo never develops or stops developing, is resorbed and leaves an empty gestational sac. The reason this occurs is often unknown, but it may be due to chromosomal abnormalities in the fertilized egg.” credit to Mayo clinic for the definition

In my case, the number of weeks on my ultrasound result does not match with my last monthly period. On my second ultrasound, I should’ve heard the 1st heartbeat of my baby, unfortunately I heard nothing. I was saddened about it. My OB then cheered me up and said that she had other patients that has the same case as mine but went through a successful pregnancy. She told me to continue drinking the medicine she prescribed me on my first visit. The name of the medicine was dyrogesterone/duphaston. This medicine was usually prescribed to pregnant women so that the baby will have a strong hold in their mama’s womb. In layman’s term it called “pampakapit”.

Lost Angel

Although I was a little sad because of what my OB has told about my pregnancy, I stay positive until I went home. The spotting continued the next day, and goes on for another day. I was getting worried for the next couple of days because the bleeding won’t stop and it gets heavier each day. I informed my doctor about it too and advised me to have another ultrasound. On the day of my ultrasound appointment , I am still hopeful that my case is just one of the normal pregnancy spotting. And was very positive that this time I would hear my baby’s heartbeat. The last hope was gone when the radiologist told me that we can make another one. Right there and then I knew that the baby inside me didn’t developed and anytime soon I’ll have miscarriage.

To be continue…..

_____________________________

I need to stop for a while guys, because writing this article brings back the sadness I felt during that one painful day. I will continue it next time. Anyway thanks for dropping by at my profile. If you have pregnancy story, whatever it maybe or had the same story as mine, you can comment it down below.

Sponsors of yhanne
empty
empty
empty

Thanks to these super wonderful people I met during my stay here at read.cash I am beyond grateful for the trust they have given me. To my new sponsor @MizLhaine thank you very much sis for giving me your trust. I truly appreciated it. Bless you all beautiful ladies.

Credit to Unsplash for all the images used.

See you all in my next article.😍

9
$ 3.58
$ 3.33 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Bloghound
$ 0.05 from @iyanpol12
+ 3
Sponsors of yhanne
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for yhanne
Written by
2 years ago

Comments

Hugsss for you sis. I know how it feels. It really never easy even if we thought that we are over it. I salute you for being this brave. Sharing your stories. Been there, and I know you'll surpass that stage too.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

aww! virtual hugss sis! I know that the baby we never had was just around the corner and guiding us. Thank you for dropping by too.😍

$ 0.00
2 years ago

oh ... i am sorry that this made you recall those bad times...

$ 0.02
2 years ago

it’s ok sis, part of moving process na din siguro, I am glad for this platform at naiishare ko ang mga bagay bagay, this was actually my first to share about this

$ 0.00
2 years ago

s ok sis, part of moving process na din siguro, I am glad for this platform at naiishare ko ang mga bagay bagay, this was actually my first to share about this

that's right sis... it is best to share what we feel... glad this platform has been an avenue for us all..

thanks for the sponsorship dear!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

your welcome sis, you were one of the those who welcome me here wholeheartedly 😍😍😍

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ouch this has been so hard for you, yhanne. But here you are, telling this to us. You are such a strong momma.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

thank you sis, it’s still painful but I am trying to be strong for the lost angel we never had😢

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I understand, sis. But just think that your angel is now happy in paradise with God

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Salamat sis, sabi nga nila everything happened in our life has always a reason:)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

That's it. ☺️

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Awww. Nakakaiyak. I wonder how it feels but I'm aware it's very painful for a mom.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

It was,😭 in my case there was no baby developed inside. It was like an egg without egg yolk, that was the closest explanation to me by my OB, I was pregnant but it didn’t fully developed into a baby that was why miscarriage happened as early as 12 weeks of pregnancy.😢

$ 0.00
2 years ago