Spent my 3 hours at the bank

40 34
Avatar for yhanne
Written by
2 years ago

Hello lovely readers. I hope everyone is doing fine and good today. What I am about to share for today is about I did the other day. About last week I was already planning on going to the bank because I need to do some over the counter transactions. The 1st one was that I needed to fund my checking account because the current balance is already below minimum. The maintaining balance supposedly is 10,000 php or about $200. There is a corresponding charges of 300 php ($6) at the end of the month if you haven't maintained it. So last month because of my negligence I forgot to fund it before the month ended therefore the bank has taken away 300 php from my remaining balance.

I was actually using this checking account for our monthly house amortization. I opened it in 2012 and continously used it until last year. We are paying our house through Pag-ibig housing loan, so every year I provided them 12 post dated checks. But last November I preferred paying via gcash because I find it a little convenient. Now the reason that I still needed to fund my checking account was that the monthly payment for my youngest son's insurance was deducted through it.

The second reason why I was at the bank yesterday was I needed to update my son's account and deposit the amount of money he and his brother had collected last holiday. His godmother also deposited some amount there so I needed to check it too so that I can update her.

I arrived at around 1130 am in the bank's location which is just a few minutes away from our home so I Ieft my kids at home. They were used to it by the way. It was around lunch time and I was planning to buy take out foods for our lunch after I am done with my errand. I filled out some contact tracing form and proceed to the long queue of people waiting for their turns. The line is moving very slowly that when I checked the time on my phone it was already 1 oclock in the afternoon. I messaged my son to eat something because I might got home late. Glad we had some heavy breakfast that day. I was really annoyed but I guess not only me but the other people as well because of the slow moving of line. I am also worried for my kids so I keep chatting them. I was actually planning to go home and do an online bank transaction instead, unfortunately my son's account isn't enrolled in mobile banking yet. So I stayed, by around 2 in the afternoon I was already inside the bank premises. There are only few who are allowed inside because the management is strictly implementing health protocols.

Took a snap of my queue number

When I secured my queue number I thought the transaction will be faster. And again I was wrong, I waited for another 1 hour before the teller called my number. Finally it was my turn, ironically my transaction only lasted for about 5 minutes, meanwhile I have to wait for more than 3 hours. Honestly that was the longest time I spent at the bank for just a mere transaction. My only fault was that I haven't enrolled to their mobile banking. I might considered enrolling it like my other account from the other bank.

It was totally a waste of time because I can do a lot of things within that certain amount of time. I missed my lunch, and I was supposed to do some groceries too. I just felt bad for the people that needs to be there personally because there are some transactions that weren't allowed via online. They have no choice but to stay. How I wish that the bank could've added more tellers so that there are more clients that can be attended to. As we all know that time is gold. Every minutes and seconds counts.

Ending Thoughts

Because of this incident, I would probably enrolled my son's account in their mobile banking. I am hesitated at first because of some fraud and scams online. But after enrolling my account from the other bank through online, I find the ease and convenient using it. I can instantly finished any transaction within a snap of a finger. Just that you have to be very careful because one single mistake can't be easily fixed.

Thanks for taking your time reading my article for today. Let me take this opportunity to give thanks to @LeticiaFelize @BCH_LOVER @Itsfarah for renewing their sponsorship. Thanks for the trust my dear friends. And of course please give some love to all my sponsors below.

Sponsors of yhanne
empty
empty
empty

Lead image from Unsplash

12
$ 2.24
$ 1.91 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Idksamad7869
$ 0.05 from @Olasquare
+ 7
Sponsors of yhanne
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for yhanne
Written by
2 years ago

Comments

Ang laki nmn Ng maintaining balance sis ah. Lupit Ng bangko at kaltas agad hahaha. Kala ko dito lng sa probinsya ang konti lng tellers tpos ang pila ang Haba. Takot din ako mg online banking sis pero sbi ni elder bro okay nmn dw sa knya.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Checking account kasi sis, dati nga nakalimutan ko mag fund ayun tumalbog ung tseke ko kaya 2000 ang kaltas. Di ko na lang sinabi kay mister dahil malamang magalit un.

Sa BDO nkaregister ako so far so good naman.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ah kaya pala sis. Laki nmn Ng 2000 hehehe I'm sure magagalit c mister mo non.. savings ko ksi is passbook yun para ky baby kulot. Konti pa lng laman.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Kami sis ang savings namin nasa insurance lahat, tapos dahil kay pandemic ubos ang ibang savings namin one year mahigit walang income si mister

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Kaya nga sis lalo tayong namulubi dahil sa pandemic. Sana mwla na ng makagalaw na tayo ng maayos.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oo sis, ngayon pa lang sana maguumpisa uli mag ipon pero kita mo naman mukhang mapupurnada na naman

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Sinabi mo pa sis. Pano ba tyo aahon nito kung laging may bagong prblma.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ang hassle naman nun ate. Wala pa kasi ako bank kaya i dunno if mostly may mga e-wallet na pero alam ko parang pwede ka na mag bayad sa gcash or alam ko even shopee pwede na din.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Dati kasi sis wala pa yang mga ewallet noon so no choice kundi mag open ng account. And mahirap lang kay gcash ang mahal ng charges pag nag cash in ka ng malaki. One time mag cash in dapat ako ng 10k ang charge 200 di ko tinuloy, sa bank transfer 25 pesos lang charge any amount.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Pero ngayon ate after that incident kahapon ano na plan mo nyan

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Bank transfer na lang sis, pahirapan ko pa sarili ko😁

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Bank transactions over the counter was really inconvenient now sis. Aside from Covid protocols, banks also runs out of manpower due to health issues. So there are times, that teller on duty was from other branches.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Ganun na nga sis, pero this certain branch na pinupunthan ko na extend sila ng office at the same time nagdagdag din ng tellers pero yung service matagal, naawa ako sa mga naiwan sa pila sa labas kasi for sure baka 5 pm na sila natapos.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Pahirapan talaga mag bank now sis,.actually since pandemic

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I think you can request or apply for a cash card sa bpi. Parang prepaid card para yun ung magagamit mo sa online purchases and ma-mask yung tunay na account details mo sis. Nakakainis yung mga ganyang transaction eh. Sa dami ng tao and haba ng pila parang sundot lang yung pakay mo talaga dun . Pero sa mga banks parang BPI isa sa mga secured when it comes sa mga online transactions. Tska walang fee magcash in sa gcash hahahaha

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Wow that's cool sis, sayang din ang 25 pesos, ang problema ko lang eh sa qc main branch ko tapos sa caloocan na kami nakatira. Yung account kasi ng anak ko eh passbook lang walang kasamang atm kaya di rin ako sure kung pede sya ienroll sa mobile banking.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Basta ilink mo sa gcash app yung bpi account, dapat may online banking kasi illog in ata. Ts makakacash in ka rekta sa gcash gamit bpi account.

Try mo sis iregister sa mobile/online banking para di ka na dn mahirapan. Pero alam ko sa bank mismo ang mageeme nung online banking if wala kapang account before. Bago magpandemic yun, di ko lang alam if nagiba sila ng process.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Cge sis, salamat sa info, kay bdo kasi pede mo sya iconfirm sa atm machine, di ko lang alam kay bpi.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yun nga e. Dati free magcash-in si bdo kay gcash mismo kasi di ata nagbabayad si bdo kay gcash hahaha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I love mobile banking, you just have to really create a good password and set up OTP. Just don't click on the suspicious links you receive via text or email and you should be okay :)

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Recently ko lang nadownload si bdo pay sis, yun kasi talaga ang main bank ko kasi dun pumapasok ang remittance, sa bpi naman ok service nila after lang magpandemic sobrang bumagal.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hay naku sinabi mo pa yang BPI na yan ang hirap2 magsubmit ng request ng change of personal details sa mobile banking. Para kang bola na pinapasapasa. Di ko na maopen mobile banking ko kasi di nila alam kung sino ang dapat maggrant saken ng access to change my mobile number.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Naku, balak ko na ngang iclose account sa kanila eh, kaya lang sa qc mainbranch ko, saka na pag di na pandemic.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Alrighty sis, ako pinabayaan ko na lang yung mga account ko sa kanila.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Grabe ano sis patay oras tlga, kaya minsan nakakainis sa bangko eh, taz nakikita mo sila nagdadaldalan pa

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Naku sis, yung ako na next sa pila tapos umabot pa ng 10 minutes bago ako matawag dahil may inuna sila, asar na asar ako, kawawa yung mga nag aantay pa sa labas baka inabot ng 5 pm yung mga un

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hay naku yan ung nakakainis tlga, pera mo na nahihirapan ka pa

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Jusko sis sinabi mo pa, kelangan ko kasi iupdate ung passbook pero kung di naman eh di ako pupunta dun

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Diba sis pede din insert ung passbook sa atm machine may slot dun na para sa passbook, tama ba?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Meron naman ata sis pero di lahat ng bangko may ganung machine, selected branches lang din

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ay sabagay sis

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It's really a waste of time sis, that is why it is more convenient to do all the transactions online.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Hays, gutom na gutom na ako sis that time, tapos kawawa yung mga junakis ko mabuti eh naintindihan naman nila, inuwian ko na lang ng pasalubong.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

The experience at the counter is almost the same for everyone, there could be multiple available units for the checkers to work with but only one would be working making going to the bank a real hassle, thank god for technology because if I had to go to the bank for every little transaction then I might just resort to other means (winks) if you know what I mean hahaha

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Yeah almost everyone suffered. But I think not everyone has access to mobile banking at the same time there were some transactions that needed to be done personally like opening accounts,personal loans and so on.

But yeah, I maybe never tried going to the bank because of this experience. Mobile banking is a lot better specially for just a little transaction😊

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes I think it's better sis. When I was in Cebu I was planning that too but I didn't pursue it because I find another work. I was busy that time. Hehe that's what I've hated the most sis when I will wait for longest hours because it's wasting time. We can do a lot of works from the time we spent for waiting our transaction number.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Hay naku sis, sinabi mo pa, nakakairita, lagi naman akong napunta ng bangko pero on that day pinakamatagal kong pag iintay. Nakakatuyo ng utak, iniisip kung umuwi kaya lang andun na eh, sayang kung babalik pa ako.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oo sis. Nakakainip talaga yan sis. Minsan magugutom ka pa. Lalo na pag mainit panahon sis.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Mas convenient din nmaan kasi talaga pag mobilr banking. Kaya lang maraming fraud din kasi.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Kaya nga sis, pero yung ibang businesses kasi kelangan nila magdeposit ng pera everyday so no choice sila kundi pumunta sa bangko. Bukod pa jan ung mag oopen ng mga personal accounts grabe baka abutin sila ng kalahating araw para doon.

$ 0.00
2 years ago