One True Friend

35 39
Avatar for yhanne
Written by
2 years ago

So yesterday I had a long conversation with my best friend in college. We rarely talk via video call because of time difference, she is in New York while I am in the Philippines and also I was busy with the kids while she was busy with her work. But when we find time to talk, expect it to be long, I think we started talking at around 9 in the evening up until I notice it’s already midnight. We didn’t notice the time actually as we were both busy catching up with so many stories. Talked about different issues, our old friends and anything that we can talked to. I just missed her a lot.

Meeting in College

My best friend Janifa and I has been friends for more than a decade. We became friends during our second year in college. We both belong to different section during our first year and on the the second year we eventually became classmates. I never thought we would be really close since we both have different sets of friends. She was also the extrovert one while I was introvert. You see we have opposite qualities yet we clicked. Opposite really attracts right? I remembered back then, during enrollment time, I would always came late at school because I live far from the school. I lived in Marikina and our school was located in Manila. Because I would always came late, the long queue in the registrar office during enrollment process would always welcome me. That happened to me a lot of time and waiting for your turn was really frustrating and annoying. But eversince I meet my friend Janifa I never had to wait for long. Unlike me, she was living with her relatives which was just a walking distance from school. Since that was the case she always finished her enrollment early. When we became close to each other, she would always reserved a seat for me, so that by that time I arrived at the school I didn’t have to wait that long. Our friendship continued until our last year in college. We were really inseparable by that time that we even took our on the job training at the same place. During our last year too, I would always go to her place and we had a series of sleep over. After graduation, we were together looking for jobs, even though she didn’t need it since she was leaving the country anytime soon that year.

Long Distance Friendship

She went to New York in 2008 and I was very happy for her because she married the love of her life. We never stopped getting in touch even though we were both at the other side of the earth. I would always received an overseas call from her from time to time, during her 1st year in the US just to keep me updated with her new life. It took years before she came back to the Philippines. And I was very happy of course, because she finally met my two kids. By the way, she was a godmother to both of my kids. After her first visit, she came back every year. She would always meet us and treat me and the kids well. The last time we’ve seen each other was in 2019. She was also here in 2020 but because of Covid, we didn’t met up. Now two years had passed and I am missing her more, she was also hoping she could go back next year and according to her she will stay long for around 6 months in her next visit. Ah I can’t wait to meet her soon.

Even though we’ve only talked very often for the past years due to busy schedules, Janifa was so thoughtful to me. She never forgot to give me a birthday and Christmas card every year via snail mail. Even in these modern times, with all the emails and messengers available, she still prefer sending those cards to me. She even sent me a postcard of Eiffel tower when she went to Paris last time. I may not have a lot of friends but who cares, a single one who was someone you can lean on and would never leave you specially in times of need was more than enough.

Final Thoughts

We always had that one special friend in our life. That one true friend who will never let you down and will continue to support you no matter what. He/she will be the one to stay, when everyone seems to be leaving you. I am glad I was able to meet one and I hope you are too.

Thanks everyone for getting this far. I am out of topic to share so I hope you can bear with this. If you have something to share about your best friend too, please feel free to write it down.

Sponsors of yhanne
empty
empty
empty

Thanks to this beautiful souls for always for giving me their support and trust. Allow me to thank my new sponsor @Expelliarmus30 Thank you dear for giving me your full trust and support. God bless you all.

All Images source Unsplash

11
$ 3.92
$ 3.60 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Marinov
$ 0.05 from @Jeansapphire39
+ 9
Sponsors of yhanne
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for yhanne
Written by
2 years ago

Comments

Wowww you have a good bff and can really treasured it. Ive got a bunch of friends also some living in other country but when they call me it takes few hours hahaha.. Di ko pa rin ntpos yung article ko na different friends hahaha.. Ang bz ko sa bb ko tlga

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Congrats satin dear kasi di nila tayo nakalimutan. Yung iba kasi madaling makalimot. Ako nga ubos na ang braincells wala na maisip na maisulat😅 Thanks for dropping by😍

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Na amazed ako sa friendship nyo sis ksi gnyan mga kaibigan ko kahit di ko sila bff tlga ksi isa lng bff dpat diba so the rest is my closed friends. Soon ill publish my abroad friends, charotttt. Sis tambak ako sa babasahin ko tlga at kulang ang 24 hours ko ksi may tasks din nmn ako dito sa bahay.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Salamat sis, sana nga mawala na si covid ng makauwi na uli sya sa Pinas at ng makagala na ulit. Go sis ipush na yan.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Nku sis kung wla lng covid last year nagpunta na sana kmi sa siargao at may plane tiket na sila ng anak nya.. Dont wori mkikilala mo sila sis. Last nmin DORA is 3 days yun.. Ang ganda ng BRITANIA

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Sayang no, di bale baka next year pede na ulit sigurong mag gagala

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Sana nga sis at nkkamis na gumala lalo na sa beach..

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Its like a sister with different mother, this is how i can describe my friend

$ 0.01
2 years ago

True that sis, ako literally sister from another mother dahil solo girl ako😊

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I wish I can have that friend same as yours mamshy. Nawala na kasi mga bff ko eh. Haha! Nung nag college kami wala na, iba na set of friends namin hanggang sa mukhang di na kami close.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

I’m sure makakahanap ka din ng iba, Yung bff ko din nung high school di rin kami masyado nagkakausap, may family na din kasi sa abroad, kaya love na love ko to, kasi never nakalimot kahit mejo umangat na sa buhay

$ 0.00
2 years ago

People change nga talaga haha! Sana nga no.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Kaya nga eh, kaya ikaw wag ka magbabago ha😁

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yassss! Sila lang naman nagbago sis

$ 0.00
2 years ago

True, nakakamiss din talaga ang mga high school friends kasi lahat ng kalokohan nyo andun eh, pag college mejo serious mode na

$ 0.00
2 years ago

My one true friend helped me see my mom for the last time, I felt blessed.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

That’s good to know sis, kamusta ka na?nakabalik ka na ba ng Manila? I hope hope you are coping up well with the recent loss.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes sis 1.5 days lang ako sa province, still sad but fighting :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oo sis, fighting lang.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thanks sis :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I also have one bestfriend who I can count on anytime. Though we were apart, our friendship didn't end..it is really good to have a friend who didn't forget and always support you.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Exactly sis, we’re blessed there is someone we can call in times we are in need. Some only stay because they got something from you, and left you when they got nothing from you. Shakit di ba?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

True friends will stay and remain even though you both have a miles in distance☺️

$ 0.01
2 years ago

True yan sis, true friendship know no distance:)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Honestly, in real life, I don't have someone I considered as my best friend. Maybe because I was then experienced to be betrayed by one. But, its all the past. I already forgotten the heartaches long time agom

Hmmm.. Its good to know that you have a certain person whom you can always count on. A best friend, as what you and other people say. 😊

God bless you to sis and to your friendship!😇❣️

$ 0.01
2 years ago

That was such a heartbreak sis. I am so sorry to hear about that. I am sure you’ll find someone you can call your best friend too again😊

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Our best friends is our real soulmates! ❤️ I also have that friend that support me always even all left me.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

True ka jan beh. There would always be someone who will support you up until the end. I’m glad we’ve meet them😍

$ 0.00
2 years ago

The bond is a tight one between you guys and I can imagine how close you are judging from the post.

You are lucky I must say because getting a friend that cares about you is very rare.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Thank you my friend. She was really a great friend to me that even though I wasn’t able to communicate with her because of some circumstances she will always find a way to contact me. And this pandemic situation is a proof that she will always got my back no matter what.😊

$ 0.01
2 years ago

If I have got a friend like that, I will be a very happy man.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I am sure one of these days you’ll meet that one true friend:)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Everyone has that special friend in their life, I am happy for you for the kind of friend God bless you with.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Thank you dear. I was just glad God let me know her and was blessed to be a part of each other life. I know you have someone dear to you too.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yeah, I have too. Thank you ma

$ 0.00
2 years ago