Birthday celebration featuring terrific traffic and unexpected death

37 71
Avatar for yhanne
Written by
1 year ago

Yesterday we celebrated my late mother in law and brother in law's birthday in a very simple way. I thought we're gonna celebrate it at my brother in law's house but then I was misinformed. Originally my father in law wanted to fetch us but I declined since I don't want to disturb them anymore. I just told them that the kids and I will commute going to their place. Before we got out of the house, my brother in law called my son via messenger and told us to meet in this particular street near their house. I just said okay without asking why would they want to wait us there. Honestly at that time I was kinda worried because I haven't talked to my husband yet, might be the reason why my mind is floating nowhere. I took the kids out and went to this bakeshop near us to buy cake. While I was at the bakeshop my brother in law called me asking for our location, I told him we were at the bakeshop. He told me to hurry up because we might get late going to the cemetery. Like what? So that was the reason why they were waiting in that street so that the kids and I would no longer dropped at their residence. Right there and then I feel ashamed because they have been waiting for a couple of minutes already. I told my brother in law that we'll take a taxi since that will take us faster to them maybe in 10 minutes than riding a jeep. Unfortunately though, there wasn't even a sign of taxi on the road that time so I left with no other choice but to ride the jeep. I message my brother in law that we could just meet them at this particular gas station since the jeepney route won't take us to the street where they were waiting for us.

After a few minutes, the kids and I arrived at the gas station and then off we go to the cemetery. The reason why my brother in law was calling me and asking me to come earlier because the Batasan Road that will take us to San Mateo where the cemetery was closed due to the canvassing of official ballots from the recent election in the Congress. Because that wide road is closed the traffic along Commonwealth road was very evident while we were on the way. Since we cannot passed the Batasan, my father in law who was driving went to the alternate route. We passed by at UP Diliman and take the road going to Tumana Marikina that will take us to San Mateo. However it wasn't an easy access since the traffic was still bumper to bumper. After about an hour or so, we finally made it to the cemetery. My sister in law brought some palabok while I had the cake with me. We had a little celebration for the very special lady in the family. I know she was smiling back at us from up above while she sees us never forgetting her special day even though she was gone for so many years.

When the dark skies finally taken the daylight, we move out from the cemetery to be at our next destination. One of my father in law's long time friend was finally in the hands of the Lord. She was also one of the principal sponsor on my brother in law's wedding years ago. So last night, we went to St. Peter Chapel to visit her wake. The mass started at 730 in the evening but we arrived at 8 pm so we waited outside while the mass was ongoing inside the chapel where her wake is located. While we were waiting, my father in law called my attention telling me that his relative was in the other chapel.

Earlier while we were on the way, my father in law who just came back from Aklan last Monday told me that his relative lost her father. This relative of him is someone familiar to me since our kids went to the same private school before I transferred my kids to public. However, about a year ago I can't contact her fb account and so I lost contact to her. She just recently lost her father, and while she was still grieving for her lost father back in Aklan, the news of her husband in Manila being gone really shocked her. According to her, there was really no sign that her husband would be gone too early. It was very unexpected too. To be honest, I really feel sorry for her but seeing how she manage the situation looking strong, I can't helped myself admiring her. I know she is holding for now since his husband's wake is still there. She is trying to be strong for the sake of their only son. I know deep inside she is crying because two of her loved ones left her almost at the same time. She then remembered what her husband told her while she was crying because of her father that he will be there for her no matter what, but now that he is gone too, how will he do it?

For about two hours, we spend catching up and talking about what's her next plans. I asked her to contact me anytime after I added her on my fb and since she decided to stay here in Manila for a year before going back to Aklan. I asked her to visit us, since she knows where we live. After that we can visit her as well together with the kids so that his son and my sons can get along well since they are relatives to begin with. By the way yesterday was her sons birthday then I remember my youngest brother in law who also celebrated his birthday at his mother's wake a few years ago.

Death is really inevitable. I remember my husband's cousin who lost his life at the age of 32 during the early pandemic. He was young, healthy and nobody couldn't believe that he was gone too early. But as the saying goes if it is your time then no one can prevent it. So while you are reading this, tell your loved ones how you love and cherish them. Life is short so enjoy most of it.

Thanks for reading until here. See you next time.

Annyeong!

Previous articles

Lead image from Unsplash

14
$ 2.59
$ 2.18 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.06 from @Ling01
$ 0.05 from @Jane
+ 11
Sponsors of yhanne
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for yhanne
Written by
1 year ago

Comments

Korek sissy hindi natin alm kung hanggng kln life natin. Basta laging mg iingat. Kahit nga ng iingat ngkkproblm pa din db sis?

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Di talaga Natin Alam kung hanggang kailan tayo mananatili dito sa mundo. Kaya as much as possible we should live our life to the fullest.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Pang ilan na to sa death news nabasa ko. Just last weekend sis, my husband's cousin died. 33 years old lng..heart attack. Biglaan

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Totoo yan sis, lalo na nung 2020 andaming unexpected death na nakita ko sa tl ko sa fb ambabata pa. Talagang kapag oras mo na wala na tayo magagawa.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Grabing napaka bilis ng buhay talaga ano. Yong ang lakas lakas tas walang aign na may sakiyt. Tas magugulat nalang. Aguyy

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Totoo mare, yung iba nga tumawid lang ng kalsada tapos biglang masasagasaan. Kaya minsan ung napapanuod ko sa kdrama tungkol sa mga ganyan genre parang totoo.😱

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Hay I feel her sis. Ganun talaga ang buhay, part na talaga ng life is mawalan ng mga minamahal. We have to be strong for our loved ones. May her dad and her husband rest in peace, my warmest sympathies, sis.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Grabe sis, ang tibay nya nga eh kasi di sya umiyak habang kausap ko, kung ako cguro un tulo pati uhog ko. Pero ramdam ko ung lungkot at pangungulila nya.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

She was strong enough to hold her emotions sis.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Ang sakit nun sis. Yung mawalan ka ng mahal sa buhay. Condolences sis and to the bereaved families.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Dinala na nila ng Palawan sis kasi dun lahat ng kamag anak ni hubby nya, wala sya magawa kasi silang mag asawa lang dito. Kakalungkot no, mabuti at may anak sya at least kahit papano may karamay.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Oo sis. Nakakalungkot sobra pag wala kang karamay. Sa Palawan pala sila sis.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Yung asawa nya sis, tapos ung babae taga Aklan, pero dito sila sa Manila nagstay for ilang years na din

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Ah. Taga Aklan pala sis sa Panay. Isang pulo lang ng Iloilo at Capiz.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Oo sis dun province ng family ni hubby baka sa January makauwi kami para sa ati atihan, taga Iloilo ka di ba?

$ 0.00
1 year ago

It is very painful and bitter to see the death of loved ones specially their unexpected death, and when two of them passed away in close proximity to each other. Life is short, we must tell our loved ones how much we love them, and appreciate their existence.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Exactly my friend, it was very unfortunate but we couldn't do anything about it. Life is unpredictable you'll never know if it is your time already.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Hirap mawalan ng member ng family. Namatay din cousin ko at the age of 27 due to chronic anemia.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Kaya nga sis tapos almost at the same time. Tatay at asawa nya super sakit talaga.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Truly unfortunate to loss someone ate. I cannot say much since I'm totally speechless about it. My condolences.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Sobra, di ko nga alam kung pano sya icomfort kahapon, dinaan ko na lang sa kwento pero syempre may konting words of encouragement. Sa kakakwento ko na di ako nakasilip dun sa dapat pupunthan namin.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Traffic pb sa pinas. Hndi na masosolve yan. Nkakalungkot yun magcelebrate ng bday na may wake 😢

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Kahapon lang sis gawa nung canvassing sa Batasan, eh malaki yung kalsadang sinara dahil may mga pulis para if in case may mag rally eh walang gulo. So far ayun naproclaim na ung winner kaya sana wala ng magrarally. Naawa ako dun sa anak nya 11 years old pa lang, pero life must go on.🥺

$ 0.00
1 year ago

nakakatakot yun ganyan unexpected death. Pero lahat naman tayo papunta dyan. Nakakalungkot lang at kakatakot pag di ka ready

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Sobrang unexpected, hinatid nya pa sa airport pabalik ng Manila tapos un na pala huli nilang kita.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Masakit talaga kapag unexpected mawala ate. Un ung ayoko eh ung biglang mawawala. Okay sana kung magkasakit na lang muna hindi ung biglang pagpanaw ba.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Totoo sis, un tipong makakapagpaalam ka pa kahit papano, eto wala, biglang taas daw sugar level kaya namatay kaya ingat sa sugar intake.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

nakooo pala milktea pa naman ako huhu..

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Oh I know how painful it is to lost our loved ones. My father died 3 months ago at it is not that easy to move on. I really hope she can find hope beyond this experiences.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Nalungkot talaga ako for her sis tapos ung kwento nya na sabi ng asawa nya anjan lang sya pero di na mgagawa. Biglang taas daw ung sugar level, di naman diabetic kaya laking gulat nila na namatay.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Ou that's the hardest part.. Ani pala dahilan ng pagkamatay ng asawa nya bakit ganoon kabilis.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Naku sis biglang taas daw ng sugar level kaya ingat tayo sa mga kinakain din natin.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Hala namatay agad? ou tama ka sis we eat to live and not live to eat..

$ 0.00
1 year ago

That was so hard for her for sure, she might be strong outside but deep inside she's drowning. Hopefully she remains strong for her son. Life is really unpredictable and it was full of surprises, unwanted and wanted. And if it's your time it would be your time.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Hays sis kaya kahapon di ko makontak si hubby hanggang kaninang umaga kinabahan naman ako, 1st time eh, mabuti kaninang tanghali eh nakontak ko na. Sobrang hina lang pala ng signal nila.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Ay nabalita yun kanina e na sinarado Batasan buti nalang may iba pang route. Naiimagine ko tuloy pagmamadali mo te kanina.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Hahaha! Sobra kung pede lang ako lumipad ginawa ko na. Nahihiya kasi ako pag may nag aantay sakin, di bale ako sanay mag antay. Ansabe!

$ 0.00
1 year ago