The Test of Faith

2 22
Avatar for wakeuplincs
3 years ago

Test of Faith

I was at the brink of spiritual regression. But people who are sick, yearn for treatment. As I search for that something which may lead to eventual healing, I experienced the grace of the Lord.

I remember my childhood as something serene and calm. I would read the bible and obey my parents. Even if sometimes I seem to be rebelling from them, in actuality, I always carry their words to my heart.

It was still okay when I graduated in college. But as I longed for more independence, my misery started. True enough, I looked for a space where I could live my life away from my family. Things happened until I also had my own. I got married and had a son.

From time to time, I found congregations who would uplift me for a while. But my lack of willpower always took me back to my old boastful and extravagant ways.

Years after, I started accumulating debts. Until one day, I was being bugged here and there by collectors. I prayed desperately. Why oh why? Why did I ever come to this?

I was in the brink of spiritual collapse but my being in debt led me to pray again. Every moment. I experienced his saving grace because my previous faith has slowly been being restored.

I already shared to you my eventual return to faith in my article, Restoring my faith as a Christian. To summarize, it was a housewarming party of our new neighbors that the family’s friend came along with a church’s pastor. They encouraged us and at the same time inspired us to go back to Him. Because of my desire to get well, I joined their congregation with no hesitation at all. Because of my desire, I continuously attend bible studies and Sunday masses.

I promised that I will always be faithful.

But everyday is a test. You will be tempted by the devil to do what is not pleasant to Him. But if we are indeed true to our faith, we discover that come what may, we will always be victorious—if we always trust in Him.

My respect for my husband returned, and my time was given more and more to my children who yearned for it. And things are becoming more wonderful.

And so I dearly hope that all of us who are losing our spiritual life will eventually return to faith by the help of the holy spirit.

3
$ 0.49
$ 0.44 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @HyeRin
Avatar for wakeuplincs
3 years ago

Comments

Let's entrust it to God. God will never leave us. Let's restore our faith.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Indeed! Likewise to you my friend.

$ 0.00
3 years ago