Restoring my faith as a Christian

0 106
Avatar for wakeuplincs
3 years ago

The Search for Oneself

I've long been on the run, not practising my Christian faith and always getting on the negative side. My thoughts became clouded with worldly desires. I accumulated unwanted possessions. I gave up easily, I run away from problems and I tend to have more emotional breakdown than ever.

Every now and then, I question myself why I am not praying hard enough. And despite my knowledge on a lot of things I still didn't practise my faith. Despite my ability to remedy my situation, I still did not move.

I searched everytime everywhere. For answers, for redemption, for salvation. I may have given or shown my self away that eventually my groanings we're heard.

Start of Faith Restoration

It was on an evening, we were getting expectant for the small housewarming party of our new neighbors. The former residents of the house transferred to another home so naturally other occupants came.

The friend of our new neighbor happen to be an active member of a church. She visited, along with one of their pastors. As we were nearing the eating stage, the wife of the pastor led us in prayer. I was in awe for the wonders of the words coming out her mouth--full of compassion and love. As she was praying, I know right then that my faith is restored.

Journey towards the Church

I was so hungry spiritually that every homily spoken was getting in like nothing's wasted. I attended Bible studies regularly.

Eventually I asked Pastor Peter their church's location. Their eyes glinted with my eagerness for restoration. Indeed, I religiously went to church aside from the weekly bible study!

We Reap What we Sow

One of the first lessons I learned upon rejoining a congregation is the giving of tithes and offerings. If we try to analyze it is just but right to help church grow, to spread the word of the Lord and to give love.

Tithes is the 10% of our salary that we have to give to the church that we are attending (the definition at least in today's context). I always give my tithes and offerings.

I learned to open my hands to the Lord. We should not give tithes out of the remaining amount on our wallet. Rather we set it aside as soon as we receive our salary. It is sacred and therefore not to be spent.

If we can dole out high amount to others, how much more for the Lord? Even if I struggle financially I still make sure to give my tithes. In time, we will reap what we sow. The more we give, the more we receive.

His Words are our Weapon

Among others, we read and study his words in order to be guided in our daily lives.

I was grateful that our leader replenished us with a bible. I'm not sure anymore where I misplaced my own bible.

It is still very challenging to find time and read but I do it anyway.

Now, I make sure to study it every now and then.

Looking back, I was very unknowing in grade 1 when I started reading it. I never realized how important the act of reading the bible is.

Other Lessons I Learned

  • I also came to learn about 'speaking in tongues' just recently. My faith is making me practice it. It indeed tames the tongue against cursing and the like.

  • I make sure to give my first fruit offerings.

Lifestyle Change

Faith restored, I feel better than ever. To save me from my trespasses, I have to do major lifestyle changes. Actually, it's more of paradigm shift from darkness to light. It is from negativity to positivity.

I try to prioritize feeding my spiritual soul because without spiritual food, I will again starve and become the slave of the world.

My Promise to Myself

I tell myself, promises are not broken if we do it for Him. I always pray that I will forever stay in His midst. I will sacrifice my worldly desires if it means my own salvation.

More than anything else, I wish to share The Good News to anybody who is listening.

I hope you were listening. I can only share what happened to me and I know for sure how it felt like to go back in faith.

I thank you for reading.


P.S.: I have to add, I define religion as something that one practices regularly and so I say now, "I have a religion." I don't see the point of arguing about the word (religion).

P.S.:2 Let me just be grateful for everything... Thank you!

9
$ 1.77
$ 1.72 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @HyeRin
Avatar for wakeuplincs
3 years ago

Comments