Acceptable Taste and the Emergence of More Soup Bowls

10 37
Avatar for wakeuplincs
2 years ago

Acceptable taste or, to say it better, edible! I could say that my macaroni soup is edible despite the absence of ingredients that should have gone well with the soup. My eldest child said my macaroni soup is good so it meant that it is eatable. Although, I still do not trust the judgment passed out loud by my son because I noticed that every food served is delicious for him, I still felt proud that I have produced something good out of the rainy season. Take a break from the instant things in life!

I took the suggestion of one of my kind commenters on my previous article, ‘How to be busy during the rain,’ that I should also try champorado or macaroni soup. Then I settled for macaroni soup even though I also like champorado. I haven’t tried cooking champorado so more time preparing and consulting with internet will be done first. Next next week maybe. Meanwhile, I cooked macaroni soup.

Since I had no chicken in stock, besides I do not have a fridge yet and it’s not my fault, it is no one’s fault that I do not have a fridge yet, haha, I tried thinking of buying but an idea popped out. I will use instead the cooked pork that we had as viand last night. I was also not in condition to go to the nearby barangay to buy chicken so I thought of using pork. Moments back, I sent my second child to buy macaroni. Then evaporated milk. No hope of carrots, sorry soup.

I sliced the pork and since it had the fatty part, I sautéed it to get the oil out. Then I put garlic after. Haha. It was how I started. Afterwards, I put in water, boiled it, added macaroni, put the whole thing to boil then I added evaporated milk. I also put in salt to taste. Plus fine paminta.

While waiting for it to be cooked, my children kept asking where the soup is. Is it done? May we see if the macaroni is already soft enough for eating? How much longer before we will be able to taste it? Patience, my dear children. Unless you wanted to eat a crispy macaroni.

At long last, the soup was served to everyone! My first son didn’t bother at first because he was absorbed with what he was doing, probably bored by the waiting a while back. My second tasted it and I made sure he ate something. But after a while, he said he was already done. My last child ate very little but at least she ate something. At this point, I understand why she isn’t eating much. It is because her molar is getting out. Moments later, my first son finally tasted my soup and declared that it was delicious. Hahaha. To support his claim, he ate a lot of the soup.

Another thing that I observed was the emergence of more soup bowls than the three regulars that I always wash when I clean up the sink. Well, I always knew we had more bowls but it was only a while ago that we used the others. The excess utensils were usually kept in the cupboard unless birthdays are being celebrated.

I could have saved my macaroni soup for my husband to taste if not for the honest mistake of my son. I was putting the youngest to sleep when I sent him for errand. I didn’t know he heated the soup in order to eat more. He went for the errand. After a few minutes, I rushed to turn the stove off. I smelled the waterless soup. When my son returned, I reminded him to never leave the stove on while away for something. Even just for a while. That while may turn out to be an hour or more so it’s best to turn the stove off or wait for it to do its job and turn it off before leaving the house for something. Being sent by mom is not an excuse. And mom didn’t know you turn the stove on. Fortunately, we can still enjoy the macaroni. Pity my hubby will only get to taste the soupless soup. Hehehehe.

Still, I felt proud of myself. Why not? Wahahaha. And the more bowls seen on the sink is a support that my soup is edible. I can’t say more. Haha. The flavor was lacking but still good. 

8
$ 17.75
$ 17.61 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Codename_Chikakiku
$ 0.03 from @Ellehcim
+ 2
Avatar for wakeuplincs
2 years ago

Comments

We cooked champurrado and macaroni soup these past few days, too. It's indeed good for this rainy season and last night we cooked Arroz Caldo for dinner.

$ 0.05
2 years ago

True!

Aroscaldo to experiment on.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oh wow.. Must be nice to have some hot, yummy soup in this cold, rainy season. Great recommendation!

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Yah! Let us enjoy while it's rainy.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Omg! I'm drooling right now. Planning to cook macaroni soup this rest day. I'll try to get the complete ingredients and I'll see if I can get it right. 😆

Davies really is too cute that anything served to him is delicious. Well, I guess the soup is good though. 💗

$ 0.00
2 years ago

davies didn't have seconds though hahaha!

I think carrots is important. I didn't have it.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I wish I could taste the soup too, it's too cold here, I want to cook that too but we don't have ingredients at refrigerator, I think I'm gonna stick on coffee.🤣

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Hahaha don't expect too much. Nowadays i consume coffee once a day.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

That makes me want to try that soupless soup of your lol!

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Hahaha. don't know expect too much!

$ 0.00
2 years ago