How to be busy during the rain

9 37
Avatar for wakeuplincs
2 years ago

For the past days I’ve really been busy. But guess what? For onlookers I seemed to have just spent the day away without doing anything. Reason? I’ve been looking at my monitor for most of the day. But that is the best busy thing I can do during the rain. Our laundry, which my husband refused to be dried using the drier, was put inside the other quarter for the air, coming from the opened window, to dry. Kids had to be tucked inside the house. It is where they should play while the rain continues to pour its waters.

Yesterday, our dear neighbor, who couldn’t have been more understanding, passed through our house and smiled while looking at me. I bellowed, I’ll be taking coffee at your house later. Sure, no problem at all, she responded. I was simply planning to have some relaxation after a busy day but due to the current weather, I wasn’t able to go to their house. And yes, another reason is I have my kids to consider. They might just be drenched in rain and will contract unwanted illnesses if I we go anywhere during the rainy day. Not a season for those who are fond of the outdoors.

Of course, reading books is a sure way to spend the rainy days. It is what I’ve been doing. Pity that I do not have physical books and had to turn to ebooks. But at least, they’re still books. And thanks to the internet, when I do not have the copy of something, I simply download it.

Writing and drawing are for kids. Like writing the alphabet, their names, coloring random things and so on. I had to supervise them but when I become again absorbed with what I am reading, they take advantage and watch television or watch using cellphone. And also playing games.

For some reason, I love the heavy downpour of rain. And I thank the Lord that I could be inside my house comfortable and warm during these days. For a moment, I thought about those who are unfortunate. I made a silent prayer for them. Turning to myself, I had to admit I am happy. A bonus that my hubby’s work is under the roof so they didn’t have to be absent for the day. We all are working inside the house. My little one is a little bit sick. Maybe, it was a result of her removing her jacket every now and then. I had to replace her jacket with a sweater so she didn’t have a chance to play with her jacket. I explained to her why she is probably sick. I would just assume my two-year old daughter listened to me.

My boys got their Beyblade working. “Let it rip!” That is, if it is Beyblade burst. Or, “Go shoot.” And so many other versions. I am happy that until now, the only toys they let me order from Lazada, are still being played. Just some repairs here and there because of my curious cat first born, who always had his reasons for borrowing the screw driver and other tools by his daddy, in order to repair what shouldn’t be or should be repaired. Anyhow, I resisted scolding him so that he will explore things on his own. I should be glad instead.

Unfortunately, I also had to be busy AGAIN wrestling with my two younger children who resumed their usual ceremonies at night! Seriously, the whiny boy and the youngest one claiming her throne, they can’t be talked to. I’ll just have to do the best I can to lessen my busyness in the night. Actually, even during the day, I’m kept busy because of their occasional contest.

Well, well, well! There are many other ways to get busy during the rain. For those other children, they prefer to bathe in the rain. Makes me recall my own glorious moments with rain way way before. But I am not taking a risk for my children. It is quite a different situation for us in the city. And yes, for the current pandemic. We wouldn’t risk having symptoms which may be mistaken that we’ve contracted the virus.

Cooking pancakes and battering cassava seem delightful also. We happen to receive cassava from our neighbor a few days ago and the plastic of cassava still resides below the table. This morning, I allowed the family some noodles and eggs. Noodles for the rainy season.

So, how should we busy ourselves? Any thing more?

7
$ 14.70
$ 14.57 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @MissJo
$ 0.05 from @Olasquare
+ 1
Avatar for wakeuplincs
2 years ago

Comments

Thanks to second to the last paragraph, for me even as an adult, I still love that play in the rain game😇😁 oh! I guess I'm young hearted if you think so. But I love it.

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Haha. I guess we all are! Happy rainy day. Thanks for dropping by.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

U wlcm

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I've been waiting you to talk about food during rainy days, and yes it is at the last part. Cooking champorado or macaroni soup is what I like during rainy days, reading books as well is a nice way to spend the day during rainy seasons. It was a nice moment as well because we got to spend time with our family as we will be stucked at home.

$ 0.05
2 years ago

So unlike me to be preparing a lot of food but you've given me ideas! Champorado for a change! Actually I love macaroni soup as well. I will make it another time.

Yah we get to spend time with our family. ❤️

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yay! Good thing it helped. Try champorado with a lot if milk. Its delicious. 💗

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Yah okay. I love more milk on it. Thanks!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

They don't call it bed weather for nothing... But yes, when trapped inside because of inclement weather, we sometimes find ourselves twiddling our thumbs for lack of something to do. Reading is a good activity, if there were no other mundane, routine tasks to take care of. Some cleaning is also good, because it can be inconvenient doing this while very hot. Baking is also a good activity, if you're so inclined. Otherwise, I can just tuck myself in bed and go off to lalaland.

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Hmmm. I guess I should clean outside instead while there is rain to flash things out.

I want the last part haha. Apply the bed weather in full.

$ 0.00
2 years ago