3 Surprises for the Week

27 35
Avatar for wakeuplincs
2 years ago

This article is about my second son, Davies, who, for some reason, gave a few surprises for the benefit of the family this week.

Davies usually was colicky, if that word still applied to a five-year old, during the night, meaning that I would have to make a remedy to make both he and his sister hush. For some reason, Denisse, my daughter and the youngest, would cry as well whenever Davies cried. As my husband, according to me, shouldn’t be bothered at all during sleeping times because he would just be too tired for the laborious work he does each day. But then whenever this scenario surface, he was the most bothered. We’d fight on how we approach the situation and I would always remind him to never shout at the kids because that seemed to be the reason for their refusal to be held by him. The kids only want their mama and the daddy has no role unless he became kind enough to be gentle with them. True enough when he maintains his gentle side of character, the kids would stick and play with him.

This week, we were surprised to find that Davies didn’t cry much during the night. Ever since he came into this world, our nights were never the same again. At least when he was just my baby, I focus only on him. But when Denisse was born, I had to care for two babies during the night. It was even unfair for Denisse during her first year of life because I would prioritize attending to Davies. It was because Denisse was too baby to care. But when she started claiming her rightful place to be the baby of the family, I had to divide myself literally for the two babies. To cut the story short, this week, Davies didn’t cry much and would allow mama to care more for Denisse when she cried.

To my surprise, Davies ran some errands. Yesterday, I sent him to buy me medicine for my flu-like symptoms. He went immediately and came back proud presenting me what he bought. In the afternoon around 3 pm, he said he wanted to eat some eggs. I was asking his older brother to go and buy eggs since we’re out of stock but then he said he will be the one to go. Even if it was raining he still went saying he will use an umbrella. He came back triumphantly despite the rain that went on to rage like it was angry at something.

And this morning, Davies volunteered to fetch water. Our drinking water comes from a well few meters away from home. Without hesitation he lifted the containers then said to his playmate that they will go and fetch water because he noticed that the containers were empty. We suggested that his playmate will just get their own so it will be fair. After some time they returned and my boy wondrously put down the thing he fetched. Well? I’m not dreaming.

It was always our nightmare when Davies cried uncontrollably during the night. It was like he was having toothache. It made me think that because I tried having toothache once and I say it was unbearable. Child birth was better than toothache. In my experience only. I do not know with the others. Happens I was one of those lucky women, who gave birth without complication. I thank God for that. Toothache was worse than labor. When laboring before the arrival of a baby, we have the timings and all. After a spasm of pain, you would be able to breath. Then again until finally you give birth to a child. But you have rest periods in between spasms of pain. Well, I was only comparing the labor part of childbirth and toothache. Toothache, I didn’t know before, would make someone’s face and jaw and head throb with pain.

I asked Davies one time if he was having a toothache and he said that yes, he was. Then why didn’t you tell me, I probed him. He wouldn’t give me an answer. Then on again on the next nights he cried. Which made me doubt if toothache was the constant reason. Husband said it was just he was a cry baby and nothing more. I just sigh and shrug my shoulders. I resigned to accepting that it is the way things are with the boy. But then I would feel happy whenever he didn’t cry during the night. And more sleep we had during this week except for me of course when I comply with requirements. But I wouldn’t be complacent not until Davies shows us more improvement over the weeks to come. Hoping for a more matured boy.

10
$ 21.73
$ 21.53 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @MissJo
$ 0.05 from @Janz
+ 2
Avatar for wakeuplincs
2 years ago

Comments

Davies is already growing to be a BiG boy so you can't except him to cry in the night again.

I'm sure this is coming from a proud mum. Keep on encouraging him, supporting him, cheering him on, and always appreciate and reinforce him for the simple acts of kindness he shows.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

@zolabundance2

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Why the tag?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

To give credits to you Mam. Our friend seems to think highly of your previous comment thus copying some of it.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thank you. I hope she understood that. Or realizes what she'd done. I was surprised too and thought I was reading what I wrote.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Hoping she will...

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Congratulations to job well done of Davies. Kids needs more patient and I congratulate you for giving that to Davies. He will become you never expect him to be but it is because how you have grown him to be.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Hi Grace! Thanks for dropping by.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

My pleasure 🥰

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Aigooooo! Davies too cute to handle. 🥰 For sure, he will be a good brother to Denisse. He will be a good boy and a grown up man in the future. Hopefully his toothache, wag na ulit sumakit para di na maiyak.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Too cute and not too cute depending on his mood. Haha. Hoping he'll show consistent good behavior.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

That's one thing din po talaga. Yes, let's hope for the best for Davies. To become more and more consistent.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Thanks MissJo!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

So the reason Davies would wake up crying at night is because of? Colic? Toothache? If it's the latter, you can easily verify that by checking his teeth, there might be cavity. If it's the former, does he sleep exposing his tummy or back to cold air? If the reasons are not physiological, it might be something else bothering him.

But, it is a proud moment for Mama when he demonstrates that he's a big boy and ready to take on responsibility. Keep on encouraging him, support him, cheer him on, and be grateful for the simple acts of kindness he shows. As he grows older, you would even be prouder to have raised a kind, responsible man.

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Colic because of the air he produces some time after the crying. And toothache as well. Sometimes, he is just too sensitive like when we talk to him like he is a child (because he is a child), he wouldn’t forget a thing. I keep telling everyone to treat him properly because he didn’t want to be treated roughly.

On the other hand even though he is mostly like that, yes, de demonstrates caring and sense of responsibility. I will keep on encouraging him. When I feel sick, he also massages me. right this moment he is embracing me.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

The toothache can be resolved by a trip to the dentist and brushing his teeth, even without toothpaste. As much as treating him gently because he is a sensitive soul will help, maybe you can also talk to him so he understands that when his attention is being called because he did something not right, it's not his person that is being criticized but the act. And perhaps, you can give him more responsibilities - even small ones - to show that you trust him and appreciate him.

That he is affectionate is very good. Do you hug him when he cries to make him stop? You can probably relate it to how you feel... that when you feel sad or bad and he hugs you, it makes things better.

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Yes, we always try to explain to him when he is in good mood. I really think, he’s much like me. I do hug him to mute his tantrums. Like I hug him and he would immediately stop. But because I have another baby, I struggle to make them both stop because each wants full attention. Sometimes, I just let them be or I do my best to be a comic. Sometimes I get impatient and only people inside the house know what I do.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Mabait na bata Ang anak mo sis hehehe, ako din minsan sa gabi gigising din na super ang iyak tas hindi naming ma control ng partner ko, kaya minsan nag argue din kami

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Minsan nagiging malala ang away.

Hi Janz! Salamat sa pagbisita.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oo minsan lumala kasi nag sisihan na hahaha, minsan din kasi ang bata yung mismong naging tulay sa away hahaha

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Tama. Palagi sa amin.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

hahahha, oo nga nuh pero hindi naman kasi maiwasa sa buhay ng mag partner hahaha importante at the end of the day okay na din

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Minsan napapahaba ang time ng away. Haha. Pero kapag naman nagpapakita ng kabutihan ang bata nakakatunaw ng puso.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yeahhh super true yarrnn sis

$ 0.01
2 years ago

:-)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Urgh. Sleepless nights are reall not good. We'd be like zombies in the day..

$ 0.01
2 years ago

And irritable.

$ 0.00
2 years ago