The three pigs

24 78
Avatar for wakeupkitty
3 years ago (Last updated: 1 month ago)

"Off you go", she said
holding the door wide open right after the three came out of bed.
It was high time to stand on own feet
enough was enough.
"Can I have breakfast first", Fatso peeked at the dough.
It was not a bread yet but he could wait like he usually did.
He wasn't the type to rush into something new and tried to sit
down but he hadn't counted with his mother's firm paw
she kicked his ass and outside he landed with a huge bow
in front of the gate.
"We better leave mate."
His brothers weren't that stupid and did understand
there was no room left and on the other hand
it was great to finally see the world,
build a life without any adult
telling them how or what needs to be done.
The world looked great and even the sun shone.

They walked together and followed the path
while searching for food and gathering what
looked handy to build a home of their own.

Fatso is not the fittest of those three
'cause his main problem is he's as lazy as one can be.
After a walk of only two times a quarter, his motivation was extremely low.
He announced he wouldn't set a single step instead make himself a hut out of straw.
There was plenty of it,
way more than he needed.
His siblings frowned but it was fine with them.
There's no need to argue about what's good or bad,
since none of them was familiar with life's issues, mom had always handled that.


After a walk of two times an hour, perhaps a bit further,
the second brother said he could commit a murder
for a place of his own including a mud pool.
He would start working on it right away since the weather was nice and it was a perfect day.
"This spot is great and I can't wait to enjoy my own home."
As he turned around to look at his brother the eldest was gone.

"I would love to be a nomad", Senior thought I don't care about wandering alone
but still, I could build a place of my own.
Just for those days, I might like to rest,
want to relax, or will have a guest.
He truly loved the familiar scenery
but with different folk was he wanted to be.
That's why he followed a new route.
Life was great, adventure ahead, he felt so good.
Strong enough to climb a mountain but why not start with a hill?
"You can't have everything but what counts is the will
to succeed", he snorted pleasantly
"Let's see..."
A cottage out of stone arose.
Although it wasn't his first choice,
it was good enough to build him a home.
A place in case of need which he could call his own.
"Something like this I could never build in a day,
not even a week. I can honestly say
the one who made it did a great job."
Since a nap at times doesn't harm a hog
he decided to enter after he had easily unlocked
the door. "Home Sweet Home"
he grunted but... he wasn't alone.

The shack's owner wasn't content with the intruder who locked him out.
He jumped high, climbed on the roof since he was very proud
of the cosy hut, he built over time.
"Let me in", he roared, " this cottage is mine.
You thief!
I assure you if you don't leave..."

"Get away you loser" the swine groaned through the chimney as he noticed the shaggy dog alike tail,
"or I set you on fire!" it snorted while continuing drinking the ale
it had bumped into after being disturbed while he tried to shuteye,
because someone tried to break into his place and that was why
he was in a really bad mood!
"I'm hungry. Let's search for some food."

The chimney was empty but on top of the roof sat
not a shaggy dog but a wolf who just had
the most unwelcome surprise of his life,
right after he had lost his dear wife.
That cabin? It meant the world to him.
For sure that intruder wouldn't stay forever inside,
he would guard his place the entire night
and if needed the next days and twilights as well.
He knew he could easily swell
and blow the whole place away,
but no way
he would do that.
It was all that he had.
As he heard the drunk boar fall and snore
he jumped off the roof, hid around the corner, and watched the front door.

It didn't take long or a pig appeared
out of nowhere. The lonely wolf feared
this one wouldn't make it easier to get
his beloved home back and instead
of blowing his cottage away
he did so with the pig at the start of the day
right before he could knock on the door
and wake up drunk Senior snoring on the floor.

"One swine less to worry about",
the wolf gaped and stretched himself out.
He was patient, had plenty of time.
"No matter how long it takes, I will get back what is legally mine."
He smiled as he thought of his dear wife.
Why did she change already the present for the next life?

At the time the sun left the horizon,
the wolf still waited and watched his spot,
while the pig inside was convinced he did not
do something wrong or bring harm
to anyone. He thought back at his life at the farm
where his mother always took care.
She never told him to beware
of someone else's property.
Which was the main reason why he took so eagerly
what didn't belong to him and
he was rude and even scolded to vent
his frustration about the commotion.
The brainless pig reached for more alcohol, the potion
was still in his blood although his banging head,
nearly drove him crazy which should be a clear warning said.
He couldn't help, resist it, longed for more but
the bottles were empty and he didn't have the gut'
to go outside 'cause he hardly could walk
in a straight line.
"I really could use some more beer or... wine."
Who could he ask for help in case of such an emergency?
Who on earth could that be?
He thought long and hard but without any other outcome
as to leave the place he adopted as his newfound home.
"Later I will go, for sure I will
I just need to lay down a bit longer since my head is still
banging and the steps I take are shaky..."

"Wakey, wakey!"
It was Fatso who intended to knock at the door.
Not that he liked to socialize,
it was more he had a huge appetite and he thought it would be wise
to search for Senior who always knew a way
to find good food and most likely was the one who would ask him to stay overnight.


Right...
who's that boar?
How many more
evil pigs stroll around?
No one in this family
is raised properly?
"Porky this is my ground!
Take your fat paw
away from my gate.
Ever heard of the law?
Be wise.
I don't warn twice!"

Fatso looks up at the guy.
He was huge. He couldn't remember why
he had set foot on this ground in the first place.
Was it fear that had erased
his memory and his hunger for food?
"I'm sorry sir my intentions were..."
He didn't know what he should say.
It had been an exciting and exhausting day.
"I thought, I tried..."
he stuttered looking at all the fur
"... I'm hungry, it's late, you have any food inside?"

The wolf thought long and deep.
"Pork isn't sheep",
was what his wife always said.
She even told him that
pigs are not picky, eat everything.

"You can open the door, there's no need to ring.
There's a large piece of meat waiting for you
but only if you can eat and do
it in silence and leave once you're done."

"I promise you, sir, I'll be gone
as soon as I finished my meal."

"Alright, it's a deal."


More poems/tales:

Snow white

https://read.cash/@wakeupkitty/snow-white-98835fa1

Those 7 goats

https://read.cash/@wakeupkitty/those-7-goats-c61d7136

Little red rides

https://read.cash/@wakeupkitty/the-little-red-rides-a21bdbaa

Communities

(short) Stories / Tales

https://read.cash/c/short-stories-tales-c00f

SYT: Poems

https://read.cash/c/syt-poems-bd19

#wakeupkitty #tale #threepigs #poem











9
$ 2.28
$ 2.23 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @heartbeat1515
Avatar for wakeupkitty
3 years ago (Last updated: 1 month ago)

Comments

Nice story.. I read and watch this story of 3 pigs so many times but still beautiful

$ 0.00
3 years ago

There is the main story and there are several follow-ups. My aunt always told me about the adventures of the three puts. She made them up. If you know the original one and read my version you know what the differences are. I doubt anyone will read it. Just like the other tales not much response but this is what I write. 💕

$ 0.00
3 years ago

A place in case of need which he could call his own.

This is something that I really hope I can have real soon.

What a clever wolf. Those 3 pigs are doomed without proper guidelines from their mother. Set free without any education on what real life will be, unable to differentiate between good and bad.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I hope you will have it soon and not only in case of need or do you intend to travel the world soon?

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I have no intention to travel the world for now but I do have a dream to explore my own state first.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

That is the world you live in and a good start. It'such a pity we hardly know the place we live,the province or country. There's a lot to discover you can go by motorbike. 😁

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Agree but I prefer travelling in a car 😅 where I can bring a lot of food supplies blanket or more things for the travel 😋

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I travel by car and we even sleep in the car if needed. No tent or extra costs. Many do it here and it's safer at the moment. Just read many European countries (capitals, tourist areas) ate changed in code red. Negative traveling advice and no government help if you go over there.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I agree with the cost saving.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

This... was an unexpected twist on the ever popular story

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Every tale is told in many different ways and it's changed through the ages. I think this one is a better story. Pigs do not build houses and it's true they eat everything. Stealing therefore shouldn't be rewarded. Those three porks stole straw, wood and stones in the original story.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I think that story was written solely for child amusement and not to show children how bad pigs can be but they will realize it sooner or later

$ 0.00
3 years ago

If it comes to tales. They were not written for children at all. Even the first Disney animations we're meant for adults.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I know. I've read the tales by the Grimm brothers when i was younger. They were quite gruesome but then stories were adapted to teach children things in a creative way (or so it was when children books were first adapted)

$ 0.00
3 years ago

What Grimm wrote down (these tales were not written by them they just collected what people told) are really kind if you hear the first versions.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Really? I just read the gruespme ones because those are what i found. I'm not sure of any pther versions

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Unfortunately yes. Some you hardly recognize. Young girl cutting of her own arms and legs to be not attractive to an old man she is forced to marry. Many tale about rapes and what the characters do to themselves. Abandon your child must have been normal, leaving it behind. Later it was somehow talked into "good"/not as bad because of poverty. Just like the introduction of the stepmother (not as worse as own mother). Each fairy tale should have hundreds of different versions. I assume each storyteller changed a bit or saw it from a different perspective. 🤔

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I wouldn't be surprised if that happened at all since each person will misinterpret some parts too. If only there was a compiled version of the original though, i would gladly read that

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Made me think of Maleficent, there is a story behind every antagonist in a story. When I was young, I always hate that bad wolf but your own version explained why he's like that because he lost his wife and the he's the real owner of that house. He just want to claim his property.

the pig inside was convinced he did not do something wrong or brought harm to anyone. He thought back at his life at the farm where his mother always took care. She never told him to beware of someone else's property.

For me this shows that how parents teach and discipline has a great effect on their children's actions. (Or I may be wrong 😅)

Awesome story ❣️

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I never hated the wolf or a bad person. I always wondered why, if it was true or not. I never really felt much for the so-called good guy. In reality, the good person was not good, sweet, always listened to the parents, obeyed. Take Cinderella for example. Did she obey? She did not. If she would she had stayed at home and never lost her shoe and married a prince.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I wrote a Three Little Pigs story too, in which they're womanizers and they're trying to swoon the wolf. She and the eldest end up dating.

Also. Did Fatso's mother really name him Fatso. That's heartless.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I have no idea if Fatso was named that way by his mother. I doubt they had names at all. Pigs do not name each other. Number two had no name and senior is not really a name either.

Where can I find your story?

$ 0.00
3 years ago

But if an animal is intelligent enough to hold conversations, isn't a name important?

It's here, but I haven't finalized the story or the artwork: https://vampiremeerkat.fandom.com/wiki/The_Three_Belittling_Pigs

$ 0.00
3 years ago

No, I don't think so since it adds nothing to the story. Mother pig hasn't a name, neither has pig number two or the wolf or the wolf's wife. Feel free to name them. The other two pigs can consider themselves lucky.

$ 0.00
3 years ago