Reading is useful

17 77

Life of a moderator

July 3, 2020

Do you read?
I mean do you read all those people you give a thumb-up to or is it just about doing them a favor because they do the same for you?
It's not such a long time ago the point system changed and @Read.Cash told us the upvoting circles are forbidden. I think they still exist. I believe most of you hardly read and spent more time in a quick post than taking the time to read, compliment, and click on that thumb for appreciation.

How do I know?
Because I spend many hours a day on this platform reading. I mainly read and comment. I wish I could say the good articles are appreciated. All of them are investing in making this platform one of the greatest. Good writers invest by writing good content. Rewarding them adds something to this platform. It is an advertisement for this platform, a platform you join. Especially after the very generous and welcome donation of Marc de Mesel (he filled the fund which means this platform can live on a little longer) we all should show we stand and appreciate quality.

During the past days I mainly read freewrites because of the contest.
All entries are read, participants receive help, by commenting is told what to change to make an entry valid. Four days from now, the judging will start and after that, the winners will be announced. I wonder if you know who makes a good chance to win? Perhaps you have an idea if you read the entries.


There are three communities about freewriting.

Freewriting (pick your own prompt, timer set at 10 minutes)

Self-motivation (3 given prompts, timer set at 10 minutes)

Alcohol effects (6 given prompts, timer set at 10 minutes)


Freewrites about alcohol effects are entries to the contest the community Freewriting hosts.

@Read.Cash sponsors and the contest started to help users write better, faster, and think differently, to stop the endless stream of the same messages, copy-pastes, and cited phrases of others. To learn you to use your own databank which is in your brain, are your personal thoughts, opinions, feelings.

It turned out to be a good idea to practice freewriting first with the topic of self-motivation and to allow three entries instead of one for the contest.

I read such great freewrites, good writers, and see people learn fast, being enthusiastic, and grow with each text they write.
Wouldn't it be great if more of us would read them? Really read and compliment them? If we all would step out of our comfortable circle for an hour a day and read something, someone different for a change? Encourage good writers instead of abandoning them?

Is it really so hard to engage, meet some new writers, and learn from them?

As a moderator, I am so lucky to be able to read many posts a day but I am not the only one who can do this.

Visit a community, a different one you usually do, and read what is written. Follow some new writers. I am sure you will be surprised, can learn a lot and each text you read is an inspiration for your next article.

Some freewrites I just read and like to share.

Can only drinkers describe the effects of alcohol? No, of course not. It's truly an alcoholic can not easily be recognized and he/she always finds an excuse why he/she is different.


Do you ever wonder what happens if a man starts drinking because he lost his job and how it feels for the victims he makes?

@Ozzyywrote an impressive story. Empty bottles, broken homes.

What happens if you lose control and can not defend yourself?

@Yen has something to share with you before the worms arrive. What are the effects of alcohol?


More life stories about the effects of alcohol. This one might make something clear to you.

The man who sleeps in the chair written by @kat2x

Keep in mind that what is written doesn't need to be the truth, to share your opinion, or to have a satisfying end to make a good freewrite.

27
$ 2.88
$ 2.77 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.11 from @Telesfor

Comments

Reading is wonderful especially when you read a certain book that gives you lesson or life hacks. It widens the rage of your Lea rning and allow you to accumulate tho ideas and share that with someone.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

"Readers who make use of what they read are leaders". It is very good to cultivate the habit of reading.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thank you for mentioning me. Its good to know that my entry was noticed 😊

$ 0.00
User's avatar Yen
3 years ago

I always read before I vote, but I do not always comment.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

It is good to know you do read before you vote. Thanks for letting us know. πŸ‘πŸ€

$ 0.00
3 years ago

It's great to see my article featured here, and yeah, I'm a bit picky about what I read, but once I see your title or blurb, I read it to the end and make sure I leave a comment and thumbs up to show I was interested in what you wrote.

It's important to show support for the writer's hard work.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

It is important indeed. It's good to be picky but you know what? It might surprise you what great things are written even if the first sentences make you run. Perhaps you will read some more freewrites now and who knows discover some new writers you might like to follow. πŸ€

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I guess you're right. My habit of judging a book by its cover might make me to lose out on some of the best articles. I'll check out more freewrites from now on, because the Freewriting group has made me discover a lot of nice writers.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

If we read the writings well, we will know a lot.. Many writings are very informative. Many writers give us a lot of important information through their writing. So, We need to read the writings well.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

We need indeed and it's not always important if we understand everything, it's not important we agree but it is important to discover what what is read does to us. All these feelings, thoughts are good to stimulate us writing. πŸ’•

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Yeah. Your are absolutely right.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Reading is very important things so you have a lot of knowledge to learn not just from the other people.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

What writers do most is reading. I hope you invest time in reading here too. Thanks for stopping by and reading and commenting me. πŸ‘πŸ’•

$ 0.00
3 years ago

There is a difference. For example, I nearly universally upvote @Cain's posts. I'm pretty sure he does too. The difference here is that we didn't agree to do it. We don't coordinate, we don't promise each other upvotes. I just enjoy his writing, he probably too. Same is probably with @Telesfor or a number of other users who have been here for ages. But believe me, this difference is visible for us :) There are ways to find out if the upvote is more or less genuine. There are still upvoting rings, and yes they might even earn a $0.50 or so... but they eventually get detected and lose access to money. Then they come complaining about that :)

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Yes, I really love reading.. I am just a newbie here.. But then, I enjoyed reading articles.. Read.cash had a good writers.. I learned a lot in just a short time..

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I read everything I give thumbs up to. I won't give a thumbs up if I didn't like the article and I wouldn't know if I liked it or not if I didn't read it. Same when writing comments. :)

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Wow! This is unexpected, I see my name on someone's article. πŸ˜… I feel flattered. πŸ₯°β˜ΊοΈ Well, I do read and finish reading a post which I find interesting and leave comments. I also did upvote when I really like the content. I even go through the comments and interact with others if i find it necessary, if I could share some tip.

Good writers can be seen if you just read through their write ups and they deserve appreciation. you'll appreciate more when it's original.

You'll learn a lot from reading. You'll be able to apply it in writing. As for me one Of my goals is to find out where my mind brings me while I write with focus and full motivation. It feels good to write and read your own composition afterwards.

$ 0.00
3 years ago