The Man Who Sleeps in The Chair (Effect of Alcohol: Entry #2)

Avatar for kat2x
Written by
3 years ago

A charming little girl wakes up at midnight. With a perplex look on her face, she comes out to see the commotion that woke her up from deep sleep.

She sees her mother in the front porch, nagging at a man seated in a chair while picking up empty bottles scattered on the floor. The girl helped the mother clean up the mess.

The man was vocally unresponsive but kept nodding. She continued picking up not looking at the man thinking he might have just chosen to keep quiet instead of yelling back at her mother.

Suddenly she hears a loud snore which made her jump from where she stood. She looked around with fear but sees nothing. The mother silently laughed at her reaction and told her to go back to sleep. The girl hurriedly ran back to bed and curled her body like a worm under her thick blanket.

Days, months, years flew with the wind like ashes. The girl grew bigger and kept seeing the same scenario every time people gather around their home during parties and other special occasions.

Alcoholic drinks are always served in the men's table. Not only one but more than two boxes every time. The girl kept seeing that man sitting in the chair, nodding to someone as if showing his full support. The other person talks to him, starting to release his sentiments. The man just kept nodding.

The girl grew up and started to understand. That man was her father. He is a good person, no issues, no other vices but drinks a lot. You can say he's an alcoholic, a regular drinker of rum. But this man only drinks after a long day from working on different things at home.

He has retired from work long time ago and stayed home getting busy with making furniture and improving the house. He never stops moving because it keeps him active. He doesn't want to just sit and do nothing at all. In short, he always wants his day productive.

That man only drinks (according to him) because it relaxes his muscles from long day of heavy work. But believe me, he works everyday but only drinks on weekends or special occasions and with the company of other men in the family. It's his only way to unwind.

So, as the girl turned into a woman, she found out her father has slept in the chair every time he consumes enough alcohol. One time she asked her father why he is asleep even in front of the others while the drinking is still on going. His answer is that maybe that's how his body responds to the effect of alcohol. It shuts his eyes but he is actually conscious. He can hear people around him talking, he even watch television with his eyes shut because of his drunkenness. Then eventually falls asleep without warning.

She remembered that night when she jumped from a very loud snore. She thought it was something from the dark woods around their home. Eventually, she realized it was her father after all.

That man is my father and I was that little girl.  

First attempt: around 11 p.m. (estimate) Philippine time July 2, 2020.

FAILED! I fell asleep upon writing this using my phone and alarm clock as timer.

Second Attempt

Deleted last night's text and started all over again.

Time : 10:10 a.m. - 10: 20 a.m. July 3, 2020 Philippine time

Device: Computer

Timer: Stop watch on my phone

Grammar Checked: Online Editor - Grammar Checker (free)

Took a little while to proofread and polish two grammar errors.

Not translated.

Preparing for 3rd entry (as I challenge myself to write again)

2
$ 0.00
Sponsors of kat2x
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for kat2x
Written by
3 years ago

Comments

Nice one. Your story is nice, almost sad but all the same very interesting. I used it to take a small leak into the mind of an alcoholic

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thanks, I like writing stories and most of the time relatable to my personal experiences so that I could feed my mind with more ideas. 😉 I feel happy reading this over and over.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

This is a beautiful story. I do not know your father but I think that he is a great man.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thanks.. He is.. For me I see him as Jack of all trades in our home. He can do anything.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

This is a good story. You're father may be a drinker but after reading your article I thoughr of him being responsible.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

He is a very responsible one.. That's why even if we have gaps I have full respect for him

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I hope all fathers out there are responsible like yours.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Nice story. This is quite long for a ten-minute article but I can understand it. You really don't need to think about what to write because they're all in your memories. Good luck with the contest. 🍀

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Wow 😮. I love how you stated every word and sentence. It's very clear and easy to understand. I think this entry deserve to win. 😉

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Wow!!! Amazing story. Thank you sir. Carry on. 😌

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Not a daddy's girl here but made me wish I had a father like you do.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I don't know why, but I seem to have a jolt of respect for your father after reading this..

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I have strong doubts you wrote this in ten minutes. I am a bit confused about how you wrote so please, explain it.

You wrote a good story and most of all you somehow managed to nearly understand why the man, your father, started drinking. I think you can write some really great stories out of this part.

A small tip if your time is up and you want to finish a freewrite: mention "time is up" and simply finish you story if you feel to it. Know a freewrite does not needs to be finished.

👍🍀

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I wish we could insert screenshots in comment boxes. My typing accuracy is 60-65wpm. I double checked this writeup in wordcounter. net and it says this contains 547 words which I guess would justify the time. Some typing errors were corrected after time's up. Nothing added except only there's two grammar suggestions which I corrected immediately.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Collections after the 10 minutes are over are allowed. 👍

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I did write it in 10 minutes with my computer and keyboards, I type fast with my keyboards than my phone.

I've been constructing it in my mind already during the night and I fell asleep so I even deleted the whole text then wrote and did it all over again to be fair.

The story was already fixed in my mind so I know the details of what I should write in there. I have been thinking of it the whole day yesterday before I started the challenge that's why I started late. What I did was think of a title first. It gave a big impact to how I construct the scenarios. I never stopped typing so there were few typos but fixed it during proof read before I Copy pasted on the grammar checker and I was even happy I don't have to correct a lot of errors since I got only 2 grammar suggestions.

I apologise for the time frame I wrote in there. I should've typed stopped at 00:34 on the timer (that's not even 10 minutes, so I have 34 seconds left then) . As you can see I put "stop watch on my phone", I stopped the phone few seconds after I finished typing. I'm in a hurry this morning out of excitement so I just looked up my clock. Forgot to screenshot the stopwatch. My apologies for that.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I believe you it's faster with a computer than keyboard and that is the reason why is asked what device people use. It keeps a bit struggling with a phone and if you ask me a tablet is even worse. Some wrote with pen and paper. I think I type faster. 👍

$ 0.00
3 years ago