Minced meat

8 17

In the Netherlands, a "bal gehakt" (ball of minced meat) is very common. Most known is minced meat out of a mix of pork and beef or beef only. Beef is more expensive and the meat tastes dryer.

Since minced meat is one of the cheapest meat kinds you can buy it may be clear it's eaten a lot and not only in pasta sauce or pesto. Just a bit in a "one-pot dish" can give your dish at least the taste as if meat was in it.

A ball of minced meat can be eaten with each dish out of potatoes and vegetables and it's easy to make more meat out of it by adding a raw egg and bread crumbs.

Needed:

  • Minced meat

  • Egg (raw)

  • Bread- crumbs

  • Oil

  • Pan

  • Spices

  • Oil/butter

Step 1:

Minced meat (500 grams), 1 small raw egg, breadcrumbs, garlic, salt are stirred well.

Step 2:

You can make balls out of it (size of a tennis ball), burgers, or smaller balls (good for snacking). I go for the burgers because it goes faster.

Step 3:

Fry with some oil (I used sunflower oil) at one side. If you make balls you have to temper your fire and carefully roll over the balls till they are baked equally).

Turn the burgers.

I added onion to it because these burgers will end up on bread and some soy sauce.

This will be our dinner and last meal of the day. We are it without sauce because it tasted fine enough this way.

What about those balls?

I made them smaller, fried them into the same pan, and added the last tomato ketchup to it with some water. After the balls are equally fried they are still raw inside. You need to add water or a sauce to take care of that. The bigger the ball the longer it takes.

Snack bars, supermarkets, and butchers sell already prepared balls as well. Some are still raw, others you only need to warm up, although they can be eaten cold too. The smaller balls are available canned or vacuum-sealed.

A "berenklauw" (bear's paw) is a ball minced meat cut in slices. Between those slices is an onion. It's covered with a thick warm peanut butter sauce.

More fast recipes

Apple sauce

It's a piece of cake

One-pot dish

#kittywu #recipe #fastfood

5
$ 0.10
$ 0.09 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.01 from @heartbeat1515

Comments

I use minced meat a lot, because it yields a lot, I prepare it for empanadas, bourgeois cakes, etc.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I am interested in hearing more about bourgeois cakes. I wonder what it is. Perhaps, if you have time you like to share your recipe and a photo what it looks like? Might be we call it a "hartige taart" (spicy pie).

$ 0.00
3 years ago

This is my favourite food. I love it especially the one my husband made few years back with pork meat. I do not know what he added into the meat. He add on lemon juice before serving. I'm going to make him dp this again once oir house is finished. He will have more time then.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Lemon juice that is interesting. Pork meat tastes better for sure. Beef is very dry. You have something to look forward to once the house is finished. Perhaps he likes to share his recipe. 💕

P.s. I noticed a draft uses for the time of publishing the day the draft was made. 🤔

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I hope he will. 😍🥰🥰

I have draft a few times too. Since I cannot delete it, I re-write whole new articles to replace the content in my draft if I am unable to continue what is already written. Most of the time I will have an empty draft.

It happens when I want to write but then I got distracted and I go out of my browser. It is automatically saved. Therefore before I write I will check if there is any unfinished draft use it.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

It only happened to me once or twice. Deleting a draft is possible though. You need to click on edit first before you can delete it but if you write overwrite or use the blank file is an option too.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I like hamburgers and also meatballs. And that preparation with onion is my favorite and also that of my son. Enjoy your meal!!

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Hamburgers the way it's made here I don't like. I assume it's the species. The smell of it already make me gag. I never eat it if I buy the made one's. My youngest likes what I make more too.

$ 0.00
3 years ago