Grandpa

16 51
Avatar for wakeupkitty
3 years ago

June 11, 2020

I have to wake up at 5:30 am although it's Saturday.
The house needs to be cleaned and my mother wants it to be perfect. We go to visit grandpa. He lives in a big villa and he is the only grandpa left. The boy is there to help my dad in the garden and shed. After he leaves my father takes me with him to the supermarket. It's called "the white shop". My dad said he forgot the shopping list but he is very smart. "You know what? We take 3 of each", he grins. I think that's very smart, it is what my mother likes. She has three things each. Cans, pots, cloths, soap. Three is good. We just take the things we have in our cupboard. I can recognize them and my dad says it's fine whatever I take as long as there are three. Later he will throw the list away so my mother won't know we forgot it. It is a good thing my dad had enough money. I am not sure if three isn't too much. What if there are still two at home?

We went to the carwash.
There are big brushes on both sides of the car and there's soap. I can smell it although the windows are closed. Dad waits for outsides he talks to a man and leaves with him. Where does he go? What if he leaves me behind? It's a long way home and I don't think I can find the way back. A part of the way back home I can find. I know where the mean girl in my class lives. I know what the house looks like and the bridge in front of it. It's at the corner where I need to turn to the right. If I walk on for a very long time I will arrive where Francoise lives. After that, all houses look the same just like all people. They all look the same, different from me and my dad.

Dad is back! He opens the door.

"I have something for you."

He gives me a tiny package, a present from the man he talked to. "The white pump" is written on it. What is inside is white too. Peppermints!

"You better eat it before we're back home."


June 12, 2020

We are at my grandpa's house. I slept in the old bed of auntie. I don't know why she didn't take it with her as she left. The bed is surrounded by many small doors and there are some shelves too. Everything is empty but it doesn't matter I like it.

Grandpa has animals and I don't see him much because he is gone and I cannot find him or he lies in his chair. I don't think he's asleep but just keeps his eyes close because his head hurts. Why doesn't he go to his bed? Will it make my grandmother angry? I never see her smile her mouth is always the same. She never plays with me but grandpa does at times. He told me how to play checkers. I bring the came to him and we use a small table in front of his chair. I think grandpa has a friendly face but I am not sure. He never smiles but he doesn't shout at me like my mother. What if she makes his head hurt?
The old neighbor smiles and is kind, he has currants and gives them to my grandmother. I like them with some sugar on top.

Today we'll go back home. The dogs and I always feel sick in the car.

My friends

#kittywu #diary #childhood

14
$ 0.28
$ 0.24 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.02 from @marblely
$ 0.01 from @Alther
+ 1
Avatar for wakeupkitty
3 years ago

Comments

Inspiring articles,and very nice diary

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thank you. Feel free to join the community. All types of diaries are welcome.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I have the same question too, what if there are 2 items at home and dad buys 3? And how does he decide which item to get? I can imagine how stressful it is to shop like this. I never knew my grandpas. They left before I was born. Your diaries always bring back memories. Thank you for that <3

$ 0.00
3 years ago

If you always buy the same things, have the same in store it's not that hard. All basic ingredients. I guess he hid what was too much or didn't care and most likely it was good for the next fight.

One grandpa died on father's day after my birth, the other one as I was about 7 years old.

You are welcome to share your memories. Some come back while writing, playing checkers for example but I can now even see what the table looked like. There were 3 in different sizes. 🙂💕

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I lost mine so many years ago. But the few days I spent with him was so interesting and awesome.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Isn't that what counts most? Your grandpa left you with great memories. After all these years he lives on in you.

I thought I never knew him but I do, I did. I figured out some memories where no memories but what people told about him. I dug in history and the best thing I read was his travel journey to Israel. Year's after he passed I put his photos in an album by following his travels.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Wow

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I love my grandpa also.He lives in village and I have some great memories with him.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I do not have many memories. He never visited us in a frequent base and during those days I stayed at his house I hardly saw him. I am not sure if it was because he worked, he didn't like to see my parents or he suffered from pain.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I have no memories with my grand father and grand mother. Because, they died before my birth. When I read your article, it felt me sad.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

One of my grandfathers died after my birth on father's day. I do not have much memories of my grandpa. He died as I was young because if bone cancer. Most likely he suffered from it for a long time.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

You are lucky that you have some memory with your grandfather. But I have no memory with him.😭

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I am sorry to hear that. No one who can tell you anything about him? In the end it was my grandpa himself who did. I read his travel diary to Israel. 💕

$ 0.00
3 years ago

My parents told me something about him. But it's not enough for me. Because everyone needs to love by their grand parents. But I couldn't.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I don't think grandparents automatically love grandchildren and are present. You can be sad about it but you can not miss what you never had. This is what you make yourself believe or others make you believe. Your life is not worthless, you are not loved less because you had no grandpa. Many children grow up without grandparents, aunts and uncles, a father, and a mother. That doesn't mean they all are missing something, are not loved, and will not grow up into great people.

Believe me, parents, grandparents who beat you up, hate you, or ignore you are worse than those who never existed.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

You are right dear. I absolutely agree with you. Sometimes, I think about those people who have grand parents but they don't love them.

$ 0.00
3 years ago