1800 kilometers

62 86
Avatar for wakeupkitty
3 years ago

It's Monday, July 13, 2020, a few minutes after midnight.

Monday just started and today is the day I'll leave on my way back to my daughter. I spent about three hours in bed. The children didn't sleep. One checked the oil of the car and hung the laundry, the youngest did the dishes, both were enjoying themselves as I came out of bed. Before I went to bed I fed the wolves and filled many basins with water. The only thing left is three bones for each of them.

Goodbye house I see you in a few days.

On my way to the highway, I took care of the garbage. The children their mood was good. I didn't really sleep and felt a bit worried. What if I get dizzy or get unconscious again?

The roads are so empty. I hope it will stay this way. Traffic jams are not my kind of fun. I have a long way to go. The first stop will be in

Austria

After I bought a ticket to be able to drive through it the first stop was here.

The gasoline is cheap here. I fill my car and the Jerry cans. It's enough to arrive at the place of destination. The discount is because it's self-service and you need to pay with your feet card.

I never saw snakes here but I guess there's a reason they hung the sign.

I'll drive on and will not take a break at this gas station. This place (Oed in Austria) has changed and I do no longer consider it as a safe place to be

This photo is at the wrong place and I can not delete it!

The first toilet break.

It's 5:50 am time for a toilet break and we drink some orange juice. Better not drink too much. It's unsure how many toilets we can use on our journey.

This is a lie. Might be Wifi is free but the fact is there is no internet. The toilet is rather clean. No one wears a face mask. We are nearly surrounded by truck drivers.

A short message to my daughter and off we go.

Germany

To be honest I have no idea where we are but this is a nice place. Somewhere next to Highway A3 in Germany are shops.

There's an Mc CafΓ©. Like usually nothing that we buy looks like what is shown on the pictures. We sit outside. It's warm. Outside face masks aren't needed.

Most tables have labels on which is written you can not sit down. Except for me, there are three more customers. We all go sit outside.

It's getting cloudy.

Next break.

All jerry cans are used to fill the car. I need to stretch my legs and back again. A Renault Clio (1999) is a small car and we are tall.

Not many people are in the parking lot.

There is no gas station here but you can charge your electric car.

No electric cars. The one with the red light is out of order. Imagine you drive an electric car and you need to charge the battery after driving 300 kilometers... it will take you several hours.

So far the Clio drives well. It's just the noise.

I have seven coupons left from the use of toilets. You can save them for one year. Their value is 50 Eurocents. With these seven coupons, I can buy food for the children.

The booklet about horses is a free present and way bigger and better than those cheap toys Mc Donalds provides children with. My youngest is happy with it.

About 300 more kilometers to drive to my destination.

I crossed two borders and at one I could drive on because of the Rumanians in front of me, at the second they made me stop.

"Where are you heading to?" the German asked while his colleague held a shotgun both wearing gloves and a facemask outside.

"Home", I said. I thought it was clear because of my license plate.

" Home" was not good enough so I told him the place and could drive on. My children weren't surprised. I at the border means I have to stop.

Like said only 300 more kilometers.

I already passed Frankfurt is Main but not via the A3. It was a long road filled with misery. Three hundred kilometers of main roadworks, the only good thing was it was still light and not many people were on the road. Usually, around this time, there are campers, vans, tourists everywhere.

Arrival time: about 6:15 pm.

The Renault clip made it. My daughter just arrived home and I gave the car to her. We went to the supermarket to subscribe to her name. Back home the insurance was arranged online.

Bye Clio. Tomorrow I go look for a different car. I hope the clip will pass the test and my daughter will have some fun with it.

#kittywu #traveling

48
$ 7.03
$ 6.73 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.27 from @Telesfor
$ 0.02 from @marblely
+ 1
Avatar for wakeupkitty
3 years ago

Comments

This is soo cool! We practically traveled with you with all your photos! I was wondering about your drive and hey presto! Here it is! :) The skies are so blue! I once drove about 150km one day and another 150km back, following the speed limit and I zonked out the moment I reached my destination and back. It is tiring. Glad you arrived safely to meet your daughter and pass her the car. She may use your faithful Clio now. Have you found your new drive home?

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Hi dear, yes I found a new car. I searched on the internet and decided yesterday morning to have a look at one place here. Before I went to the car service which will test the Clio. They only had three cars for sale, 2 I could afford. The Opel sat terrible in the back (as if I sit on a church bank) the Renault... well I did not want a Renault again but made a test drive. I had a look underneath, picked up the children and decided to go for it. It is a car. Will take me from A to B and no matter how expensive I will get broke on the dirt road anyway.

Tomorrow the Clio will be tested. I pay for the costs so my daughter has a car in case of need and no need for public transport. I hope it will pass the test and she has something during winter. If it is really bad she can sell it.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I'm traveling with you ..

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Happy journey. πŸ’ž

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thank you I arrived. In two days I drive back home.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Okay dear. Back safely at home.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thank you my friend. πŸ’•

$ 0.00
3 years ago

You are most welcome.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I believe you have such a pleasure journey ma? This article actually took me on a tour πŸ˜‚. Greetings to your daughter and other family members. I wish you safe journey back home

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I was happy the car made it although I didn't slept for 38 hours. After that I slept 5 hours and looked for a car, made a test drive, etc. Thank you for reading and commenting. I appreciate it. πŸ’•

$ 0.00
3 years ago

You are welcome. Wishing you the best

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Nice report. Do you know that you can buy food in the Netherlands with BCH on this website? https://thuisbezorgd.nl

$ 0.00
3 years ago

No I did not. The only thing I know is what you buy online is extremely expensive. A good reason not to buy anything online. I have a look at it perhaps it helps my daughter. Thank you for the tip. πŸ™‚πŸ‘πŸ’•

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Do you exchange your satoshis for Euros, or do you keep them and spend them on read.cash?

$ 0.00
3 years ago

A part I spend on read.cash, a part I save for a next contest (on read.cash) and I hope to save a bit for the children for the December month. Some candies and cookies mainly.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Can you buy candies and cookies with BCH? Where?

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I don't know. I will see if there are some online shops who can. I have plenty of time to figure it out. It wouldn't surprise me if the next lockdown will start after the summer holidays. I hope it will not be the case. It's not good for my daughter to be alone for so many months.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

If people behave rationally, there may not be a lockdown. If, like many in the United States, people don't wear masks, there could be problems.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I doubt this has anything to do with how we behave. I think the government(s) try to limit freedomship. They already mentioned no elections, etc..

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I don't agree. If everyone would behave as freely as they wanted, there would be many more dead. Look at Sweden. Relatively few bans, basically no lockdown and 54 deaths per 100000 inhabitants. Germany, lockdown and only 11 dead per 100,000 inhabitants.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Explain to me how it can be there are countries where not even 1000 people died and those who died already had serious diseases: cancer last stadium, heavy drinker with damaged liver, extremely overweight people, etc. Did covid19 kill them or age + illness. In my province not even 14 people are infected! No one died and we have a very high rate of elderly people. They chat and do not even keep distance (this was the only thing required).

$ 0.00
3 years ago

That no people have died in your province, even though nobody follows the rules, is very easy to explain. No infected person has come to your province. Because many people follow the rules, the virus doesn't spread. This is the same logic as the opponents of the vaccine have. "Look, I don't vaccinate, and I won't get sick. The vaccinations are useless," they say. But the opposite is true. Because many people are vaccinated, the virus does not spread, and the vaccination opponents are also protected. But they do not want to understand that.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

You do not understand. People do follow the rules. The only rule with us is: keeping distance! That's all. No face mask we're required during those months. Just keep distance and school we're closed.

There are no safe vaccinations it's not tested and up to everyone to decide when or how to handle your own health.

We have had demonstrations and it turned out no increase of infected people. It's even proved now the chance to be infected outside is close to zero.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Keeping distance is a very good rule. If people keep enough distance, the risk is low. Mask reduces the risk even more, because then even a small distance is possible. In Germany there are very few new infections at the moment. If a sick person is detected, all those nearby are tested. Then it usually turns out that hundreds are infected if they have not followed the rules. Then they have to go into quarantine. If they would not go into quarantine, they would infect others very quickly. At the moment there are not so many infected in Europe. That's good, but it doesn't mean the virus isn't there. The second wave can come quickly if people don't play by the rules.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

The virus will never be away. Not one virus of any illness left humankind. Viruses mutate and a second wave doesn't mean it has to be bad or that bad. During the winter of 2018-2019, as many people died with us because of the flu. The flu no one cares about strangely enough. If it comes to corona many died because medical care was refused to elderly people, they were not taken to hospital.

Our health department says the risk outside is close to zero unless someone coughs into your face. It's proved those hard coughers and sneezers are not the ones who infect many. The big drops of snot and fluid fall down. Those who infect many people are a few amounts of people who for some reason spread way more of the virus than which is common. Those people infect many just by talking and by being inside. They frequently do not show any signs of the illness. The virus they spread are tiny drops floating for very long into the air. That's the danger. Ventilation is a must but will not work if you ventilate above the preacher and the draft brings those aerosols into the direction of the listeners. πŸ€”

$ 0.00
3 years ago

It was actually a long journey o

$ 0.00
3 years ago

It was and in two days I drive back with a different car.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

1800 km! It is a long journey! Hope you did not face any trouble. And all your photographs are showing great day.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

The weather was way better than foretold. I expected a lot of traffic because of the holidays but I assume most stayed home. All traffic jam was in the opposite direction. My car took us where we needed to be which means one of the better travels. πŸ™‚

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Yep, through your photographs it is seemed a nice journey. Hope you will come back home safely.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

The words Free and WiFi are often used together, but they never go with each other, that's for sure. I'm glad your journey is nice, but I'm curious about those snakes.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Such a long journey. Gosh if I was that surely my ass will heat up in the chair. I am Glad you both are safe. And I wish your daughter a Good Luck. πŸ€—πŸ€—πŸ€—

$ 0.00
3 years ago

At times I think if I crawl out of the car "what will people think if they see this" πŸ˜„ Well, I arrived. It could have been way worse. Soon I drive back again. I hope my car will pass the test and my daughter has some benefit from it. At least till next year till Spring starts again.

Good to see you are still here. πŸ’•πŸ€

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Story story....that was a very very long journey..

$ 0.00
3 years ago

It was and soon I drive back again.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Nice travelling

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I wish I could travel also with my family. I want to take them to different beautiful places. But i have a long journey to wait for myself to attain than. I guess I'll just wait for the right opportunity to do that. It's a long journey. Thanks. This reminds me of my family. 😊

$ 0.00
3 years ago

You have something to look forward to. Planning a journey is a big part of the fun. You can write about that and share it. Once you start planning it starts living in your mind. πŸ€

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Yes indeed. Thank you for the idea. I appreciate it. πŸ‘β˜ΊοΈ

$ 0.00
3 years ago

It was a calm but long journey. Hope it wasn't boring though. 😊

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Not as boring as usual because I had plenty to think about.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Have a long trip.keep safe..

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thank you.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I love travel, thanks for this i fell that I'm travelling with my friends again.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Let me know if you do and share it with the community so we can travel with you. πŸ‘

$ 0.00
3 years ago

You went on a really long trip there- ahh i wish i could go on a drive like that here too

$ 0.00
3 years ago

If you wish your time will come and I hope you share it with us. πŸ’•

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Definitely will. hopefully by then I'll have a better camera too

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Keep sharing

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I will be back. 😁

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Extra care and have a safe trip with your daughter 😍 , it is very tiring having long trips my ass will be in pain setting down and also back pain..

$ 0.00
3 years ago

If it comes to it I doubt any chair is good enough.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

That's a long journey. Anyway have a safe ride back home.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thank you. I made it in 18 hours including breaks.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

144 kilometres a day, is already tiring for me. I do not know how to handle an 1800 kilometres drive. the photography you took made the drive seems enjoyable and fun but I guess it is more tiring than fun when you reach home.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

If it's a longer distance you put your mind at... I focus on the first stop, after that the next time. The most terrible thing which can happen to me is I feel tired, dizzy and for the biggest part, it's boring. It's just driving straight ahead and the road looks endlessly. I try to focus on special things worth photographing but I can't because I am driving and stopping the car isn't allowed.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I understand that feeling a bit. Tiredness is the worst especially if it comes with pain on the upper back and neck.

$ 0.00
3 years ago