The Linux operating system, part 1

Avatar for valo
Written by
2 years ago

The operating system (OS) of a computer is basically what keeps it running. If the hardware is the body, then the OS is the mind and/or soul.

What I'd like to cover (those with a star are discussed in this article):

  • History*

  • Structure of the OS*

  • Users and permissions*

  • Distributions

  • Interfaces

  • Terminals, shells

  • Scripting

  • Useful commands

A computer has a body and soul, doesn't it? (Picture: Unsplash).

A brief history

In 1969 a new computer operating system was released called UNIX intended to work on a variety of computers, and, as such, was written in the C programming language. In Linux, everything is treated as a file. Yes, your printer is a file, too. There is a directory structure where files and binaries are organised in. By the way, in case you're wondering, a binary is simply a program. More on that in another article. There were licence issues with UNIX, and that is among the reasons why Finnish computer scientist Linus Torvalds decided to write a free open-source OS following the UNIX paradigm. You can probably guess how name of his creation came about: Li[nus] + [U]NIX.

So what is Linux after all?

A few years ago I mentioned to my mother that I'm using Linux. She had seen me use it sporadically years earlier when my Windows installation would fall apart and I need to rescue data. Her response was "Oh, this is thing where you just type, right?". She was referring to the command line - the tool that interprets the commands entered by the user with the keyboard. You can do plenty on Linux without any graphical interface and without a mouse. Nowadays there is a graphical user interface, so you an run a browser to check out read.cash, view your pictures, read your email, make a Skype call, etc.

How popular is Linux?

The majority of desktops and laptops are running Windows and Mac OS. However, you don't need to search long to find Linux devices. Prominent examples are your router, your Android phone (but not iOS), maybe your smart TV, too. The majority of supercomputers and servers are also running Linux. The enthusiast mini-computer Raspberry Pi is also powered by a Linux distribution. By the way, Mac OS evolved from UNIX, too, however, it is a separate "branch". It's like Linux's brother.

The sudo binary lets a user execute any command. Normally, there are system administration commands are not meant to be run by ordinary users. (Picture: Unsplash).

Structure of the Linux operating system

There are two modes: kernel mode and user mode. The kernel is the core of the system. User mode, as the name suggests, is the set of tools available to the user. There are some CPU instructions only available to the kernel, which ensures that, e.g., a program can't overwrite the OS and make the computer unusable. Also, a user-mode program cannot crash the system. If it gets stuck, i.e., the analogue of the blue screen of death in Windows, then it is due to the kernel. It also handles program priorities and controls external devices.

I have a right

In Linux, users have rights. But we are not all equal, sorry. The user with the highest permissions is called root. It is allowed to perform any administrative task. Other users may be allowed to execute these commands if they belong to the sudoers list, sudo standing for "substitute user do". This means that a beginner can't accidentally wipe important system files and make the OS unbootable.

Thanks @mc5punk for requesting the topic! More articles are on the way the coming days.

7
$ 3.32
$ 3.19 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @mc5punk
$ 0.05 from @Debesh
+ 1
Sponsors of valo
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for valo
Written by
2 years ago
Enjoyed this article?  Earn Bitcoin Cash by sharing it! Explain
...and you will also help the author collect more tips.

Comments

Excellent information. I've been using Linux Debian for years, because the optimization of the PC is much higher. Thanks for writing.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I'm so glad to hear that, thanks so much!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Good article. I appreciate you using and writing about GNU/Linux. I adopted GNU/Linux and open-source software since 1999. It is primary and only one OS on my desktop and Laptop computers.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oh, that's nice! I was still a child when you started but I got curious about Linux in my teens and nowadays it's part of my job.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Question for you: I had an old iMac where I had both iOS and Windows on it (partitioned). Can I do the same partition with Linux and Windows for my laptop, and Linux and iOS for my new iMac?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Certainly, you can install both Linux and Windows on the same device and choose the operating system when you reboot, i.e., a dual-boot computer. This is how I was started with Linux. One just creates a bootable USB stuck, restarts the computer and installs Linux. I know that some people install Linux on their Macs but I don't own one, so I have not personal experience. Depending on your needs, it might be enough to have one OS and virtualise the other(s). I could write an article on dual-boot systems and maybe show how to set up one.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

That would be awesome. I'm weary of iOS and Windows all the time.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Great, thanks for the support! I'll definitely write a tutorial.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I'll look for it and subscribe.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Great and brilliant article, my dear friend. I believe that any person can easily understand the subject. And it shows that you have a lot of knowledge, I congratulate you. Thank you for mentioning me. I hope you have a lot of success in Read.Cash. I send you a big hug.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thank you very much for the kind feedback! I'm happy to hear that you find it clear. And thanks for the support!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You are welcome, my friend. I hope to see another post on this topic soon. Regards.

$ 0.00
2 years ago