Why It's So Much Easier To Give Compliments To Kids

20 48

Have you ever wondered why it is easy to give compliments to kids compared to adults? My wife and I had a conversation about it after we attended the service last Sunday. Dyn-Dyn got several remarks on how she looks and presentable she is and as a parent, it makes us happy that she is appreciated by other folks.

Giving compliments isn't that hard right? Errr I guess it is especially if it is to other people. Growing up, we are not used to receiving complimentary remarks rather what we get from others are derogatory messages in any form, most of the time it is from a short banter from someone.

In this blog post, I will be sharing some of the reasons that are why it is easy to give compliments to kids vs to adults.

Kids are genuine and ADORABLE!

You will never appreciate one until you have one as some people will say. I myself is a proof of that.

In general, kids are not afraid on showing their emotions. Whatever compliments are thrown at them they will respond back with either a huge smile, thank you, or a hug and kiss.

I myself grow up in a household that doesn't cater to such emotions and compliments. Such comes in the form of sarcasm, thus I am more into using sarcasm rather than complimenting.

How about you are you good at giving compliments to others?

When we talk to a kid, we are talking to someone who doesn't have a HUGE EGO yet.

Depending on how the child was brought up, kids, in general, will be more likely to be concerned about what people think about them. If they are happy then they are happy and if they are not in the good mood then they are not in a good mood.

When we give compliments to them, they are not yet someone who is full of themselves and they will not think further if what you are saying is a sarcastic remark or not. As an adult, when we receive compliments from everyone we tend to make it big at times in our heads. Like, is there something wrong today? Why is this person giving compliments to me? Are they talking behind my back etc.? Admit it, you have such thoughts like that too I guess?

Kids but, know that it feels good to receive a good remark from someone. No added gibberish at all.

They don't hold grudges like adults.

As I shared earlier giving compliments to other people is quite hard. I mean it is tricky! THERE ARE A LOT OF THINGS TO CONSIDER!

Let's use a classic example as a case study

Imagine you are a couple. You give a flattering remark to your partner, what is the first thing that your partner will say? Aside from thank you! the other message that you will get is what is your sin against me this time? or what do you need?

There are times wherein the best-intentioned compliments are often received because adults now have their own insecurities and issues that we deal with!

Conclusion

I know it is hard to give one especially if you are not used to giving and receiving one but as we all know practice makes permanent let's start by giving such remarks to other people. But still few points to consider before sending those compliments make sure that you need to be mindful in giving it and show sincerity. As a parent, we need to nurture them in a way that they can empower other people with their words and build everyone up.

12
$ 4.12
$ 3.38 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @Alther
$ 0.05 from @Laurenceuuu
+ 6

Comments

As parents how duties is for us to ensure they are safe and nutured in a way that will make them feel loved . Nice meeting you Sir ✌🏻

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Howdy! nice meeting you too!

Exactly it is our duty to make sure that they will grow up safe and secured regardless of the situation.

Thanks for dropping by!

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Ang cute rin sa part na kapag may sinabi kantas natuwa sila ang ganda ng smile nila 😭💓 tas yayakapin ka o ikikiss. May bata moon tawag sakin lola jusko marimar 😭 oero ang kyut nya tas ang sweetttt

$ 0.01
1 year ago

hahah pag tinawag ka na lola nako wag mo bigyan ng kendi. Pero sa true ang ku kyut ng mga bata kasiiii bakit baa

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I love giving compliments to my kids, especially the toddler so it would boost their confidence. And yes, they don't hold grudges. Kids are one of the best teachers. It is amazing to learn about life with them.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Yes that is true. I also learned that with my wife, whenever I use sarcastic remarks to my child she corrects me and say that I should say empowering words to our child because they take everything literally.

Though I tend to joke saying "she is ugly" she mentioned that it is taken with the pure context thus I should always say my daughter is cute and beautiful etc. so that her confidence will be boosted.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I myself always compliment a child, for me yeah they are easier for just a word and smile its enough proof unlike adult that validating seems like we shall think more than twice haha.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Sa true like hey nag cocompliment na nga tanggapin nalang kasi di pa ang daming pang iniisip.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Kids are innocent and clear hearted beings that's why I always try to love them and praise them while it's difficult to compliment on adult because they are double faced most of the time

$ 0.01
1 year ago

I certainly agree on this part. Adults tend to think about whether we give a genuine compliment or not. Thanks for dropping by!

$ 0.00
1 year ago

We love to make children happy by saying good words to them.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

True to that - a happy child is a happy household.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Kids are really smart when they don't like the compliments they will turn it back hahaha. So cute.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

HAHAH this is true! I had experienced it multiple times with my niece and nephews if they do not like the compliment nangiirap talaga sila.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Totoo din yan at minsan msasaktan ka pa sa sinasabi nila hahaha.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Physical o emotional hahaha o both?

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Hala dami pinagdadaanan hehehe. Mwnin po

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Hahaha sana dinaanan lang. Minsan napapa kape pa, minsan nakikitulog 😂😂

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Kids are pure and adorable. My niece are fond of compliments and their reaction is so cute though. However as a tita I like teasing them a little bit too lol. 😅🥰

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Tita/Tito gaming haha nako been with that situation and experiencing such din sa mga tyuhin ng baby namin. NAKOOOOO ang sarap lang minsan talaga magpaiyak ng hindi mo anak minsan. HAHAHAH

$ 0.00
1 year ago