I Travelled and Voted for A Losing Candidate and I am Proud of It.

13 37
Avatar for tpkidkai
1 year ago

Have you had the chance to vote yesterday?

If you did how was the experience?

I proudly say that I voted, and I voted for a candidate that doesn't have any chance to win at all.

Before sharing whom I voted for, let me share my experience first.

4:00 AM PH time, I left our home in San Pablo City Laguna to go to my precinct in Biñan, Laguna. I waited for more than 20 mins to get a tricycle ride going to the city proper. It is 4:00 and a holiday, thus few people are going outside nor going to the city proper to buy some goods. The pathway is dark, though there are solar bulbs within the area still the light is too dim. because it wasn't sunny for the past few days? That I am not sure.

After arriving in the city proper I rode another jeepney to reach SM San Pablo, this is where I usually ride the bus going to Calamba, Laguna it is around 1-hour travel. The bus is jampacked and social distancing is not practiced anymore. I stand in the aisle holding my bag tightly. Btw I still have a work at night thus I brought my laptop in that way, once I am done voting I will just go home to my parent's house in the afternoon and sleep till evening, log in and work then after ending my shift will go home at 5:00 AM in San Pablo. ( This is the plan that didn't happen)


I reached the terminal in Calamba, I found out that the public vehicle that we used to ride isn't there anymore. The terminal lost its franchise and I need to travel back to the grand terminal to get a ride to Biñan. I arrived at the grand terminal at around 5:30 AM I guess. Voting starts at 6:00 AM and in my mind, I know that I am too late already to vote as I will need to be waiting in lines for sure.


I got my ride to Biñan and arrived at the place at around 6:30 AM. In the interval, I walked for almost a kilometer as the school isn't near and my money is just enough for the regular fares. The only bill that I have is a thousand pesos, and I cannot find any store to have it changed thus I walked. I am now used to long walks already as for the 6 months living in San Pablo I usually walk for more than 30 mins just to get to the waiting shed for tricycles.

In the voting precinct after getting my sequence number I already followed the line of people in my precinct. Waited for 4 hours in the line as some "watchers" give misleading information to everyone. Some watchers advised the PWD and the seniors that they cannot vote in the area and there's a designated place for them and some said that they can just fall in line and they will be set to priority. After the fiasco, they advised that seniors will be a priority. Thus the senior citizens flooded the doorway.


Somehow I was frustrated but I understand very well the importance of them being at first. But to be honest, I felt that it was unfair as we came in early but once a new challenger will be there immediately the regular line will stop and the seniors will take in. There was a time wherein the seniors occupied the whole room. The machines are working perfectly and the election officers are fast so now you understood why it took me 4 hours just to cast my vote. Some left their post while waiting as they are not seeing any movement in the first 2 hours and I cannot blame them I felt that too,


Who did I vote for?

Some may not understand why I spent much time voting and I also doesn't before. I also wonder if I should be going home or not as my candidate will not win for sure.

No, I did not vote for Leni

Leni is a second choice but I voted for Ka Leody de Guzman.

The reason why I picked him is because of the legwork that he did when he is campaigning during the election. He went the extra mile and show his platform to the poorest of the poor. He even visited indigenous people to ask for votes. I know from the very first day that he will not win the election and told myself that he might be a nuisance candidate but he shows up and twerk his way to be noticed.

I saw his social media presence and even if there were no funds to spare he managed to get the hearts of other people. He also took the opportunity to voice out some concerns and file some cases to the agencies of the government since the media is following him too.

What is the plan now?

Since it is now showing that Marcos is leading most probably he will be the next president of the country. I will still support the government and be a law-abiding citizen. I will not go to the streets but will submit myself to the authority.

I have mixed emotions, but overall excited about what will be happening in the next 6 years.

6
$ 0.97
$ 0.94 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.02 from @Momentswithmatti
$ 0.01 from @Shawon130
Avatar for tpkidkai
1 year ago

Comments

winner or looser its normal fact. But I feel hurt your candidate lose. But respect you that you feel proud of it and maintain it.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

It is always a thing of joy, voting your choice even when he doesn't win, sorry dear, maybe that wasn't God's choice for his people...

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Same feeling as you, but I hope everything will be okay and for our country, we have to be united to have a good future and arising again,,laban LNG pilipinas

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Oyyyyy San ka nagwowork sa San Pablo. (Not stalker just excited lols) our house is in binan but I reside now in cavite. I also go to San Pablo for my business... Strange coincidence ahahah

It's that we exercised our rights that matter....kung sino man nanalo eh nasasauo pa rin naman nakasalalay future mo

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Dito kami nag ste stay na sa San Pablo - Brgy. Dolores then nasa hi-way lang kami. From Biñan naman ako originally pero since si wife ay taga dito + mura ang rent ng bahay we decided to relocate nalang para di na ganun kalaki ang expenses. Tsaka masikip masyado ang binan compared dito na marami pang puno at halaman.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Uyyyy alam ko yang Brgy Dolores! Sa Brgy 2A Yung business ko .hahha Yung Hiway papuntang bicol malapit sa Franklin... Ahahah .. natutuwa lang ako kase Ang galing never met someone from this platform na malapit lang sakin... Ahahhaha

Yes mura pa bilhin sa San Pablo tas fresh na fresh pa Ang gulay at isda!

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Ah alam ko to! Dyan kami nababa minsan pag galing ng Alabang.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Waiting in line for four hours? That's a lot of time to wait. Ka-Leody platforms for our country were indeed great the only thing that he failed to gain a lot of supporters is because he wasn't that popular, unlike Marcos and Robredo.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

True to that, medyo mataas kasi ang pinag apply-an nya agad kaya di sya ganun ka kilala ng mga tao. Pero his credentials as a leader are superb too.

Pero ayun na nga, maybe it would be better if he started in the congress all the way to senate pataas.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Opo, even Ping have a great credentials but I guess this year isn't their time

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I voted, waited for 3 hours.. good thing breastfeeding moms are given priority

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Dapat lang - nako may mga baby na magugutom kung di nila yan gagawin.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

uu nga eh..

$ 0.00
1 year ago