How To Deal with Toxic Friends Who Make You Question Yourself

18 42
Avatar for tpkidkai
1 year ago

Let's face it—sometimes our friends aren't so great! Don't worry. We've all got them. You know the type: the friend who has room in his party for you but then spreads mean rumors about you behind your back. Or the friend who is a pathological liar, yet you find yourself having to correct the truth.

These are toxic friends—harmful influences that can make you question yourself, your identity, and your future. And yet, it's hard to let go of these toxic friends. After all, you've known them for so long, and they've been there for you through thick and thin.

You don't want to hurt their feelings by ending the friendship, and not over an issue that seems small in comparison to all your years together. So what do you do when you're faced with a toxic friend?

Here are some tips to help. Identify your friend's toxic traits.

Toxic friends are often very good at making you feel guilty for disagreeing with them.

They'll make it seem like you're being selfish and rude if you don't conform to their way of thinking. If this is happening in your friendship, then it's time to take a step back and reflect on all the issues that have arisen between the two of you over time. Are there any patterns that emerge? Are there certain beliefs or values that are always being brought up as reasons why one person should do something or believe something in a certain way? If so, then this might be evidence that your friend has some toxic traits. If you notice that your friend is always trying to guilt-trip you into doing something or feeling a certain way, then this is one sign of toxic traits.

Manipulative people don't respect your boundaries and will often try to get what they want by playing on your emotions.

Decide what you'll accept and what you won't tolerate.

Once you've identified the toxic traits, decide what you'll accept and what you won't tolerate. It will be important for you to set boundaries with your friend. You don't want to be in a relationship where you are feeling used or manipulated. In certain cases, you will have to draw the line and decide whether this friendship is worth keeping. You can't change someone's behavior, but you can change your reaction to it. If you feel that your friend's toxic traits are affecting your life, then cut off all contact with them and find new friends who support who you are as an individual.

Don't take their opinions on life decisions to heart, especially if they're always negative or judgmental about everything you do or say in the first place — including the decision to end the friendship, for that matter!

If you know that the friendship isn't working out in your favor, then it's time to cut your losses and move forward. People who drain you of all your energy should be avoided at all costs — especially if they're negative people who only see the world in a black-and-white way.

If you're still having a hard time letting go of a toxic friend, try talking to them about why you feel like the friendship isn't working out. If they don't want to talk about it or are unable to see things from your point of view, then consider ending the friendship yourself.

It's important to realize that toxic friends are symptoms of larger problems. By reading this blog post, you've learned a few things about what can cause people to act out as toxic friends. It's also important to remember that there is nothing wrong with you or your friends.

The goal of this blog is not to judge or condemn, but rather to recognize and address toxic relationships so that they can be fixed or abandoned.

7
$ 2.27
$ 2.18 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Jane
$ 0.02 from @DennMarc
+ 2
Avatar for tpkidkai
1 year ago

Comments

We are in different levels of character discovery, they may think their behaviour is acceptable yet for you is toxic. If they can't respect your boundary, move on and you'll find new people along the way. Respond to others, do not believe everything they say for it doesn't defile if you don't let it be planted in you. Those words defile them and there are reaping time for wicked words/seeds.

"You can't change someone's behavior, but you can change your reaction to it. "

$ 0.00
1 year ago

You can't change someone's behavior, but you can change your reaction to it. "

Super agree wth it. As one of the favourite quote that I read. Control what you can and let go what you cannot.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

This just hit home because I've recently been struggling with that for about 6 months one of my friends has gotten so comfortable in our friendship that they resort to using me. I like helping my friends out and I go above and beyond to help them no matter what I do.

I like loyalty an hope that they would do it too so when they ask for a favor I do it and my love language is acts of service so I mostly do things for people to show my appreciation but recently it became so bad that I felt like I was being used so I stopped texting, calling etc I Know it's harsh but once you tell someone and they don't listen you just need to move on.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I like loyalty an hope that they would do it too so when they ask for a favor I do it and my love language is acts of service so I mostly do things for people to show my appreciation but recently it became so bad that I felt like I was being used so I stopped texting, calling etc I Know it's harsh but once you tell someone and they don't listen you just need to move on.

When I realized that I cannot tolerate such behavior anymore I stopped caring. Though it is an abrupt decision on my side it was a relieving experience. Good job on making a firm stand on not being in touch a tap on your back on being brave about it.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Kung may ganyan akong kaibigan mas pipiliin ko nalang ewan at piliin lang ang mga taong tunay talaga sayo. Meron talagang ganyang tao.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Yep, there are toxic friends and there are some that are not. Those will build you up in times of trouble will be the best folks to look for. Sympre same treatment will be given to them din.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

That is the reason I cut my communication with toxic people I know. They are my relatives and I hate them for judging and giving their opinion about what I post in social media. Cutting them in my life made me breathe a fresh air.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

OHHHHHH MYYYY I have some too! This is why I seldom post pics and updates especially sa baby namin daming nag-mamagulang!

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Dami masyado magaling na tao sa paligid ko sa mga Socmed ko nakaka pressure, so para Di ma pressure block ko sila, masaya ako ngayon hahaha

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Cut na lang. Kasi di naman nakaka tulong hihi. There is no other way but to burn that bridge. walk away wag na lilingon char/

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Tusukin ng ice-pick ano hahah para wala na talagang babalik.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

What about toxic virtual friends 😅.. Minsan ignore na lang..let them do what they want.. Let their minds be toxic...dun nmn ata sla masaya..lol..

$ 0.00
1 year ago

So far wala pa naman toxic virutal friends. Pero pag ganyan siguro might as well have them in the seenzone or inboxzone. For sure they will be more aware na you are ignoring them.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

It's hard to deal with a toxic friend. Though I haven't one right now, but back then. Gosh! Maiirita ka lang talaga kaya as much as possible, lumalayo agad ako sa mga ganon.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

HAHAHHA sila naman daw ang lalapit! Pautang! CHHHARR

$ 0.00
1 year ago

If that friends is toxic maybe I rather cut ties with them 😁

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Yes of course. That's the right thing to do.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

True to that, putulan na bago pa humaba.

$ 0.00
1 year ago