Do You Still Believe in Superstitions?

14 55
Avatar for tpkidkai
1 year ago
Topics: Personal Life

Superstitions have been passed down from generation to generation and have been ingrained into the tradition of everyone. If you will be asking some people here in the Philippines, for sure one or two may be saying that they still believe in such.

Growing up, I had encountered multiple superstitions from my parents, relatives, and even strangers.

I always visit the wet market and have interactions with the vendors. Since I frequently go there early in the morning, more often than not I am their first customer for the day. They have this belief of "buena mano" at times I enjoy the treatment as they tend to be more attentive and happy with serving but there are times wherein I do not. I was called a "salty" customer by one of the regular shops that I frequently visit and guess what happened next. ( I made sure that I took a bath before going to the wet market after that scenario). I never went there to buy my goods and just bought my stuff elsewhere.

Sponsors of tpkidkai
empty
empty
empty

So last Sunday, after we went to eat in a local shop which I will share in the future heavy rain started to pour in our area. The terminal to where we should take our ride is quite far so we stayed in a small alleyway to keep ourselves dry.

In the alleyway, there's a salon that offers haircuts for kids that cost around 100 PHP around $2.00. Since Dyndyn is already 1 year old and we are there already we decided to have her hair done and also hope that the rain will stop after the session.

Contrary to what we are expecting she was calm during the process and the attendant in the salon was happy with how Dyndyn behaved.

She was quite a sweetheart!

As we are being interrogated by the attendant, she asked us if this is the first time that she got a haircut. We mentioned that yes it was her first and we are shocked that she didn't have any tantrums in the process. Welp, most of the time she only expresses or shows that she is irritated if she is at home.

Since it is her first we are asked to keep a few strands of her hair and then put them in a book. I am well familiar with that belief as my sister-in-law did that in her son. Strands were kept in a book that I own believing that the child will become smart and he is! He is getting excellent grades at school.

We just respectfully mentioned that we do not believe in such superstitions but still they insisted to keep them I just smiled and said it is okay. I am more into logical thinking so most of the time if someone will be saying something to me more often than not I might shrug them off.

If there's a scientific reason why not? This is what I am into.

One of the superstitions that I follow religiously is not sleeping or laying down if my stomach is full. They believe that it is bad for health if you practice such and my doctor also mentioned that I should not be doing it as I am experiencing issues with my stomach. Hyperacidity to be exact, and there may be a case wherein I may have acid reflux each time that I lay down with a full stomach.

So if you will be asking me if I believe in superstitions, I will say I do at times if there's a scientific backing. But if there's none I do not.

10
$ 2.31
$ 2.05 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Jane
$ 0.05 from @LucyStephanie
+ 5
Avatar for tpkidkai
1 year ago
Topics: Personal Life

Comments

hiiii friend i also believe in some superstitions. we must think practically and logically but some times i believe in superstition 😊

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Ay ang cute nmn... Well behaved baby. :)

Anyway it depends on the kind of superstitions. Sometimes if it won't hurt to just do it I do it, otherwise I just disregard too. Lol.

Also andito ka na rin pala since 2 months ago pa now ko lang nalaman. XD

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Mga nanay natin madalas naniniwala sa mga ganyan eh. Pero one time nakakita kami ng pinag upusan ng ahas. Kapag daw nakakakita ng ganon kumuha ng small portion tapos ilagay or iipit sa libro, magiging smart ka daw. Ewan ko kung totoo, after all superstitious beliefs lang siya

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I think there is nothing wrong with superstitions as long as you are not harming others. For me, I grew up in a household that does not believe in superstitions. I think I always find logic in everything that is happening.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Some superstitious believes are just not real, I still remember while growing up, we were told if someone dies and you are attending the wake keep, when going home, you don't need to walk home directly, but needs to branch a lot of place, since the spirit will be following you

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Ay alam ko to! May iba pang kasabihan na bawal mag take out ng pagkain from the wake. Kasi magagalit daw ang espirito ng namatay. ( If I know ayaw lang ng may-ari na magpa uwi ng pagkain).

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Dami tlga sa pinas.. Pero d ako masyado naniniwala haha

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Sa true lang kaya nako minsan nasasabihan pa ako na masyado nag mamagaling pag di naniniwala sa ganyan.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I also kept my baby's hair from her first hair cut, I forgot what it means pero tinago ko pa dn hahahaha. Ngayon naalala ko na yun pala yun

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Hahha nako dami naniniwala parin dyan, wala naman mawawala kung paniwalaan di naman sya ganun ka dangerous sa life. May iba talaga na wala sa hulog ang pamahiin.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Totoo yan, basta hindi naman maging danger sa health ng mga bata keri lang. Actually tinago ko lang talaga yun kasi may gusto akong gawin or itry as a remembrance.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Haha, me too I am bit superstitious might be get from my parent, and its really hard not to, thinking that negative to happened better do it instead of facing the bad fortune.

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Halo-halo na yan Eu, dami pa kasabihan talaga ng matatanda. Kung di naman ganun ka extreme pwede shrug off nalang at the end of the day ikaw parin ang mag decide kung susundin mo.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I am making $92 an hour working from home. i was greatly surprised at the same time as my neighbour advised me she changed into averaging $ninety five however I see the way it works now. I experience mass freedom now that I'm my non-public boss.

That is what I do.....https://www.easywork2.com/

$ 0.00
1 year ago