When I Grow Up, Can I Do Whatever I Want?

41 72
Avatar for tired_momma
1 year ago

Have you once wished to get older quickly when you were young? Do you have your hopes and dreams that life will be better for you when you're older?

Then Poof! You're old!

And poof! Surprised!

We all have our own stories and life experiences. And there are some that stick to our minds. Like when I was little, I always question God why my Mama and Papa keep fighting all the time. Why does my Papa keep drinking? And why my mother never shuts up, day and night. Like why they don't just go separate ways?

And so I say to myself, I hope I grow up quickly and so I can get out of our house, make money and spend it. And as time pass by so quick I realized that life isn't easy as I thought.

  • I realized that waiting for my father to bring us food to eat is easier than me going to work and buying my own food.

  • That is easier to live in my parent's house for free than me getting a room to rent because that's all I can afford.

  • That getting old is being responsible for your own self.

  • And being old enough is to be independent.

  • That growing up means my parents will no longer hold my hands while walking and pick me up if I fall.

  • That I have to walk alone sometimes. That I have to walk the path I chose. And whether I fall or get bruised I have to get up and help myself heal. It's now all about me surviving alone.

I used to cry for the things that my parents are not able to give me. I used to get jealous of other kids having things I wish I have. Then there's me now, still envying people and crying over things I don't get or can't have. But this time not because of my parents but because of me.

But okay, there's no regret now. Though I still regret wishing on the genie that I grow up fast. I wish I was prepared. I wish I knew that life isn't just sweet and that making money means working from your sweat.

And there, I got my own family. And yes I know now why couples fight. And yes I know now how hard life is. And I know now that it's not easy. For some days I also want to drink. And many days I can't shut up my mouth. And yes the reason why you have to stick with each other despite all the misunderstood and fights.

And yes I am in my parents' shoes now. And now I understand why they are always tired and why money is important. Money doesn't grow in trees, now I understand.

Now I know that I can grow up but I will not be able to do whatever I want. Not all. That things isn't free. And some things are illegal. That you can't just dream and do nothing. And that even when you're old you still have to do as you are told.

So if you're still young, let me give you a piece of advice. Enjoy the moment, don't rush growing up. Enjoy the sweets and the band-aids. If you have young kids make the most of their time. As time goes by so quick, next time the little baby in your arms will start walking and next time it will be at the altar.

Tia ask me yesterday,

"Mommy, can I do whatever I want when I grow up?"

Of course, my love is all I said. I let life surprise her and I want her to chase her dreams and fly high.

But for now, I must prepare my kid's wings. I shall give them all the love, kisses and hugs. And let them know that Mommy is forever by their side.

Don't grow up too fast.

❤❤❤

24
$ 5.40
$ 4.61 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.20 from @Coolmidwestguy
$ 0.05 from @Jane
+ 16
Sponsors of tired_momma
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for tired_momma
1 year ago

Comments

Beautifully written. I do remember wishing to grow up. Now I am wishing to grow young if that were ever possible. Adulting can be so exhausting. But it does make us appreciate the hardships our parents have endured for us.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Ang bata-bata pa ni Tia pero nasa isip na niya yung pagtanong niyan. I can foresee it na maganda yung magiging kinabukasan nitong batang 'to po.

Anyways, yung patungkol naman sa adulthood, Aigoo! Hindi ko talaga maiwasan na may mga pagsisisi ako for the past years na hinayaan ko lang yung sarili ko, lalo na yung i spoil dahil kampante lang sa pagiging only child. Hindi pala talaga madali pag tumatanda na.

$ 0.03
1 year ago

Ren alam no noon nagwish din ako na sana only child ako kasi panganay ako sa lima ang hirap parang nanay din ako pero nung lumaki na masaya. Masayang may kapatid kang matatakbuhan. Saka may tutulong sa magulang kung wala ang isa.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I remember a saying which goes thus" kid are dreamers " this is quite true , when we are young we don't think of any life hurdle, everything look handy just because we given, had it been we have the knowledge that things will not get easier when we become old enough we would have prepare for life and our worries might be minimal.

$ 0.03
1 year ago

When we're young our tears can be solved with sweets or if we fall with just a bandaid or plaster then we will be alright. Haha now the sweets and plaster are not enough 🤣

$ 0.00
1 year ago

It's not, now the reality has faced us haha

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Well Tia is smart and of course she have a lot more to learn in life. But its not a problem because the way you raise them makes their wings become strong to fly high and reach their dreams.

$ 0.03
1 year ago

Thank you, Sis. 🥰

$ 0.00
1 year ago

how well you explained. all very true. we must live to enjoy the moment

$ 0.03
1 year ago

Thank you, dear.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Rica ederim Seni seviyorum

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Ayuun, nasa stage din ako ngayon na naexperience ko mga bills pero wala mapag kuhaan pero I know God will always provide basta uunahin ang will Nya 💛

$ 0.03
1 year ago

We all have to go through it. Mahirap sa una well hanggang ngayon sa pamahal lahat. Antaas na ng cost of living kaya invest tayo sa sarili natin. 😊

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Adulthood is a scam hahaha. I used to think this way...thinking it's all about freedom and all but with piling responsibilities, we can understand why our parents would tell us to reduce the volume of the TV because it's affecting their thought processes 😂😂🤣😂😂😂

$ 0.03
1 year ago

Hahaha. We didn't have tv at that time 🤣

My dear, how are yous coping? Are you settling okay? Does Dara and the wife like it here?😊

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Hahaha I can imagine.

I'm coping great momma...they are settling in so well too. It's like Dara's energy is now doing 100% increase like a crypto as she's all over the place ever since we got here 🤣😂😂🤣

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Tama ka, sis hindi ganun kabilis ang pera nun. Kylngang magsikap pa talaga ang ating mga magulang para sa katulad nating mga anak. Like sa parents ko sis. Maraming sacrifice ang ginawa nila mapatapos lamang kaming 4 na magkakapatid.

$ 0.03
1 year ago

Kaya dapat lang ibalik din natin sa magulang natin ang pagaarugang binigay nila. :)

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I used to feel that way too. I used to think adulthood is so interesting that I can do anything at any time but it didn't turn out that way

$ 0.00
1 year ago

That's the biggest prank of our life. We thought we can do what we want kapag tumanda na Tayo but the truth is not. Hayssss.

$ 0.00
User's avatar Yen
1 year ago

Love this sis. Hehe. I also wish to grow up fast so I can do what adults too like make money and have fun. But poof, it's not always roses and rainbows.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

At that time i thought when i will become Young and now iam Young and currently iam thinking why time is running is so fast and previous life is much better then a current days

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I also wish this before. "I wish I can grow fast" "I wish I can get out of this situation that I am in." "I wish I am happy." Yonf mga bagay na kala natin ee malala na pero nong lumaki kana dun mo na realize ang babaw lang ng mga dahila if ekokompara kasi talaga now ang dami at laki ng pagbabago. Aigooo. And tama, enjoy your childhood. Live life to the fullest.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

when we are child we wished to become elder like our parents but we dont know that the problems of elders are also big ones, its our silly wish to be grow up soon so that we can enjoy our life the way we want but reality is bit different and reality hurts badly

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Right now, I am independent and I can tell you that I now understand how it was for my parents then. I enjoyed being a child with them but growing up, there is a song that is trending now which says; adulthood is a scam. 🤣🤣🤣

Seriously, I now understand many things they go through then and I wish I could go back to being a child but it's not possible because we keep growing.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I hav Ben in a hurry to grow up too sis, but not chasing monet but to find love. Char.

I don't see my parents fight, they keep it discreet. All I see is thier sweet moments. My father holds mom when walki g and stealing kisses from time to time.

And yeah, life is hard yet no regrets. I may not have the material things that I wanted but I had what I needed and I'm sorrounded with lots of love from my three kids and husband

$ 0.00
1 year ago

As children, we usually have all these fantasies and imaginations about having lots of money and living our dream when we grow up but the one thing we failed to think about it how to actually get the money 😆 It isn't just going to appear out of thin air. And now we are all grown and suddenly realize our dreams ain't going to be easy as we thought

$ 0.00
1 year ago

May she stay blessed always and fly high. Actually we all want to grow up in childhood but later on we realized that grown old is means taking lots of responsibilities and pressure.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Yes when I was young I wished to fast forward ahead now I wish to go back sometimes. However with children and even having a genie I wouldn't do it. I think we have to go through struggles to make a better future. We also learn from our parents struggles to not repeat all there mishaps.

I liked your article and will be back again :)

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Yes when I was a child I wished to grow up so that I can fulfill my all dreams but when I have grown up now life seems difficult and it's not the way I used to think in my childhood happy that you are her mother you can prepare her for everything good or bad as life is unpredictable so we cannot expect only good things from it! Better we should be prepared to face every challenge in our lives

$ 0.03
1 year ago

I missed the fact that when you're young you don't know what the real problem is. Now we have to deal every single thing.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Ang ganda naman ng article mo ma'am. Damang dama ko. Maramdaman mo talaga pag nasa shoe ka na ng parents mo at maintindihan lahat. Yes ma'am no need to rush, just enjoy the moment. Just enjoy the life.

$ 0.03
1 year ago

Andami kasi nagmamadaling tapos magreregret na they haven't done this. Done that. Isa na ako dun 🤣

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Oo ma'am merong ganun. Yung nag ra-rush at regrets at the end. Hehe ang lucky mo ngayon ma'am. 🥰

$ 0.00
1 year ago

We have restrictions and it will be till the rest of life. Some restrictions are good and some could spoil our freedom. Depends!

$ 0.03
1 year ago

We can't just simply do whatever we want 🤣 Some of them are illegal. Haha

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I will only know some of these things if I get married 🤣.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Ipapauna ko na ang aking "Good luck" madam. 🤣

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Hahaha so so true.....you can't wait to leave parents house to stay with your friend or alone and poof when you have grown and finally do whatever you wish you then find out that there's a law you have to follow and you are solemnly responsible for your actions and then pooof you want to be a baby again😂😂😂😂😂😂😂 @tired_momma

$ 0.00
1 year ago

It is happy Tia is growing under the shade of mother who had faced a lot of troubles in life. You should prepare her for each and everything. Life is not a bed of rose, I hope what you had lacked in your life will be provided good to Tia and Jigz.

$ 0.03
1 year ago

Life is indeed not a bed of roses, dear. Gotta deal with those torns. 😊

$ 0.00
1 year ago