It Fits Me Right!

37 76
Avatar for tired_momma
3 years ago
Topics: Life, Story, Writing, Experience, Write, ...

I thought it was my birthday but it may be hers. So we went to to the shop to buy a cake. There's not much shop open because of the Covid restrictions for a fortnight. Hopefully will be opened this week.

Then here goes again my daughter Tia went straight into the Kid's Section browsing every aisle. And she stops in this particular aisle of hats and picks up this unicorn hooded scarf with hand pockets. She tried it on.

"Look, Mommy, it fits me right!"

She says it with a big smile on her face. And I was looking at the price tag and thought Β£12.50 is a bit dear for a hat. So I told her to put it back. And that Santa might give it to her coz she's a good girl. But she won't!

"Tia, you don't have money. Mommy doesn't have money."

I told her. And here what she says,

Mommy! (with a big grin) don't worry! Daddy got money on his pocket. πŸ˜‚

Daddy is a way to get Mommy a cake. And when he comes back, Tia gave him this "Please buy me this look" and told Daddy,

Look, Daddy, it fits me right! I love this. It's pink and fluffy and there's a unicorn in it. Can you buy this for me?

She really can buy and sell you. πŸ˜…

And as soon as she gets home, she shows the unicorn scarf to Lola. And ask for pictures again.

Mommy, take me pictures, please!

And there she is! She wears it in school as well and just right for wintertime. It protects her listeners from getting cold. And the hand pockets keep her hands warm.

Parents out there, have you ever experienced trying to avoid toys section because you know that there's always a handful of items your child would ask you to buy?

Do you always say Yes to your kids wants?

It would be nice if we can afford everything they want as long as it has a sense of buying it. As a parent, I don't want to waste money for things that don't matter especially toys that can be broke in seconds. We buy toys but not loads of them.

We don't always give them what they want. I want them to learn to earn it especially my son. Tia still small to understand but time to time we let her know.

If Jigz wants something big, he must earn it. Doing certain tasks can help him learn that money doesn't just fall from trees and must work for it to earn it. Learning them while they're young will be beneficial when they get older. Wants and needs must be established. And the kids should learn to appreciate what they've got!

Don't let your child believe that they are entitled to receive everything they want.

And it's not true that the more you give your child, the better parent you are.

But honestly, sometimes it's hard to say no! πŸ˜‚

Share your thoughts in the comments below.

Thank you for reading!

20
$ 2.73
$ 2.26 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @RaemaKhan
$ 0.05 from @Jane
+ 7
Sponsors of tired_momma
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for tired_momma
3 years ago
Topics: Life, Story, Writing, Experience, Write, ...

Comments

Yeah its fits her where are you from tired momma

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Being a mother or a father is thhe most difficult task in the world.Nevertheless,one thing is clear: borders must be.Living without borders,limits can be very difficult for a child.Ones you set them up,give your child a safe space.This will teach your child what a desire is and what a real needs are.Even if you have enough money to be able to buy your child whatever he or she wants every day ,dont do it.The child needs to understand that money needs to be worked on. But I agree with you that sometimes we cant resist the child and buy him or her what he/she wants.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thank you for this. There should always be a limit. We should learn them what matters most. That needs and wants are two different things. πŸ₯°

$ 0.00
3 years ago

She has such a cute hat nowww! I hope she doesn't outgrow it way too soon! And i feel that xD i remember that we had to save up for everything that we wanted to buy when we were kids so it was just sad that we didn't have much toys and stuff except when gifted

$ 0.00
3 years ago

She likes it! She wears it in bed too lol. And yes I know, before you can't even ask what you want because the answer will always be NO. No money at that time. I remember how hard life was when I was young and our toys are the paper dolls and my relatives always sending us toys and gifts but my Mom won't let us play with it she will hide it in the wardrobe and lock it instead. Hard life so now I have a child of my own though I don't like them to get spoiled, still want them to have what they want, they deserve it for being good.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Even in bed too. She must really cherish it. Oh i never got to play with yhose paper dolls but i was gifted with books a lot and those were enough for me. I wonder how I'll be as a parent though. I'd probably be stingy too

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Tia is a beautiful girl, and fathers have always been weak on their sweethearts. I agree that children should not buy too many toys. My older daughter learned from a young age that we will always buy only one in the store. Even today, when he goes to the store, he asks for only one thing (chocolate, ice cream), his little son is not yet 3 years old, so very often we bypass the toy section, and the youngest daughter is only 7 months old, she still has no idea what toys and how to look for them haha ​​:)

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thank you @jigglyspy dear. πŸ₯° The thing when buying toys most of the time they will just play it when you buy it. An hour after they won't even look at it. That's very nice to your older daughter that she learned and understand the "only one". Tia will say, "tomorrow I can get the other one too?" πŸ˜‚ And they always want something from the shop. Haha soon enough the two will ask you "Can I get this?" πŸ˜…

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Either they will get bored in an hour or they will break it: D They are children. We probably would have done the same if we were as accessible players as we were today when we were kids.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

O o The doll Tia has become Miss Unicorn. Yes, This is exactly fit for you. :) :) Whenever the mother forbids the children to take anything then they have many other options. like the Father and also grandparents, And most of the time mothers seem to be complaining that my children ruled by their fathers and grandparents, they immediately fulfill the kids every order. but it is true that instead of fulfilling every command that comes out of the mouths of the children in the next moment, we should realize the importance of things. It is also important to persuade them to show responsibility.

So sorry for the late comment

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Haha, she said she's beautiful in the mirror. She always asks everyone, "Am I beautiful?" πŸ˜‚ You laugh when she ask coz she's waiting for an answer and she's serious. And the children should indeed know the importance of things. But sometimes, you know that it's just hard to say no my friend. πŸ˜‚

My dear no need for sorry, I comment late as well. So many school activities last week and this. We all have our busy life just take our time. All is well :)

$ 0.00
3 years ago

The cute doll you are really very beautiful. And your sweet little gestures and sweet sweet words make you even more beautiful. Lots of prayers and lots of love from me to you. uuummmaaahhaaa

$ 0.00
3 years ago

It's indeed a good fit for her. So cute and adorable. Glad you are having a good time and keeping safe out there.

Bless up

$ 0.05
3 years ago

Thank you my dear. She loves anything pink, fluffy and unicorn πŸ˜… Yes, trying to have a good time and safe at the some time. Blessings to you too!πŸ₯°

$ 0.00
3 years ago

U have a cute daughter po, my sister used to buy her kids the stuff they want po before n remember one time when we r in the mall po, ung dalawang anak nya po ay ng-away dhil preho nlang ngustuhan ung baseball bat na plastic po, ayaw mgparaya ng kua sa nkababatang kptid nya, knha ng ate q n tnesting n nung mlmng mtigas, ang sbi eh, sakto 2, ang gling nyo pumili n bglang pinalo ung dalawang anak nya gmit ung bat na pinag-aawayan kya un, binili ng ate q po pra un ang ipamalo nya sa mga anak nya po, lol

$ 0.01
3 years ago

Hahaha! Ang taking ng sister mo! Bawal kasi mamalo dito πŸ˜‚

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Opo, lol, cnbi nyo pa po, gnaya lng po kc ng ate q kng pno po kmi pnalaki po ng nanay n tatay po nmin d2, lol, n ndi po kc maawat khit anong saway o sita po kya un po, lol

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Haha, sweet heart. It was the New Year and I went to buy a dress, while I was trying it on, my daughter took a big toy house and didn’t want to return it. I bought a toy and ran out of clothes

$ 0.00
3 years ago

πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚ Thats funny. You too can't say no lol

$ 0.00
3 years ago

It's hard to say no to that cute little girl...as long as she is good..and the thing is good for her too.. It's fine for me to buy it 😁

$ 0.01
3 years ago

Haha Jane, nakikinu kinita ko ng maspoil mo ang babies mo in the future! πŸ₯°

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Bsta good baby..why not. Hehe.. Pro dapat my limitations bka masanay..lol

$ 0.00
3 years ago

btw, belated happy birthday by. I forgot to greet you 😊 Saying no to kids is hard 🀣 my daughter is also starting to let me buy if she saw some toys. They said we can spoil the kids up to 5 yrs old then from that we can slowly let them understand..but I won't spoil my child especially when she has tantrums.

$ 0.01
3 years ago

Thank you Bhe! Spoil sa lola but not us. But sometimes it's hard to say no especially pag good girl at good boy! My 1 year pa is Tia! πŸ˜…

$ 0.00
3 years ago

What I do when my eldest was as the same age with Tia was to leave her from that spot, and soon she will follow without me buying her anything, but that trick doesn't work with my youngest.She would stay there and would open the box.LOL!

$ 0.01
3 years ago

It won't work on Tia. She will go get the toy and insist for us to pay it πŸ˜‚ Or she'll say I have my own money! But she only got pennies πŸ˜…

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Its all about rainbows 🌈 and unicorns πŸ¦„

$ 0.01
3 years ago

Hahaha.. That's right!

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Not yet or will never be a parent, but I think it is a case to case basis. There are times when the situation decides for you so you just let things happen. On the other hand, there comes a day when you tend to control things always.

Or maybe that's just me πŸ˜†πŸ˜…

$ 0.01
3 years ago

You will be. One day. Bhe once they give you that "please buy me look" sometimes you will not be able to refuse. πŸ˜‚

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Hahaha. Can't resist πŸ˜† well, I'm a huge spoiler of my pet so I guess that translates to my behavior in the future?

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Do you always say Yes to your kids wants?

Neither always saying yes nor saying no would be the best option while raising children. Actually I believe that once children understand the difference between wants and needs for their lives, they conclude if it is supposed to be bought or not by themselves. Otherwise, it turns into a yes/no game for parent-children relationship πŸ˜…

$ 0.01
3 years ago

There are days that you want to spoil them. And there are days you just have to say no because you can't afford some of their "I want these!" stuff. And you know this tv advertisement brainwash them as well. That they should have this or that! It's always a game of yes/no for us but I always ask, "What is it for? Will it be useful?" And kids stuff has a ridiculous price my eyes always go big when I look at the price tag πŸ˜…

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Your daughter is very beautiful and sweet :) My children are already very big, my son is 23 years old and my daughter is 20 years old .. When they were little, they didn't ask much to buy them, I remember my daughter collecting money in a piggy bank, she knew how to save ..Now they are already employed and they know how to value their earned money, and they tell me mom it's really hard to work :)

$ 0.01
3 years ago

Aww! πŸ₯° I want to experience that one day that I can see my kids valuing money and to tell me that working is hard! Thank you so much for sharing. I'm sure you think about how time flies so fast. Our babies in our arms become so big too fast.😍

$ 0.00
3 years ago

It is so hard to resist pag nanghingi na ang anak mo. Same with you, iniiwas ko din anak ko sa toy section ng bata pa sya. But me as an underprivileged nun bata pa, gusto ko ibigay sa anak ko yun mga wala ako noon. So kahit iiwas ko sya, I end up buying it for her. Maybe that is the reason kung bakit I am blessed with one child lang para maibigay ko sa kanya lahat.

$ 0.01
3 years ago

So true. Yan din sabi ko, I will give everything they want coz I didn't experience such nung maliit pa ako. But when they starting crying sa toy shop because you didn't get what they want then I knew I should stop giving them always. I came from big family gusto ko malaking family din pero that's true kung isa lang kahit papano lahat ng gusto at atensyon pipilitin mong matugunan.

$ 0.00
3 years ago