Is Your Child Afraid of Injection?

44 96
Avatar for tired_momma
1 year ago

Not young anymore but at my age, I still fear needles. I can't still look at it with a happy heart. And I can understand my children being afraid of shots.

Jigz and Tia had an appointment yesterday at the Kid's Hospital to get their test done to keep up with their health records. After school, we picked them up and went straight ahead.

Words matter

I only tell Tia, we will see the Doctor for a test and a pinch in her arm (while pinching her gently). But never worry it only feels as if our cat scratches her then she'll not feel it after. That's what I said. I want to condition her body and mind so she will not be running when she sees the nurse with a needle in her hand.

We went to reception and told us to wait in the waiting area. This is more of a warm-up place to take the kid's mind off the injection.

Tia and Jigz have been into this place and the same setting many times and I know I cannot fool them, especially Tia. She knows what's going to happen.

Children associate needles with pain.

The many vaccines they've got and how they made them feel. The pain of every shot traumatized them. They have no trypanophobia but a normal fear of needles/injection. Jigz is still afraid of it. He doesn't even want to come.

I know parents that you can relate to this.

Since they were born they got injected with many vaccines we can no more count on our hands. The list goes on. Those visits to clinics since they were a baby hurts us too when they cry because we know it's sore. It's quite emotional and heartbreaking. We know how they feel.

There they are playing before the exciting part. And as soon as the two lovely ladies called us the mood changed but the nurses know how to break the ice. We had a question and answer portion first.

And the time has come and I told Tia,

"You're strong. You're brave."

She smiled and say yes.

Jigz begs the nurse he doesn't want to be first lol and so my brave Tia did. She was hesitant to sit and so I call her to sit on my knee instead. The nurse is okay with that.

I'm trying to distract Tia while they taking the needle out but I can see it at the side of my eyes and even I couldn't look at it. Tia accidentally took a peek and saw the needle wants to jump off my lap.

The other nurse started asking her question to get her mind off and me holding her right. My hands cover her side face not to see what's going on.

And you can see her facial expression when she got the injection. And she started crying out loud after. Didn't take long till she calm herself and a sticker did the job of cheering her up.

The nurse draws a cat around the shot. Which I think is good at diverting the shock. And she said,

"I can draw a cat too!"

And they got a good conversation after.

I gave her a high five and told her how brave she was. I don't want her to be scared everytime we go to hospital or clinic. And I don't want them to think that nurses are bad for injecting her and conflicting pain.

Jigz takes it like a man and gets over it. He just wants a sticker lol.

Then we went to the shop and get Jigz football shoes and new black shoes for school. After one month his shoes need tender loving care. And Tia got new boots that she chose. Everybody is happy.

As soon as we get home she ran to Lola to show her arm. And told her that it was sore and that she cried.

Lola gave her a big kiss and hug and told her she had done a good job!

They will be back on Thursday. Wish them luck!

Is your child afraid of injections too? How do you handle it?

And I know memories bring back memories of when we got our covid and booster shots. Did you enjoy it? I don't. 🤣

Thank you for reading.

31
$ 8.58
$ 7.87 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @Coolmidwestguy
$ 0.06 from @Ruffa
+ 19
Sponsors of tired_momma
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for tired_momma
1 year ago

Comments

Some children withstand the needles than most adult.

$ 0.03
1 year ago

Oh I do believe in that 😁

$ 0.00
1 year ago

i can be scared of injection too when i was small but i am strong now. i am sure they will get over it soon.

$ 0.03
1 year ago

Good for you! I'm still not 🤣

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I don't flinch when i take injections but my older sister still shouts till today. The whole neighbourhood knows when she's sick because the way she shouts when the nurses are about to do their job 🤣

$ 0.03
1 year ago

I'm your sister. 🤣🤣🤣

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Salute to those doctors who make way just not to make injections on kids traumatizing. I remember the clip I watched on Facebook. The doctor's also very good in diverting a year old child's attention while he's already injecting him. The first shot was unnoticeable but as the second one was injected, he slowly realized it and started to cry haha.

$ 0.03
1 year ago

Yes, I watched the same antaba taba pa nung baby tapos galing galing ni doc! Sanaol ganon nung bata kaya ako natraumatize din e

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I'm one also who is afraid of needles in fact one of the reason na pinaka ayaw ko sa mga company like sa pinagtatrabahuan ay yung mga naghahanap pa ng booster injection kahit fully vax ka nanamn. Nakakapanghina kasi ng katawan after tapos antaas pa ng needle hahah

$ 0.03
1 year ago

Me too! Naku yung mga blood test kakapanghina

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I was able to handle it when I was a kid. But now I won't look at it when the needle would be injected to my skin. Lol

$ 0.03
1 year ago

I've never looked at it ever since don't even want the one administering it to tell me when she's going to do it 🤣

$ 0.00
1 year ago

What about those who are himself a doctor and when they use syringe for their child 🥲 its difficult when you are a doctor and you need to use syringe for your cute baby

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Mostly people are really afraid of needles even it's adult already but thank God my eldest son is quite brave. Tia and Jigz did a good job sis👍....

$ 0.03
1 year ago

Good job very good si daughter mo Sis!

$ 0.00
1 year ago

If I can remind my childhood then injection was a big enemy for me. Our home doctor always prescribed syrup for me instead of Injection. Like Tia, I hate injections 😂.

$ 0.03
1 year ago

Haha Jigz will prefer nasal rather than injection 🤣 He hates it

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Injection is something horrible for kids...lol, they will always afraid to get it. I remember in my childhood I was also used to scaring of Injection. But that's good the way you distracted their attention, and made Tia to think herself as a brave girl.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I still have fears with needles too, hehe, but my kids are not like me. Ako PA ang unang natatakot kapag tinurokan ang anak ko. Hehehe

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Ako di takot sa turok except kapag turok sa ngipin hahah Madali ako kuhaan dugo or lagyan swero nung bata ako kasi parang manhid ako sa turok di ako na iyak or galaw pero nahihirapan lang sila dahil sa ugat ko kasi dehydrated daw

$ 0.00
1 year ago

They are going back on Thursday? Ah. You can see why they are scared of the injection 🤣🤣😂 kids have taken far more injections since they were little. For some weird reasons, momma... I prefer taking injections to taking drugs. Dara hates injections 😂😂🤣🤣. She would cry even before the needle comes because she knows anytime I carry her on my thighs and we are at the clinic, it's injection time.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I am also very afraid of injections. I screamed in fear before the injection. A few days ago I completed the 3rd dose of Corona. While giving the injection, I was telling the woman to give it slowly so that it does not sting.

$ 0.03
1 year ago

I got mine last week. Is it the booster shot? My goodness I was sick and my arm so sore but only for 3 days then I'm all good. :)

How are you feeling now?

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Injection for sure are terrific memories for the young and the old. Smart little Tia who got diverted immediately after the cat drawn. After all they r kids.

$ 0.03
1 year ago

Parents can always help out to face their fear and the nurses were great. Kids forget but they will remember. The thing is balancing it out.

Cheers Shaa!

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I don't have kids yet, but personally, I prefer injections to even taking drugs LoL. It's common for kids to be scared of injections.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

My son never feared them. When he was a baby I would always distract him when they gave shot. Never cried once.

$ 0.03
1 year ago

Both of mine were a yeller when they were a baby despite distraction. Maybe not good enough and you are fantastic and your son! That's good to know.

I enjoy watching babies getting their shots with this doctor that is very good at distracting and conditioning them before the injection. Didn't even cry!

$ 0.01
1 year ago

I'm sure you are good enough. Just my son has a high threshold for pain to this day. He never really cried. He would run when he got hurt I guess he didn't want anybody to see him cry. By the time he was done running he forgot about crying 😂

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Laki na ni Tia! Still cute hahaha that's why mali daw talaga 'yung pananakot sa mga bata ng "wag ka makulit baka turukan ka ng doctor ng malaking karayom" hahaha kasi it can bring phobia to the kids until they became adult.

$ 0.03
1 year ago

Oo Lau laki na payat pa rin. Ayaw talaga tumaba.

Kaya nga tapos yung doctor non saken sinasabi pa na "Oo tutusok na ako huh" Edi lalo na akong kinabahan 🤣

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Haha when k was a kid I sued to be afraid of injections same like Tia and jigz, I was not afraid because it was painful I was afraid because my mum made my mind like that it's fact we uaually associate injection with pain though it's not much painful, well good to see the happy ending if I would have been there I would have hugged Tia tightly like her Lola did after all she is so brave and cute 🥰

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Taoang ni Tia mo ate hehe, ako sa tuwing injection ng baby ko sa center di ako makatingin tapos ang may buhat sa baby ko yung partner ko kase takot ako hehe.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

In my side, di naman ako natatakot sa karayom maliban na lang kung ano-ano yung iiinject haha. Naalala ko yujg naturukan nung vaccine nanginig na lang na parang ewan doon lang ako natakot

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Awwww so cute. As a nurse I really do not like giving injections to kids as it pains me when they cry. Your kids did a good job.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Awwww ang tapang naman ni tia! At isa po ako sa takot sa injections.hhahhaha

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Awwww, brave kids. Ako diko na tanda ano ako kapag na turukan ee haha. Pero nitong nagpa vaxx kami, ahahaha mejo kinabahan talaga ako nong makita ko ung needle. Kaya ginawa ko ni full volume ko yung music tas naga headbang para malibang ahahaha pati binte ko di mapakali ee lol

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Strangely madam no, I'm not afraid of needles. Nong vaccinations and boosters, kering keri ko lang.

Wanna commend Jigz and Tia's bravery. You did a great job kids!

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Adrielle is not afraid madam, just told her for you to be healthy and strong you need to get vaccinated, and so far 2 jabs during this pandemic season she never cry, mana sya sa akin🤣

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I recall having a phobia of injections when I was a kid. My mum often makes fun of how it takes three adults to restrain me. That fear wades off with age. Though I know some adults that are still scared of injections. Greetings from a newbie

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I don't have a child but I have nephew. I took her to hospital for vaccination. She was very strong but at the time when she got injected she cried alotbut after a few minutes she waz fine❤️

$ 0.00
1 year ago

It's normal for kids.. Si papa nga matanda na .takot sa injection..prang hndi nagsundalo lol

$ 0.03
1 year ago

Hahaha. E ikaw madam?

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I am yet to meet a child who isn't afraid of injections, one can only trick them or compensate them after.

$ 0.00
1 year ago