I Collect Sands

22 55
Avatar for snapping.turtle
2 years ago

Hello, ladies and gents.

I am giving myself a break from storytelling. As I always say, writing fiction is exhausting, not that I'm complaining about it πŸ˜‚ (I never use a smiley in my articles, but I give this one an exemption).

Anyway, I read an article of @Just1dood yesterday about collections where he talks about his hoards haha, peace, bro. I actually visualize a room full of stuff where you tiptoe on the little space left on the floor. If you want a look, read it here.

If you have followed me in a while now, you noticed that I don't write much about my day-ins and my day-outs. I'm a private little turtle who writes silly stuff instead. But, but...I am comfortable and would love to share my collections. Remember, I do not hoard, I collect. And as for the title, let's get to that later.

Pebbles
Hello, ladies. I see you smiling at that word.

Yes, I collect pebbles whenever I visit a beach. I just can't help myself whenever I see something shiny, or colorful, or odd-looking when the tide is low. I have this tendency to pick it and store it lovingly inside my box. I am a believer in magic. I imagine those little pebbles hold a secret and great power. Hep, who among you is imagining Moana haha, raise your hand.

Words
Lots and lots of words. Thousands of it so carefully and passionately arranged to tell an adventure, a life, or misfortunes. Then printed on papers and bound together which we may call a book. Yes, I collect books.

One of my favorites, The Vampire Chronicles of Anne Rice where I fell in love with Lestat de Lioncourt, the main protagonist. If you are not familiar with it, Interview with a Vampire as the first book might ring a bell.

In there, I learn the ways of a vampire, the life of a vampire, and even consider becoming one when graced with such offer. Bookworms out there, you feel me when we get so attached to what we read. The feeling where we get so affected by it.

Note: If you ask me whether I have a Twilight collection, nope. Sorry, Twilight fans out there, I'm not fond of twinkling vampires.

I also have Harry Potter, some fiction that has Medieval and old world settings. All of it has adventure and magic in it. See, I'm a believer of magic.

Deviantart
Don't look at me like that, my right hand can't even draw a straight line.

To people who are not familiar with deviantart.com, this is a website that showcases a lot of breathtaking artworks. A long time ago, at least ten years ago or so, I discovered this site. I have been their constant visitor since then.

Sorry again, I didn't buy some of their amazing artworks. I just visit there and be in awe of them artists' mouth-gaping works.

What did I collect there? Being enthralled. I can spend the whole hour or two with whoa, nice, that's so cool! You see, I am also a lover of arts.

Sand
Last but not the least, sand. Not the one you see by the beach, or anywhere else where it is grainy, white or black. It is the sand that visits you at night.

Morpheus, and The Sandman, I am not sure if they are the same person, but all the same, both depicts dreaming. I specifically like The Sandman by Neil Gaiman, the guy is cool.

That being said, I, with all my weirdness, I collect my sand. Long time ago, when I was still small (still small at the moment), I was amazed by dreams. I have a lot of vivid dreams. Long time ago, I tried to write it down. But like all others new at writing dreams, I find it hard to do it. Dreams are like wild bunnies in the forest, they stare at you granting that you stay very still. One wrong move and they run away, never to be seen again.

Until the internet became a thing, Google was not a thing yet. Long time ago, it was Ask Jeeves and Yahoo Search. I opted to ask Jeeves, and he gave me a lot of suggestions. I tried the common denominators on all the suggestions. For some reason, it worked. With a lot of practice, I came to a point where I can word my dream from start to finish.

By that, I have nice notebooks where I wrote it down. I also have those that are still stored at the back of my brain, waiting for my busy self to write it down. And oh yeah, I also incorporate some in my stories. Now you see where the weird came from? Hahaha.

That is all folks. Hey, you wanna share your collections too. Join the prompt. Tag the promoter @Just1dood and also me, I wanna read it too.

This is me saying goodbye now. See you when I see you. Have a nice day.

All words and images here are mine.

10
$ 7.93
$ 7.44 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @Jeaneth
$ 0.10 from @Just1dood
+ 8
Sponsors of snapping.turtle
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for snapping.turtle
2 years ago

Comments

I think I did look at some deviantart before. I wonder why I stopped, maybe lost of interest just like with many other things. Maybe I should go back browsing them again.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I really thought that you're referring to the sands on the beach haha.

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Hahaha gotcha there. Thank you for dropping by.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Finally, I found time to read. Lol. Btw, how do you know that I have to tiptoe around my collection room? I think you would have more of a challenge storing your collections. Pebbles? Sands? You need a warehouse! Hahaha...

$ 0.00
2 years ago

LOL coz in youtube videos, hoarders tiptoe on the little space left of their floor hahaha. I don't collect sands literally XD

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Why not? I do take your word literally. Lol. Not dreams but sands.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

If that's the case, I'll just buy myself a beach front property hahaha!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

That's a great plan. Wow. A true collector. Have the collection in the front yard.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hahaha who needs a warehouse? :P

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Gustong gusto ko talaga makapag beach bata pa kasi ako nung nakapag beach kami. Gusto ko kumuha ng mga buhangin tapos itatago ko lang πŸ˜… pero gusto ko yung mga bato bato sa ilalim yung mga shell pang design sa aquarium.

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Yun nga po e, ang cute kasi ng mga pebbles sa beach. Tapos iba-iba pa, yan din talaga ang una kong naging collection.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I'm amazed how you can remember every detail of your dream. I thought it's the sand you usually collect at the beach. You got me in there. Haha

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Na-practice ko lang kaya nasusulat ko na siya hehe. Thank you for dropping by :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

My gash nakakarelate akoo sa pebbels atee. Trip ko din talaga mangolekta ng mga pebbles and sand sa mga beaches πŸ€— tsaka shells din πŸ€—

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Oo pati shells din. Ang cute kasi noh? Yung naglalakad ka sa beach tapos may makikita kang iba ang kulay, o kaya sobrang kinis. Yung dalawa o tatlo hindi mo napansin napuno mo na ang kamay mo πŸ˜‚

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Sobra po. Cute din yung mga sea glass

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I find it cute to collect things. I enjoyed reading your writing. Thinking if I also have collections to share. Well, I do have lot of boxes here under my bed but I don't know if it could be considered as collections hahaha. It wasn't sand nor pebbles or books. It was a collection of old stuffs 😁😁😁 is that considered as one?

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Thank you po for reading. Pwede rin yan collection ang old stuff as long as may value and love na love mo 😊

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Haha super love na love ko po πŸ₯° Cge sheshare ko Rin dito soon. Thanks ☺️

$ 0.00
2 years ago

May ganyan din aq lalo nun high school kaya dati my pen n paper aq katabi para pagbigla aq nagising sa panaginip q maisusulat q pero pag gising waley na maalalaπŸ€£πŸ˜‚ pero di q namalayan nawala na mga panahinip q

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Hahaha ganun nga ang panaginip e. The more na inaalala mo, the more na tumatakas hanggang hindi mo na tanaw. Hanggang parang na-amnesia ka, hindi mo na talaga maalala πŸ˜‚

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hhahaha πŸ˜…

$ 0.00
2 years ago