How to Communicate with a Nonverbal Child ?

7 43
Avatar for sj0820
Written by
2 years ago
Topics: Nonverbal Child

The birth of a child in a family means finding perfection in that family. Our parents always expect my child to be born healthy and beautiful . After the birth of a child, there are some children who cannot be seen or understand that they may have some physical disability. They grow up like healthy children. But over time, that is likely to change.

some kids are different than others. But can you really compare apples to oranges? It's not fair to do so because each child is unique in their own way and should be treated as such. A lot of people think they know how to communicate with children who have nonverbal disabilities or autism spectrum disorder (ASD) because they're just like any other kid without disability, right? Wrong! The truth is, these children require an extra bit of help when it comes to communication because their language skills may be delayed or completely absent compared to other kids'. So don't take things for granted.

Nonverbal child is a term used for children who are incapable of expressing themselves through words, but still have plenty of things to say. They may be too young or unable due to disabilities, autism spectrum disorder, or other conditions.

Nonverbal children can be either deaf or hard-of-hearing and use sign language to communicate, or they may simply be unable to speak due to other reasons such as autism.

Non-verbal children need understanding and care:

The term "nonverbal child" is not a common phrase in the average household, but if you have one of these kids in your home it's important to know what they are and how to best support them.

Children display their emotions in many ways and it's important for parents to learn how to read the signs. It's important that parents take time out of their day for this special group because without appropriate intervention, nonverbal children will struggle with basic skills like reading and writing later on in life.

A Nonverbal Child is a child who has difficulty in communicating, but not due to language barriers. They are often misunderstood by their peers and adults that might think they are being rude or lazy.

"Nonverbal children can be difficult to understand and communicate with. It is important for caregivers, teachers, doctors and the parents of these children to take time out of their day to get to know them better."

How do I know that my child is an nonverbal child :

I had some physical problems when my second child was in the womb and my child was born pre-mature. According to the ultrasonography report, he had a caesarean section about three weeks before his delivery, and I still remember that when he was born, his fingernails were not fully formed and were like a coating.

My son is now 3 years and 4 months old. I had no idea what the problem was. Because I didn't know anything about this before. I see kids of my son's age or younger learn to talk a lot and can recite short poems but my son is an exception .I think my son has no problem listening because he understands when I say something or ask him to bring something and often acts like I say .But still he can't say a whole sentence, he can say some small words but those are not clear .I have talked to many people about this but no one has been able to give any accurate information. Everyone says that many children learn to speak at an older age .An uncle in our area said that his grandson learned to speak at the age of four so I shouldn't worry too much about it but I am a mother. How do I live without thinking? Since I have another older daughter. My daughter could say everything when she was 3 years old.

finally I found out that my son on the autism spectrum when I read about it .Because I've noticed that he has less vocabulary inside, which means he can't present his words completely. My son uses gestures more than words to convey his message . Sometimes when something is needed, he comes and grabs my hand and shows it with gestures but does not say it in his mouth. Moreover, he hears and understands but he cannot communicate properly with everyone. Since my son does not know how to speak and cannot present his sentence, I have decided to take my son to a speech therapist. I have to take the next steps according to what the doctor says. Because we ordinary people certainly don't understand better than doctors, so it doesn't seem reasonable to me to take any risk on my own child without listening to others.

How do you know and what to do if your child is a nonverbal child?

There are many ways to figure out whether or not your kid is nonverbal. It can be hard to tell, but there are some things that are indicative of the condition. These include: not speaking, limited communication skills, and repetitive behaviors.

Some might seem obvious, like being unable to respond when they are spoken to or having difficulty with motor skills. Other signs are less so, such as the inability to understand jokes and sarcasm. As for what causes this developmental disorder, it can be due to any number of factors- from an injury at birth all the way up until their teenage years.

  If you recognize any of these symptoms in your child, it might be time for an evaluation by a speech therapist or other professional who specializes in autism spectrum disorder (ASD). One thing that's clear though: there's no shame in being a nonverbal person! So don't hesitate before seeking help for your loved one!

12
$ 2.31
$ 2.23 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @wakeupkitty
$ 0.03 from @zolabundance2
Sponsors of sj0820
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for sj0820
Written by
2 years ago
Topics: Nonverbal Child

Comments

A good article. To me it was nothing to worry about. Introverts for example do not speak much. They observe. My eldest start speaking after the age of 4 years old. Spoke perfectly once started. Not one single word pronounced wrong. My 4th child was exactly the same. Both did not crawl either but started walking.

Btw all my children are born too early (premature) low body weights (no I am not a junk, never drank, smoked or lived an unhealthy life) and a high IQ. I think as a parent you can see if your child is intelligent or doesn't have a clue what's going on.

Not every skill is developed as fast which is quite normal. What counts is you can communicate. We could and still can without all the talking. We all like it quiet, love the silence, no noises, radio, tv. Sensible people will leave, stay at the background too.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thank you so much for letting me know. I was very worried about this even though many people told me there was no reason to worry but I went to the doctor and the doctor observed and found no problem with my son. Although fairly safe now as there has been no negative response from the doctor.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Raising a child is more tasking compared to giving birth. How much more the communicating aspect of the child!

Even kids who are verbal could be sometimes hard to communicate effectively with.

Communicating with the non-verbal ones is more harder.

Thanks for sharing this. So helpful.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

They need a gentle and loving people around them. In that way they would special and accepted. Being different from other kids is okay.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Being open with ur experience is good, someone might come across same event, knowing this is how it is, it wouldn't be difficult for the person to notice it.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Kids are very gentle and there are some ways to talk to them. I like your different kind of topic.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Thanks for reading my article. Although I have chosen the topic differently but with this topic I am dealing with this problem myself with my child. So I think I need to write about this and let the other parents know. And others who are guardians also need to know that if someone is related in this problem they may find some peace of mind and be able to take step if they do not know.

$ 0.00
2 years ago